What I Did on My Winter Vacation . . .

Hey guys, remember me?  The former blogger that used to hang out on here every week or so?  You know . . . the girl with cute toes, bangs, and who occasionally wrote witty blog posts?  No, not ringing a bell?  Well, let me re-introduce myself to y’all then . . . Hi, I’m Misty.  How ya doing?

Since it’s been quite a while since you’ve heard from me, I figured I would give you an update on what’s been going on with me since I last checked in.  Before I get back to my normally brilliant and award-winning posts*, you’ll get this little update post.  Ok?  Ok, then.

* Neither brilliant NOR award-winning.

Val and I had a quick visit right before Xmas to exchange presents and get our toes done.

IMG_9181

Pretty holiday feets!

Even though, technically, we didn’t exchange since she didn’t bring my present with her, but she tells me that I will receive it when I visit her up in Jersey in a few weeks, and really, I was more excited to see her reaction to the presents I bought for her anyway.

IMG_9185

Dr. Hooves!

IMG_9183

Zombie mug!

Since they both received the Val lick of approval, I’m pretty sure I nailed it.  Huzzah!

Once Val was taken care of, I had to move on to the main event . . . the big C!  And this time, I mean it in a good (albeit stressful and completely insane) way . . . Christmas.  So, to get prepared, I needed to wrap.  So, I locked myself in my bedroom, pulled out all the gifts for the kids and family (and husband), and thus commenced a 2 day wrapping extravaganza!

IMG_9215

Although, towards the evening of the first day, I started getting somewhat parched.  Wrapping can really make a girl thirsty!  So, before I settled in for another few hours of back-breaking work (seriously, you sit on the floor hunched over wrapping paper for like 8 hours and not feel like you have a broken back when you finally try to stand up!), I decided that I needed some reinforcements.  Since I was quickly running out of time to whip up a few cocktails I had been meaning to try in preparation for my Xmas eve gathering of family at my house, I figured there was no better time than the present.  So, I whipped them up, got a tray, and carted those suckers upstairs to finish Day 1 of wrapping, while watching a little Elf and getting a nice buzz on.  And let me tell you . . . those gifts looked so good!!

IMG_9218

We had our annual holiday party at work where there was a White Elephant exchange, which should more aptly be called the liquor exchange, since that’s pretty much what everyone brings.  Not that anyone’s complaining!  This was my score:

IMG_9210

The wine is actually from my secretary and the champagne is leftover from a champagne punch made for the party.  Yep, good haul.  Oh, and I also met a little mini-me, in the form of one of my colleague’s kids!

IMG_9212

Twins!

And of course, ’tis the season to listen to festive holiday CDs in your car, made for you specifically by your good friend, Andrea.

IMG_9227

The evening before The Big Day, my kids were keeping close tabs on where that Jolly Old Fat Man was in the world, so they would know when they needed to be fast asleep.

IMG_9239

Training for future careers with the NSA.

Once Christmas morning arrived, as always, it was a normal crazy present-fest in the Laws household.  The kids tore through wrapping paper like it was their jobs, and the hubs and I sat drinking our coffee and putting batteries into the numerous items that required them, with our anxious and impatient children hovering over our heads, ready to snatch the coveted object the moment the cover was snapped back into place.  Good times, good times.

And lest you think the hubs and I didn’t participate in the gift exchange festivities, well . . . I see we haven’t met yet.  Suffice to say that the hubs and I excel at gift giving.  Need proof?  Please refer back to this little item, wherein I gave him a CAR for our anniversary!  Yeah, that’s how we roll.  (On another note, you would think buying my husband a huge gift like that a mere 2 months ago would give me a pass for having to come up with a special Xmas gift for him this year . . . you would think.  Sigh).  Anyway, this was the pile of presents waiting for me from him on Xmas morning . . .

IMG_9277

I was a VERY good girl!

And yes, if you are observant, you will note the 1D wrapping paper.  Last year it was Justin Bieber.  So, at least he’s keeping up with the tween heart-throb trend of the moment.  But the very first gift I opened from him wasn’t very humorous.  It hit a bit too close to home, despite my husband’s claims that the name on the tag is of a very trendy and reputable store in London and that it’s not a joke.  Sure.

IMG_9273

Ouch.

Although, after that unfortunately named gift, there were may more gifts to open and there was much silliness to be found . . .

IMG_9274

Because of my well-known love of fishing, naturally.

IMG_9282

Mmmmm, Bacon!

IMG_9283

Either the hubs realizes my love of both of these mens’ characters on their hit shows, or maybe he thinks I’m a gay man? Meh, probably the first one.

IMG_9289

Well, he got this right at least!

IMG_9285

Um, no. I am SO not a leather skirt kind of girl.

Oh, and you’re probably wondering what was in that big box, right?  (What’s in the box?  What’s in the box?!?!?!).  Well, that gift was not a joke.  Ahhh, the hubs knows me so well!

IMG_9290

Wine party at my house, you guys!!  You bring the wine, and I’ll chill it for you.  Bam!  Just like that.

The rest of the day went by very quickly, and involved more gifts, lots of food and drinks, and too many family members to count!  By the end of the day, as always, the hubs and I were beat and the kids were buzzing like they were on a 3 day sugar high.  Once we finally herded them up to bed, we crashed on the couch and didn’t even come close to getting through our yearly traditional viewing of White Christmas.  I think the hubs was out by Snow (possibly even Sisters), and I only made it until Choreography before I had to shut it off and call it a Xmas.

A couple days later, we took the kids on a quick trip up to New York City for their first time ever.  But, despite only being two days, it felt like a millennium, and we experienced a ton of stuff, so I think I’ll save that for a separate post.  Don’t wanna overdo it on my first trip back into the blogosphere after so long.  I wouldn’t want to pull a hammy!

So, how was your holiday break?  Do anything fun and exciting?  Share with the class . . .

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. She's a Maineiac
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 08:45:48

    You can wrap with your feet? I’m impressed. And I want that Sheldon doll! (Yes, I am in love with a gay man) Where did you get that Bacon candle? You certainly had a good xmas, Misty.

    I did nothing all break so it was glorious. Also, I scored a pair of BearPaws boots and a Mindy Kaling book so I was pretty stoked.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 15, 2014 @ 14:37:18

      My feet are multi-talented. Why do you think I display them so prominently on the blog? ;)

      Where did I get that candle . . . well now, Darla, funny you should ask that. Only from your former stomping grounds: Yankee Candle!! ;)

      Sounds like you had a nice Xmas as well. You totally scored!

      Reply

  2. Fresh Ginger
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 08:55:01

    Oh my! You were a good girl! Nice wine cooler. Tip: We also store 22 oz micro brews in ours, just sayin.

    I love the silly gifts. My hubs doesn’t get that spirit at Christmas but I’ll forgive him because he does spoil me rotten. :) Happy New Year!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 15, 2014 @ 14:38:55

      That’s a great tip, thanks!

      Well, as long as you’re spoiled, you’re fine. Sometimes the jokes overwhelm the real gifts, so it’s not all bacon candles and leather skirts if you know what I mean. But it sounds like you made out pretty well for Xmas this year as always, huh? Happy New Year to you as well!

      Reply

  3. Go Jules Go
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 09:47:29

    First of all, I am LOVING your green and red toes, and the 1D wrapping paper (Babs would approve of that, too). Jenn got me the bacon candle! …I thought I liked it, but I left the lid off for a while (without burning it) and started to feel nauseated. Don’t tell Jenn.

    Glad you’re BACK!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 15, 2014 @ 14:40:44

      Thanks! I thought the toes were pretty festive. I was trying, damnit! ;)

      I only smelled it and put the lid back on. And yeah, some of those scents give me a massive headache and/or make me nauseous. This would probably do the trick.

      Well, I WAS back. Seems I’m lost again. Sigh.

      Reply

  4. Hippie Cahier
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 12:36:16

    Hmmm. My money was on the Witness Protection Program. I’m still going to write it that way in my tell-all biography. Nice pedicure!

    Reply

  5. andrea-maybe it's just me
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 13:18:53

    Let’s see…during my break I got pictures texted to me of a lady wrapping presents, testing cocktails, and having a cool Christmas CD!!! ;) Happy New year!

    Reply

  6. Samantha Brinn Merel
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 17:10:07

    Welcome back! Glad you had such a good holiday!

    Reply

  7. PinotNinja
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 17:29:35

    I want all of those gifts. ALL OF THEM! I have a stand alone wine fridge like yours, and it totally changed my life. Now that you have the fridge, you need to keep it full. And do you know how fun wine shopping is?? IT IS VERY FUN.

    Also, where does your mini-me live? Because I would like to kidnap that adorable little tyke and make her my very own. Anyone with that much style should really be living in my house.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 15, 2014 @ 14:44:53

      I am not even a tiny bit surprised that you have a wine fridge. And yeah, I’ve never really been able to wine shop because I never had anywhere to put the wine. I could only buy one or 2 bottles as needed (which is still fun). But now . . . look out liquor store, here I come!

      The mini-me is a boy child. And heavily guarded by his very protective momma. She would fight you to the death, I think. Hey, why don’t you just make your own mini me? Much easier. You know, without all those kidnapping charges and jail time getting in the way. ;)

      Reply

  8. bschooled
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 19:03:40

    I find it you called it a “wrapping extravaganza”. Given my lack of patience and/or inability to cut in a straight line, for me wrapping presents is like being in hell.

    Reply

  9. joannerambling
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 19:57:27

    So you didn’t fall off the planet, just got lost in Christmas and the holidays, that I get, but enough about you getting lost what I will say is welcome back and hope you stay around for a while.

    Reply

  10. bluzdude
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 20:39:30

    Went to Pittsburgh, ate like a king, drank like a fish, and yapped all night with my relatives. It was the perfect Christmas.

    Reply

  11. Vesta Vayne
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 22:00:15

    Wow, I’m exhausted just reading about your Christmas.

    Reply

  12. Jess Witkins
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 22:14:46

    There’s so much awesomeness in this post, I don’t know where to start. The zombie mug. No, the 1D wrapping paper – Ick! Or the giant stack of wacky presents! Wow! Sounds like an amazing Christmas!

    P.S. Your white elephant gift is much more exciting than my work. I got a Santa face and body toilet seat cover and rug. I know you’re jealous, but I’ve already gifted it as a joke to my soon to be sister in law.

    Reply

  13. Mark Petruska
    Jan 08, 2014 @ 12:28:08

    Sounds great, and I’ve gotta hand it to you, drinking cocktails and watching a holiday movie while simultaneously wrapping gifts is the only way to go! Been there, done that, and it makes the whole experience so much more fun. Though unlike you, I did not paint my toenails red and green beforehand…

    Reply

  14. pegoleg
    Jan 08, 2014 @ 12:47:46

    pile of presents?…pile of presents? That’s a friggin’ mountain, Misty. Jeez, did you make out like a bandit, girl! Love the holiday toes – too cute.

    Reply

  15. about100percent
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 09:17:42

    Whoa! You got a wine fridge for Christmas. That’s what I wanted. I got gym clothes that were too small. Crap.

    Reply

  16. Valentine Logar
    Jan 11, 2014 @ 16:40:31

    That pile of presents is absolutely the best, a wine cooler? Terribly cool, I mean this in the, as in awesome way, not in the as in chill the wine way.

    Your husband gets the spirit of Christmas.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 15, 2014 @ 14:52:29

      You know how in Elf, Buddy is a human child that accidentally gets taken to the North Pole by Santa and then is raised by elves? Yeah, that’s my husband, but the opposite way. He’s totally a real life elf raised by humans. Shhhh, don’t tell!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 578 other followers

