Tag! You’re It.

Last week, Brett of The Transformed Non-Conformist tagged me in a post.  He was asked some questions and then tasked to pass those questions on for other bloggers to answer.  His answers to these questions were pretty hysterical, and I’m not sure I can quite reach up to that bar he set so high (I’m apparently pretty short, according to him), but I’m gonna give it a go.  So, here are some things you might not have ever wanted to know about me at all . . .

1. Book or movie and why? 

Book.  I have never once seen a movie (of which I have read the book) and found the movie to be better than the book.  I’m sure there are some out there, but I have not personally experienced it.  I am a pretty harsh critic when it comes to movies made from books.  I find myself constantly disappointed.  The only movie in recent memory that did not disappoint me was The Help.  I found it very true to the book and also the actors really brought it to life on the screen.  The Hunger Games was a recent disappointment.  Although, reverse that and I am fine.  I love so many movies of which I never read the book, or that I go back later to read it after seeing the movie.  I never seem to learn, though.  I read so many books, and it seems that there is always a movie adaptation at some point that I am just dying to see . . . usually only to be disappointed in the end.

 2. Real book or e-book?

Real.  I have an e-reader and never use it.  I like the feel of real books and since I usually read in the bath, I am always fearful I would drop the e-reader in the water and electrocute myself or something.  Plus, this means I haven’t been fleeced by Google over e-book prices.  So, huzzah!  I win.

3. Funniest thing you’ve done in the last 5 years?

Tough one.  According to some people, I’m not funny, so . . .

I think this post was probably my funniest.

4. Do you put yourself into the books you read/write or the movies you watch?

Um, no.  People do that?  I am no Katniss Everdeen.  But I do tend to put the characters in familiar homes or other settings when I am reading them.  Often times the main character’s house will be very reminiscent of my childhood home.

5. How would your best friend describe you?

What is this “best friend” of which you speak? 

I actually don’t have a best friend.  I have many people I am close to, but nobody I would consider “best.”  I have had 2 previously in my life, though, but neither of them are in my life anymore.  The first I grew up with since toddlerdom and eventually, during college, I extracted her from my life when I finally realized how poorly she treated me and what a non-friend she actually was.  If she were to describe me, it would probably be:  “who?”

The second was my maid of honor.  She filled the void of the first bestie a couple years after I booted her.  We were very close for a very long time, and people would continuously ask if we were sisters.  I loved her like one, as I never had one of my own.  She dropped me from her life when I steadfastly would not continue to blindly support the way her husband was treating her.  I stood by her when he was arrested for trolling for underage tail online (he was framed!), I stood by her as she stayed with him throughout his court proceedings and subsequent 18 month prison sentence.  I stood by her as she was planning her wedding to the felon while he was incarcerated and did a lot of the heavy lifting of wedding prep with her.  I stood by her (literally) at her wedding.  I stood by her having 2 babies with this loser.  What I couldn’t support was her insistance to stay with him after she found out that he was cheating on her again . . . with 2 women . . . over a 2 year period.  I couldn’t treat him like he was a decent human being any longer, and I couldn’t refrain from telling her that if she wouldn’t leave him (“I don’t want to divorce my best friend!”), then she was telling him that it was alright to treat her this way and should expect that he will do it again.  And he will do it again.  If she would describe me, it would probably contain the words:  “selfish, unsupportive bitch.”  C’est la vie.

6. Favorite kind of car and why? 

Either this:

Or this:

 Or this one:

7. Would your choice of party be a catered meal or barbecue out back?

Depends on the crowd.  Friends and family?  Barbecue out back.  Business associates you want to impress?  Catered meal.

8. What’s your favorite season and why?

Spring.  I get such spring fever when the weather breaks.  Although this year has been weird, what with the temps in the 70’s and 80’s in February and March!  Now it feels like spring, but it feels colder than before, so it is messing with my whole spring fever ideology. 

Can I change my answer?  Football season.  Go Ravens.  Caw Caw.

9. What specific lesson have you learned – Spiritual, educational, occupational?

Spiritually -I’ve learned I’m not a very spiritual person.

Educational -Do anything you can to NOT TAKE OUT SCHOOL LOANS.  Stripping is a valid option.  You will thank me later.

Occupational – That no matter where you work, there will be at least one insufferable asshole to deal with.  If you don’t have to deal with an asshole at your work . . . you are the asshole.

10. Besides writing, what’s your favorite thing to do when you get some extra time?

Sleep or watch TV.  I am a lazy bum at my core.  Luckily, life keeps me too busy to just lounge around the house all day napping and catching up on my shows.  I said luckily, right?  Yeah, let’s go with that.

11. What’s one place you can be found at least one time every week?

Dunkin Donuts drive-thru.  At least once a week.  Probably more like 4 times.  I’m addicted.  And I’m ok with that, thank you.

Well now friends, wasn’t that the most fun you’ve ever had in your entire life?  Yeah, I thought so.  You’re welcome.

So now I’m supposed to pick 11 other bloggers to tag and hope that they will also answer these questions about themselves.  Feel free to ignore the shit out of this, or just make it your own.  Here are the lucky chosen few who hold a special place in my heart.  (If I didn’t pick you, it’s obviously because I don’t love you enough.  You need to work harder for my affection!).

Jen e sais quoi

Confessions of a Cornfed Girl

Thoughts Appear

Hoody Hoo

Wag the Dad

Social Assassin

Lazy Subcultural Girl

Cannibalistic Nerd

The Authentic Life

The Cowardly Feminist

I’m Just a Girl & I’ve Had It Up to Here

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayne
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 09:35:10

    ” If you don’t have to deal with an asshole at your work . . . you are the asshole.”
    Truer words were never spoken.

    Reply

  2. thoughtsappear
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 10:29:04

    Where do you put the groceries in that shoe car?

    Reply

  3. red
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 10:47:35

    I wish you were my best friend when I was dating a belittling jerk. Years later, a good friend (not quite bestie) from the time said she didn’t know why I stayed with him. It had always confused her that I allowed myself to be treated like that. I think I shouted “WHY DIDN’T YOU SAY SOMETHING?” And that was my first introduction to female communication (I was always one of the guys): she explained that, apparently, a girl doesn’t want to speak badly about her girlfriend’s boyfriend in case it ruins the friendship.

    That seemed off to me. I’m glad to read your story and find out that it’s not universally the case! (Sad though the ending to the story is.)

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 22, 2012 @ 13:41:46

      Yeah, I try to be honest with my friends, if at least subtely so. But it is hard to criticize a friend’s man, especially a husband, because there is always that fear that YOU will be the one they ditch rather than the bad man.

      How ’bout this . . . . I’ll be your best friend now and I promise to tell you honestly if you start dating a jerk (hear that Brett . . . you are now on notice!). :)

      Reply

  4. Jen
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 11:13:08

    So, since I have Office Skank that means that I’m NOT a skank? This logic works for me as I am always appreciative of anything that aids and abets my raging need for rationalizing my dickery.

    Reply

  5. mark
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 11:16:51

    I know that best friend situation well, as I have similar experiences. Great choices in favourite car and the trick for saving the e-reader from the bathtub is extra large ziplock freezer bags. They nicely fit any iPad or other tablet/e-reader device.

    Reply

  6. lazysubculturalgirl
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 11:29:43

    The shoe car scares me, it’s far too close to the ground and there’s no top. I think it would feel like driving a go-kart on a city street. *screams* I really want to drive the turtle, though.

    As far as the “telling your friends they’re married to an asshole” thing goes, I have a close friend who went through a nasty divorce. In the process of the divorce, she announced to three of us that her soon-to-be-ex-husband had admitted he might have ADHD. ALL OF US, to a woman, went “No shit, you’re just now realizing this?” I mean, she used to be a teacher and works in education. You would think she’d have noticed that her hubs never sat still and wouldn’t let you finish a sentence.

    Anyway, that experience made me realize that 1) nothing is so blind as love and 2) you owe it to your friends to point out things they might have missed, including that the love of their life is a giant douchecanoe. Otherwise, you end up being the idiot who says, “Yeah, I saw that coming a mile off,” when the whole thing goes to pot — and then they get mad at you for not saying anything earlier.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 22, 2012 @ 13:46:15

      Yeah, but it’s kind of a catch 22 . . . if you point out something that they are not prepared to see yet, you are the bad guy, but it you didn’t point it out in time, you are the asshole friend. Hard to win in that situation.

      Reply

  7. Kitten Thunder's Girl
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 11:55:37

    LOVE the turtle car.

    I can’t believe you weren’t disappointed in The Help! While I believe it was probably a good movie if you haven’t read the book, I was actually ANGRY the entire movie because they slaughtered it so badly. The main character was confident and motivated. Nobody was afraid enough. The bad things that happened to the help were not nearly as bad as they should have been to justify their actions… Incensed, I was. That said, I’m terrified to read Cider House Rules because that was a fantastic movie and from what I understand they, too, destroyed the book.

    My last boss reminded me all the time that I’m not funny. My new boss, now that I’m self-employed, thinks I’m hilarious. But she must be that insufferable jerk of which you speak.

    Reply

  8. gojulesgo
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 14:13:08

    The shoe car RULES!!! And now I finally know how to pay off the last of my student loans… Thank you, Misty! :)

    Reply

  9. Vesta Vayne
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 17:13:34

    I thought No Country for Old Men was an awesome take on the book, but usually I agree, it’s almost always a disappointment. Like you, however, I’m fine if I read the book after seeing the movie.

    Reply

  10. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 18:27:14

    I would have a hard time continuing the charade with my friend’s husband, as well.

    And I actually prefer reading books after seeing the movie for the reason you mentioned. I saw Hunger Games and then read it and still like the movie fine.

    Reply

  11. Brett Minor (@brettminor)
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 21:16:45

    I loved these. Are you actually short. I kind of remember making that remark, but don’t remember why?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 22, 2012 @ 13:56:04

      Ha! No, not short. I am exactly average in height. How dare you insinuate that I am a little person! (not that there is anything wrong with that!).

      Go back to your post to see the genesis of that comment . . . I hate explaining jokes. I feel like I’m talking to my mom. :-/

      Reply

  12. Andrea
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 21:59:50

    What is your favorite kind of candy so that I may begin the arduous task of getting you to like me more? Love the if you don’t work with aaashole, you are the asshole!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 22, 2012 @ 13:58:49

      Hmmm, favorite candy? Oddly, I am not a big candy person. Even as a kid, my halloween candy would last for months! That’s not to say that I won’t eat candy, since I pretty much shove everything into my pie hole that is in my reach! :)

      Let’s go with . . . Pretzel M&Ms? Yeah, that works. (Or cash . . . that works even better!).

      Let bribery commence in . . . 3, 2, 1 . . . go!! :)

      Reply

  13. wcdameron
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 22:12:06

    Aw, I have been tagged by Misty! And the Oscar Mayer weindermobile! I haven’t seen that in ages. And of course you know I love that car. OK, everybody, run and hide, I’m it!

    Reply

  14. Danielle Charlton Geer
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 14:24:09

    You do too love me. You can’t help it. You just don’t want to know what I do in my spare time, because it’s shamefully similar to what YOU do in YOUR spare time. That’s what it is… we’re too much alike.

    Meanwhile, I will arm wrestle you for the amazing Shoe Mobile.

    xoxoxo

    Now, LOVE ME, DAMMIT.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 22, 2012 @ 14:03:50

      Yeah, but unlike Andrea, you haven’t even offered anything to BRIBE me with!! For shame, Dani. Just cuz you’re a funny bitch now, you think you are above bribery? Pfft.

      You know I love you . . . I just figured you probably wouldn’t do it, since the last time I tagged you for one of these kinda things you completely ignored me. My feelings are very fragile ya know. I’m still licking my wounds! :p

      Reply

  15. elizabeth- flourishinprogress
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 18:55:36

    It just feels so goddamn good to be able to comment. YAYYYY.

    Girl, the advice you give about never taking out ed loans is priceless. Many of Harv’s friends who went to biz school with him are drowning in a sea of loans. I wouldn’t know anything about that because I quit school before freshman yr was over, so I didn’t have time to accumulate much debt. Hm…quitting never seemed so awesome.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 22, 2012 @ 14:06:49

      I missed you so and am glad you are back!!

      Yay for quitting!! This may be a lesson I need to start instilling in my boys, so as to avoid all those future school loans. Then again, my oldest wants to be a ninja. I don’t think there is much schooling for that, so we’re probably good for him at least.

      Reply

  16. Inappropriately Nat (@natsnaughty)
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 20:17:58

    I love me some dunk’n donuts. I’d like a large, mocha swirl latte, pls.

    Reply

  17. hoodyhoo
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 07:54:12

    AAAAAHHH! Tooo… much… pressure… Just kidding, I’ll catch ya back tomorrow!

    Reply

  18. Jeff Laws
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 22:58:56

    1. Definitely agree with you about the books always being better than the movie. The only exception I’ve found is “The Shawshank Redemption”. But it was a short story so I’m not sure that would even count. Most people don’t realize that Stephen King wrote it.
    2. I agree with you about the feel of a book, but I love the convenience of my Kindle. I bought a leather case that opens like a book so I could trick myself to believing it’s a book. Plus I have the Kindle app on my phone so I always have a “book” with me. Hence, the convenience of it.
    5. I don’t have any best friends either. I’ve had a few in the past, and none are no longer in my life. So I figure if they all come and go, there is no point at getting attached to another. When I got married the first time, I had a best man and 3 groomsmen. The only one still around is my brother. So i’ll spend my time with my wife who is, more or less, my best friend.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 22, 2012 @ 14:10:25

      Oooh, Shawshank. I forgot about that one! Then again, it was a short story, so it was more like they took a premise and expanded on it. But I agree . . . love that movie so very much.

      And I agree . . . my hubs is pretty much my best friend as well, I guess.

      Reply

  19. Trackback: 11 Things About You and Me « Thoughts Appear's Blog
  20. Trackback: Memed « The Real Dave

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 732 other followers

