Do you like Piña Coladas?

Or getting caught in the rain?

No.  As a matter of fact, I do not.

But what I do like?

Sunsets.

Yes, I know.  I’m not one of those touchy feely rainbows and unicorns and butterflies and long walks on the beach schmoopsie-poo type girls.  Blech.

But . . . I have traveled quite a bit.  And I have had the opportunity to see some amazing sunsets.  And something about them just moves me.  I don’t know what, but I think the colors and the way the sky kind of glows and is just not quite dark yet, but is fast approaching it, and the way the clouds get all lit up and reflective.  It’s just sort of magical sometimes.

I know, shut up.

So, having an abundance of absolutely nothing to post about today, I decided that I would post some recent pics I have been taking on my way home of the sunsets.  See, every day in the winter, I drove into the descending sun, and sometimes got to see some remarkable sunsets.  So I started capturing them on film.  Some turned out pretty cool.  Some, not so much.  But, I have quite the collection now.

Granted, these are not going to be Key West Sunsets, or the sun setting over Point Loma in San Diego, or even the sun going down over the bay in Ocean City, MD.  They are just pictures of the sun setting behind clouds on my way home and sometimes from my front porch.  A lot of them are fuzzy.  Because I was driving.  But I’m ok with that.  I still think they are pretty cool.

If you have no interest in this shit, come back on Wednesday where I will be talking about Roller Derby.  Much more exciting, I’m sure . . .

12/8/11

.

12/19/11

.

1/5/12

.

1/5/12

.

1/5/12

.

1/5/12

.

1/17/12

.

1/18/12

.

2/13/12

.

2/21/12

.

2/21/12

.

2/23/12

.

2/23/12

.

2/23/12

.

Not a sunset . . . but I thought the reflective nature of this building with the sky as backdrop and reflection was completely awesome.

.

View from our hotel room (in AC).

.

On the drive home from AC on my Birthday . . . the sky looked like this.

.

2/28/12

Ok, all done with my boring sunset pics.

I was going to close the comments on this, but don’t know how and also don’t really care if you want to lambast me in the comments.  I am definitely not looking for “pretty pictures” or “nice” or anything like that.  This was more for me than anyone else.  So, if you have something to say, feel free, but just know I don’t need you to humor me.  I know exactly what I did here, thank you very much.

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leauxra
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 09:02:47

    I don’t get sunsets when I drive very much (maybe two days a year), but I do get sun RISES while I drive (thank you daylight saving time, now I get a few more weeks of sunrises (sarcasm)). I drive south and then west to work, so quite often the mountains get all lit up as I drive. I don’t take pictures though. Bad things happen when I try to do two things at once, especially when one of them is driving.

    Also: That hotel looks like a hole in the space-time continuum.

    Reply

  2. Kelly
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 09:20:30

    That hotel picture is fantastic!

    There is something so calming about a sunset for me. There is a woodline behind our house, and with all the leaves off the trees, you can really see the glory of the sun setting. That pinky-orangey-blueish color is just so soothing to me.

    Oh, and no I do not like pina coladas. And as for getting caught in the rain? Well, usually not, but there was this one time… *eyebrow waggle*

    Reply

  3. gojulesgo
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 10:00:29

    What nice, pretty pictures! ;)

    Seriously though – I love the 2/13 one (the way it frames the tree), and the A.C. ‘sky’ building! You can post sunset pictures any day, as far as I’m concerned!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 13, 2012 @ 21:25:05

      Well, now that the stupid time has changed, I’m driving into the sun right in my damn face, so no more sunsets for a while. Boo.

      But thanks so much! :)

      Reply

  4. thoughtsappear
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 10:11:26

    I like the pics! Especially the purple one with the tree.

    When I read the word “unicorn,” I thought there might be a unicorn pic in this post. =)

    Reply

  5. Mandi E.
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 10:54:53

    I like pina coladas okay, but I’d rather you just give me the bottle of rum.

    Also, if my office were more reflective like that nifty hotel, maybe these dipshits that come in and impede my blogging time every day wouldn’t be able to find me.

    Reply

  6. red
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 11:53:41

    Personally, I enjoy a pina colada every now and then, but usually a margarita.

    I’m more of a sunset person than sunrise (so why do I live on the east coast, right?) But I am also a fan of clouds. My favorite of these is the 1/17 pic, with all the clouds and just one spear of light.

    Reply

  7. weezafish
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 12:05:23

    I got very drunk drinking Pina Coladas once. It was the straw. And the copius amounts of alcohol.
    Why you so grumpy, your pics are nice girl!? And I like pics. And sunsets.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 13, 2012 @ 21:30:22

      Yeah, they tend to put lots of liquor in those things. Weird.

      Ah, you obviously don’t know me. I am never grumpy. I’m sunny like these pics. One big ray of sunshine, that’s me. Just ask my hubs. ;)

      Reply

  8. Ami
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 12:38:55

    I love taking pictures of the sky in general…so I feel ya on the sunsets. Two years ago, I finally got to fly for the first time and I went absolutely batshit taking pictures of all the clouds. I had more pictures of clouds on a two hour flight than I did of my while four day vacation in Memphis lol

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 13, 2012 @ 21:31:58

      Yeah, on every vacation, if I can catch a sunset, I have like 20 pictures of the sun going down. I could make one of those flip books. You know, if we actually had real pictures and not just pics on phones. :)

      Reply

  9. jen
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 12:43:49

    “Great pictures!”

    “Beautiful!”

    Yeah, I’m kind of a dick like that.

    Reply

  10. Rachel
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 13:41:24

    These pictures really were amazing. I know exactly what you’re saying about the sunsets (…even though it was a little cheesy and mushy haha). I really loved the one with a tree. It looks like something you would typically see in a nature calendar or something.

    Reply

  11. Dani
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 13:46:07

    I’m feeling… vulnerable.

    Hold me.

    I’m so sad that you use your camera for something other than recording for prosperity all the Crimes of Fashion in this great, great country of ours.

    I’ll take that pina colada now, por favor.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 13, 2012 @ 21:36:02

      I am a many faceted person, Dani! Don’t try to pigeon hole me. (Not even sure what that means, but don’t you dare try to do it!).

      There there….shhhhh…(strokes your hair)…it will all be okay.

      One pina colada coming up! :)

      Reply

  12. Audra
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 13:48:09

    It’s better than pictures of sunrises. Seriously. Anyone up early enough to enjoy that shit is clinically insane.

    Reply

  13. elizabeth- flourishinprogress
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 16:06:25

    I don’t enough time to appreciate or even notice things like a beautiful sunset or sunrise or even a nice looking formation of clouds. All things that my daughter points out to me on a regular basis….and then I am reminded how lucky I am.

    Reply

  14. cornfedgirl
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 20:12:38

    Yer pretty. And so are sunsets.
    I take pictures of stuff like this all the time BECAUSE I LOVE BEAUTIFUL THINGS. Some might say that I’m shallow- I say I just have a passion for things that are aesthetically pleasing.
    I really love the one of the reflective building. Very artistic!

    Reply

  15. Becca
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 16:14:39

    I hope you had fun, and I’m really happy you came back in one piece, because as you know I’v been going to pieces lately… literally…

    Reply

  16. wcdameron
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 22:57:55

    Aww, Misty, I’m kind of liking this sentimental side of you.

    P.S. I’ve got lots of sunset pics if you want to do a weekly whacked montage….OK, probably not, BUT, I have been walking home and Harvard Ave has some amazingly tackily dressed people. Tomorrow, I’m taking pictures!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 14, 2012 @ 12:53:08

      Bite me, Bill! ;) (Just didn’t want you to get used to that side of me. Gotta keep my street cred, ya know?).

      I am breathless in anticipation of your Boston freaks. Nothing like nice weather to make the crazies show themselves!! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 678 other followers

