Fried, fried and more fried

As you may know, I posted a couple weeks ago about going to my second fair of the year, and not getting any fried Oreos, which was just so sad.  Well, this past weekend I attended my third and final fair of the season, and I am here to report that that travesty has been rectified. 

My goal was to not only get some fried Oreos, but to try to experience any other fried delicacies that looked interesting, since I had heard so many good things about other bizarre concoctions dipped in batter and deep fried.

My first encounter with a fried option came in the guise of something I would never have thought would be fried.  And that would be this:

Mmmm, strawberries.

Now, this little stand had lots of fried delicacies.  Including some things I never would have thought could or would be fried:

Fried what now?

Yep, that says fried pickle.  I’m just not sure how that would taste.  I mean, I like pickles.  But battered and fried?  No thanks.  I think I will just try the strawberries.  Because, I have heard of fried Oreos, fried Twinkies and even fried Snickers, but I have never heard of fried strawberries, and that is just too intriguing to miss.  So I got them:

Yum

That were so delicious.  I had 2 of them and gave 1 each to my sons.  I even gave the hubs a bite of one of mine.  Reluctantly.  They basically tasted like funnel cake with strawberries on top.  They were so good and I am glad I decided to give them a try.

I was still determined that before I left the fair though, I would be getting my fried Oreo, just maybe at a different stand.  And I know what you’re thinking . . . didn’t she say that last time?  Didn’t that bite her in the butt?  Hasn’t she learned her lesson?  And to those questions I answer YES to all.  But this time, I was determined that if I didn’t find another stand that sold them, I would be hoofing it right back to this place, bedtimes be damned.

So, let me share a few other things I saw at this fair.  And before you get all excited, there are no pictures of any crazily dressed people in this entire post.  I know!  I couldn’t believe it either, but apparently the cosmos was taking it easy on the old eyes this day, so thanks for that.  There were a few strange things though, starting with this:

Huh?

Ok, so this makes me ask two questions . . . #1 – what is this thing?  and #2 – why would they need to put a sign up for people not to eat it?  Well, I still don’t know what the answer to #1 is, but I can only imagine the answer to #2 is that they put this sign up out of necessity because people were actually walking by and eating this thing off the counter?  Who does that?  Who eats mystery food that is just sitting out on a shelf next to a stand at the fair?  I don’t think I want to know those people, whoever they are.

Ok, so now we move onto the end of the night.  Whilst walking around and examining all the stalls and their offerings for dinner options, I came across another stand that sold lots of fried goodies.  So, while my kids were on their last “ride” (the bouncy castle) and in the care of the hubs, Mom ran over to this stand and got her fried on.  But once I got there, there were decisions to be made.  These were the offerings:

Decisions . . . decisions . . .

So, as I am standing there contemplating whether to get the Oreos or the Twinkie (pickle still not an option, what is up with that pickle?), the very perky and friendly chic working at the stand asks me what I want.  I tell her I am trying to decide.  She says “between the oreos and twinkies?” to which I reply YES.  So she says, somewhat jokingly, “well, just get ’em both!”  And at that moment, I decided that this was a grand idea, so I told her that is exactly what I would do.  I was also impressed that these offerings were a lot cheaper than the first stand I saw them at earlier, so I felt like I was actually getting a deal as well (I later realized that they weren’t using real Oreos, but some type of Walmart “sandwich cookie” things, hence the cheap price).  I was very happy because I was finally getting not only my fried Oreos, but also the ever elusive fried Twinkie I had heard so much about.  I could not wait!

Mmmm, sweet battered goodness!

So, on the left we have the fried “oreos” and on the right is the fried Twinkie (possibly also a fake, but I don’t have confirmation of this, so let’s go with twinkie).  I tried the Oreo first.  It was quite yummy.  Battery and chocolaty and delicious.  I didn’t even mind that it was a fake, it was so good.  Then I tried the twinkie.  It was just this moist and gooey thing that just melted in my mouth.  It was also quite good.  I realized at that point that that last time I had a twinkie, I was probably about 12, so this was like a walk down memory lane as well.  Only this time, with more batter!

At this point though, I was quite full from all the fair goodies, and might have possibly been going into some sort of sugar/batter shock, but it was worth it to finally get these elusive treats.  Diets be damned!!

Well, thus concludes the tale of this fair maiden (geddit?) and her quest for delicious fried goodness at the local fairs.  Join us next year for a thrilling tale of possibly getting that fried pickle just to see what the hell?  Or . . . probably not.

Have you had anything weird and crazy and fried lately?  Please, do share your experience . . .

46 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thoughtsappear
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 09:16:32

    I’m so glad you tried both the Twinkie and the Oreos. Yummy! I’m going on Friday to get my fill of deep fried treats.

    Those strawberries look good! The apple crisp with caramel topping sound good as well.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 16:16:57

      The strawberries were delicious. Definitely get some. The stand was at the end of the “food row” near the animals, right before you get to the bottom of the hill and the pony rides. Hope you can find it. Report back with any other fried treats you may try. Maybe the fried pickle?

      Reply

  2. bluntdelivery
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 11:04:06

    well i’m from the midwest so i know all about fried things and fairs and funnel cakes.

    um, have you heard of the butter? the fried butter on a stick?? i can’t imagine anything more disgusting.

    Reply

  3. Paula @ thewilyweez
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 11:30:01

    I am so glad you finally got your oreo, I was really dissapointed for you last time. Also, the fried pickles are really really good. They serve them in alot of restaurants where I live.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 16:19:13

      Maybe next time I will be adventurous enough to try to fried pickle. Probably not though. It just sounds wrong. And I like pickles.

      Reply

      • Ashley Z
        Feb 06, 2012 @ 16:46:42

        If you like pickles, and you like fried things, then you definitely will like fried pickles. MMMMMMMmmmm so good. It’s like saurkraut, sounds gross, but tastes so delish!

        Reply

        • mistyslaws
          Feb 08, 2012 @ 09:55:51

          I do not like saurkraut. And I am of German descent. But I plan to try the fried pickle after so much praise of it. I just have to wait until the fair circuit comes around again this summer.

          Thanks for visiting!!

          Reply

  4. Jen
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 13:50:19

    For the record, deep fried pickles are fucking EPIC!!! Must be consumed with a truly ungodly amount of ranch dressing for the full cardiac effect.

    Last year our fair had. . .wait for it. . .Deep. Fried. Pizza. ((I’ll wait for a few seconds for the sheer awesomeness to sink in)) It was at that moment that I found Jesus.

    Reply

    • lisa
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 15:24:54

      OMG I need to know where this fair is STAT. My arteries won’t be properly clogged until I try deep fried pizza!

      Reply

      • Jen
        Sep 21, 2011 @ 15:33:25

        Surprisingly, it is deep in the heart of the People’s Republic of Portland, Oregon. Would have thought all of the liberal vegans would have burned down the stand in effigy.

        Reply

        • lisa
          Sep 21, 2011 @ 15:40:11

          Well a Vegan I am not, but then again I’m from Detroit, not Portland. LOL I may just have to make a road trip the next time that fair is in town. I love me some pizza.

          Reply

          • Jen
            Sep 21, 2011 @ 15:45:48

            Ooooh, and sister, you have not lived until you’ve had deep-fried BBQ chicken pizza dipped in blue cheese. . .but not the bottled kind. I’m with you; fuck that shit.

            Reply

            • lisa
              Sep 22, 2011 @ 16:03:26

              I’m an idiot and realized that I responded to the wrong post yesterday with this:

              I’m pretty sure I just drooled on my keyboard. Also, I totally agree with you on non-bottled blue cheese. I’m pretty bottled blue cheese is what ass tastes like.

              LOL…that person must have thought I was insane. Well I am, but you know what I mean…

              Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 16:20:22

      Was he in a Hot Pocket or on a Gordita?

      See, the deep fried pizza just sort of sounds like a pizza pocket to me. I’m sure it’s good, it just doesn’t sound unique, which is what I expect from crazy fried fair food.

      Reply

      • Jen
        Sep 21, 2011 @ 16:33:06

        He was surfing in on a wave of non-bottled ranch dressing, baby!

        The pizza is actually nothing like a Pizza Pocket. It is what would occur if you wrapped a slice of pizza in a Saran Wrap made of French fries. Side order of Lipitor is optional.

        God, I am unproductive today. . .

        Reply

  5. Seasweetie
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 15:13:01

    I too tried the deep fried pickle about a month ago, on a first date no less, as my new beau was fond of them. I was underwhelmed – not bad, just … not. Jen must have had a better version. (But my new beau is still my new beau.)

    We’re headed for the Chile Festival this weekend, and I will sample the most bizarre fried thing I can find, in your honor!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 16:22:19

      Congrats on the new beau!

      And I’ve never had anyone try bizarre fried things in my honor. I feel so special now. 😀

      Do me proud! I will expect a full report. Have fun.

      Reply

  6. lisa
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 15:26:16

    Okay lady, I can’t believe you have never heard of a deep friend pickle. They are pure yumminess and are even 100 times better when dipped in non-bottled ranch. Yes I have to clarify what type of ranch, because bottled ranch is he work of the devil. Blech.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 16:23:26

      Ok, so maybe I’ll try it at some point. Will probably have to wait until next year though, as the fair season is over in these here parts. Also? I don’t like ranch dressing, so that might be a problem as well.

      Reply

  7. hoodyhoo
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 07:43:03

    Gotta tell you, girl, you shoulda got that fried pickle — it’s one of Nature’s Most Perfect Foods. Best place to get them is for some reason German restaurants — they serve them sliced, breaded, and fried, with honey mustard-y sauce for dipping. Doooo JAYsus they’re good!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 22, 2011 @ 15:07:28

      Well, obviously I just was not mentally prepared for the fried pickle. But with so many glowing reviews of it’s deliciousness, I may just be brave enough to try it next time. K?

      Reply

  8. sars!
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 15:54:10

    I live in veggie land where all the hipsters and hippies do there best to insure that you never have anything fried or meat-filled if they can prevent it. Then the fair comes and they go into cardiac arrest just seeing the carts roll by. While I have never tried the deep fried pickle (and I shall on all your reccos) I have had the oreo, the twinkie, a snickers and not mentioned above the most amazing thing ever… deep fried bacon. A-MAZE-ING!!!! Of the what the fuck variety and why would you ever was deep fried butter. That is just asking for stupid.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 22, 2011 @ 16:19:52

      Deep fried bacon??? Oh, I am so down with that! Although that sounds like a big ole plate of artery clogger with a side of a coronary on a stick. I would still try it.

      Reply

      • sars!
        Sep 22, 2011 @ 16:27:17

        Deep Fried Bacon is part of the trifecta of awesome. Add beer and some hot man in jeans that fit perfectly walking in front of you (so he is not watching you clog your arteries and become a sloppy drunken mess) and it is pretty close to a perfect night. Then again just the bacon and beer and I don’t need a man at all.

        Reply

        • Jen
          Sep 22, 2011 @ 16:29:28

          Good God, I fo’ schizz need you to Fed Ex some of that bacon my way. . .and some Cracker barrel biscuits. . .and the pickles. . .on second thought, maybe I should just move.

          Reply

          • sars!
            Sep 22, 2011 @ 16:37:01

            I’m on the central coast of Cali, trust me Portland is better. But the grass is always greener. Maybe we can couch swap during next years fair.

            Reply

  9. Kelly Fox
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 16:10:30

    Fried pickles = tiny orgasms.
    True.

    Anything battered or fried is out for me now, and it sucks. Balls. BUT, I will find a gluten free flour that doesn’t taste like baby puke, and then it will be on!!! Imma gonna fry it all!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 22, 2011 @ 16:20:41

      Ok, now I REALLY have to try these pickles. Damn.

      Reply

    • sars!
      Sep 22, 2011 @ 16:24:10

      Have you tried rice flour? They use it at Japanese restaurants. No gluten and fries up nicely. Think tempura… (Like I said… I live in hipster land where there are restaurants just for gluten free and vegan 🙂

      Reply

      • Kelly Fox
        Sep 22, 2011 @ 16:33:51

        The one rice flour that I bought smells just like baby formula, it is grossarific.
        I will keep trying, and I want to try coconut flour!! Doesn’t that sound delish?

        Reply

        • sars!
          Sep 22, 2011 @ 16:38:39

          Coconut Flour is awesome as are several of the different nut flours. You just have to find the ones that work for the application. As for rice flour smelling like baby formula, maybe it was the brand? I’ve never had that issue. Makes me sad to hear tales of food woah. Food should only be linked to happy!

          Reply

    • Heather Rose
      Sep 27, 2011 @ 12:04:26

      I have the same problem, Kelly … damn the glutens!

      But I am going to make some homemade gluten free poptarts tonight – I can find a work-around for ANY healthy eating habit/requirement.

      Reply

  10. bloggertobenamedlater
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 19:39:54

    Seriously, that’s caloric Armageddon. Fried Oreos and Fried Twinkies. You will have to atone for your caloric sins on the crosstrainer. For days. Also, as has been pointed out, fried pickles have been around for a long time. In the South, if it is possible to batter and fry it, it’s been done.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 26, 2011 @ 10:43:22

      I know, I felt a bit ill at the end of the day after eating all that fried stuff. It did not stop me from eating some Bonefish Grill bang bang shrimp later in the night though, oh no it did not! Yep, I’m gonna have to work that off.

      Reply

  11. rumpydog
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 17:40:06

    As one who loves fried pickles, my typist recommends fried pickle slices. She has had a whole pickle battered and fried and even pickle spears, but neither is as tasty as the slices. The salty, sour pickles combined with the hot grease makes is quite tasty. And yeah, the ranch is good, but so is ketchup. Then you get to add the sugar for a total taste effect.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 26, 2011 @ 10:44:38

      I just can’t believe I had never heard of these before. Maybe because I don’t live in the south. I do like ketchup, so that might be what I go with when I finally get around to trying them.

      Reply

  12. Trackback: Fried and Seek « Misty's Laws

Leave a Reply

