Won’t You Take Me To . . .

. . . Funky Town.

As y’all may have noticed, I have not been blogging at my normal rate as of late.  I am currently in a funk.  I am feeling down, and stressed, and tired and just plain worn out.  And when I get to feeling this way, there is just no funny.  I have plenty of ideas in my head of things to blog about, but all of them somehow either seem boring to me, or would end up with me ranting about something.  And really, that is no fun for anyone, right?

I feel dumb and selfish for walking around being all “woe is me” when no less than 3 friends are dealing with major physical ailments that they are rallying around like troopers.  While there is really nothing “wrong” per se in my life.  Regardless, I am still in this weird funky place that is holding me down and making me substantially less witty and entertaining.

Anyway, just wanted to catch you guys up on why it’s been quiet around here lately.  I’m not sure when I’m gonna get over this non-blogging hump, but I promise I will try my damnedest to get back to my hilarious, witty, thought provoking and highly entertaining ways!  (Where’s the sarcasm font when you need it?).

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. red
    May 11, 2012 @ 09:20:12

    Hey, I don’t believe you should feel bad about feeling bad. I know it’s easy to do: see others’ problems as greater than your own and kick yourself for not being “as strong”. But really, sometimes when you have a BIG problem to focus on, it’s easier to stay focused on a solution. When you don’t know precisely what the problem is, you have no solution to focus on.

    Actually, I’m kind of in the same mood. Probably anticlimax: I moved. It’s done. What next? Job search, yes…long, slow, painful process. annoyingly dull, too.

    We’ll get through this!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 16, 2012 @ 15:03:40

      I can see that. Like when there is just this general feeling of malaise like I had (have), you don’t really know how to fix it. Yeah, totally.

      We will definitely get through it. That job is coming!

      Reply

  2. Jayne
    May 11, 2012 @ 09:28:12

    Been there. We all have our ‘things’ to deal with. Some are bigger than others. Doesn’t make them any less important at the time.

    The funny will be back soon. Meanwhile, we will be here. We might be tapping our feet and checking the time, but we will be here.

    ; )

    Reply

  3. thoughtsappear
    May 11, 2012 @ 09:51:37

    I’m sorry you’re feeling down. Hope you get out of that funk soon! I think next Sunday will help! =)

    Reply

  4. leigh
    May 11, 2012 @ 10:36:48

    *hug*

    Reply

  5. gojulesgo
    May 11, 2012 @ 11:28:11

    I’m sorry you’re feeling blue, Misty! You do always make me laugh, though, even with this post (those cards, man, I just can’t get enough!). Hmm. Maybe a visit to awkwardfamilyphotos.com or postcardsfromyomomma.com is in order??

    Reply

  6. Kitten Thunder's Girl
    May 11, 2012 @ 12:16:05

    I’m with you sister. I’ve been on the verge of crying for a week now, for no good reason. Hopefully we’ll both find our way back from Funk Town soon!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 16, 2012 @ 15:15:08

      How you doing, girl? The crying for no reason thing was ridiculous!! I had one day last week where I had to hold back tears the entire day for no good reason. Even in court! It was bad.

      Hopefully we are both on the upswing now! Hugs to you.

      Reply

      • Kitten Thunder's Girl
        May 16, 2012 @ 19:05:25

        Upswing, indeed. I seem to be over it. At least it is taking an actual sappy commercial to make me close to tears and not, you know, monster trucks or whatever. And cooking lunch doesn’t seem as daunting.

        Reply

  7. lazysubculturalgirl
    May 11, 2012 @ 12:43:18

    I’ve been there before. Perhaps you could just rant? I like a good rant, myself — get all the angst out of there and on the internet where it belongs. There’s a tendency for women to think we are complaining too much and everybody else has it worse, blah blah. I say fuck that. WHINE, it does a body good!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 16, 2012 @ 15:16:39

      I am not adverse to a good rant, but eventually it just feels like all I’m doing is bitching and complaining and it just becomes too much. I don’t want my blog to become full of vitriol all the time. Nobody will ever come back! I think I’ve gotten through it for now, so onward and upward . . . or some such positive sounding shit. ;)

      Reply

  8. Danielle Charlton Geer
    May 11, 2012 @ 12:47:01

    Awwwww, Misty… remember the time (like, a week ago?) when I posted something similar? And you said: “I miss you when you go away. Don’t go disappearing on us again. You can write about poverty and depression if you want. I’m sure you would make it funny. Or not, I don’t care.”

    Ditto, my love. Blog about whatever is in your head. I love you with or without your wicked camera phone, your biting and hilarious sarcasm, and your killer insights. Sometimes you need to write down whatever is in your head, just to get it out and make more room for the funny.

    Love you, peanut… I hope you find happy again real, real soon.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 16, 2012 @ 15:19:17

      Not that it was that hard do last week, but reading this comment totally made me tear up. And using my own damn words against me is so not fair! But I really appreciated it, nonetheless!

      Love you, too. Thanks for your support. It meant A LOT.

      Reply

  9. Becca
    May 11, 2012 @ 16:37:33

    Hi honey. I totally understand about being down in the dumps. I hope you take all the time you need for YOU and get through whatever it is that has you down. xoxo HUGS

    Reply

  10. One of the Sarahs
    May 11, 2012 @ 16:53:35

    I’m willing to bet that even your rants are funny. Say whatever you need to–isn’t that why we’re here?

    Reply

  11. mark
    May 11, 2012 @ 18:49:26

    Maybe some of this warm weather and sunshine in Vancouver will make its way out to you and turn the tide. Alternatively, you could plan a west coast tour and hit up California, Portland and Vancouver.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 16, 2012 @ 15:22:07

      Yeah, the weather was beautiful all week, but didn’t help. It was weird. Like I said, there was no good reason for the funk, it just was.

      I would LOVE to come out to do a west coast romp!! As soon as you have purchased my plane ticket and paid for my hotels and rental car, you just let me know!! Woo-hoo. :)

      Reply

  12. Leauxra
    May 11, 2012 @ 22:03:12

    Aw, man. I can totally relate to this. I am trying really hard. Don’t feel bad about feeling bad. It happens to the best of us.

    Reply

  13. Brett Minor (@brettminor)
    May 12, 2012 @ 02:23:40

    Regardless of other peoples’ problems, your problems are YOUR problems and must be treated as such, regardless of surroundings. Life moves in seasons, good and bad. You will pull through.

    Reply

  14. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    May 12, 2012 @ 17:21:15

    I’m sorry you’re in a funk. It happens, and I know this is coming from someone who does exactly what you do, but, you shouldn’t feel guilty about being in a funk.

    You’ll come out of it, and then we’ll all laugh and laugh at the newest pictures you took or the stuff your kids said!

    Reply

  15. wcdameron
    May 13, 2012 @ 20:59:19

    I’ve been in that funk with you Misty. Let’s help each other out, shall we? I’m going to work on a post tonight and try and find a freak to take a picture of and send to you. You write a paragraph about anything, happy, sad, funny or not. We’ll get there together.

    Reply

  16. Andrea
    May 14, 2012 @ 17:50:12

    I followed the signs to the funk, and have safely arrived. I see I am in great company…just wish you were here to share all of the cheese, wine and chocolate that is here waiting for a retirement party to happen!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 16, 2012 @ 15:30:59

      No fair!! Why must you tease, Andrea? Why??

      You do know that you are now required to ship me some cheese, wine and chocolate, right? I mean, it’s only fair. That is like the trifacta of deliciousness right there. I will be awaiting my package, thank you.

      Reply

  17. Jeff Laws
    May 14, 2012 @ 22:28:47

    I’m new to my random blog, more or less, but I’ve been blogging on my sports blog for over a year. And one thing I’ve noticed there, is everybody goes through a “blah” stage. The majority come back and start blogging again. Most bloggers go through that at one time or another. We’ll still be here when you are ready. You take care of yourself first.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 16, 2012 @ 15:33:08

      Unfortunately, this was not my first blah stage since I’ve started the blog, but I’ve just plowed through the others with not much comment on my duldrums. But this was bad and I just had no impetus to blog AT ALL and that worried me because I love to blog! So, yeah. But it has passed for now. I’m just going to have to find a way to work through these periods, and it’s nice to know I have support out there from all of you guys!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 733 other followers

