TV Overload

1275374999899154843tv-md

Ok, I admit it.  My name is Misty and I am a TVaholic.  “Hi Misty!!”  I watch entirely too much television, and most of it is crappy reality shows.  I get somewhat complacent during the summer months because there are really only a few shows that I watch during that time period, and I start getting lazy about my TV watching.  I start doing things like making plans to go out with people.  Spending more time with my children.  Going to bed early and getting a good night’s sleep.  

Well, thank goodness that madness has now come to an end!  I am now back off the wagon for my TV addiction.  The Fall TV season is upon us people!!

If you are like me, you anxiously await the fall edition of Entertainment Weekly.  You know the one.  The one I subscribe to the entire magazine for.  The one I wait through 51 less worthy editions to arrive at my home sometime in early September.  The one that when I finally get it in the mail, I run to my favorite chair, magazine in hand, and chart out every show that I plan to watch during the upcoming season.  Pen and notebook in hand, I read through that magazine like it is the dead sea scrolls about to impart some much longed for wisdom.  I slowly peruse the articles for the new shows to see if I may be interested in them.  I see where they moved around my old shows, if they are now on different nights and times.  I chart and graph and list.  I start with Sunday and work my way through the week.  I write down the time, the show name, the network and the start date.  I do this for every single show that I want to watch.  This way, I know if I have too many shows scheduled for one day and have to go up to the bedroom DVR to schedule any “extra” shows.  I then make sure I program every single show with a season pass on my DVR so I don’t miss a single second of any of my TV shows.

Beautiful, no?

See, the above list doesn’t even include 4 or 5 shows that I either already have scheduled and don’t need to list (The Soup, Top Chef, Project Runway, The Closer), or ones I added after I heard some good buzz (Up All Night, 2 Broke Girls) or a random show here or there that I schedule for the bedroom and probably won’t get to watch for a while (Unforgettable).

Ok, folks.  Herein lies the problem.  I have a full time job.  I have 2 young boys.  Granted, I don’t really have a social life, which is good for my TV watching addiction, but really there just are not enough hours in the day to watch every thing I want to watch and also do all the things that need to get done at work and around the house.  My DVRs get very full very fast.  This is a problem.  How do I solve this problem?

Well, some might say that I just need to pare down the amount of television that I watch.  To those silly people I say, “Pffftt!!”  Those people are now dead to me.  Really, what I need to do is either work less or spend less time with my children.  Or do less housework.  Or all three!!!

Yes, I do feel that I just need to make more time for my one true love . . . that glowing, speaking beauteous creature sitting in my living room and giving me the pure joy of distraction and saturation in another less hectic and stressful world.  I think that will be the solution.  And more wine.  Obviously.  Ahh, yes . . . I feel I am well on my way to being cured.

What are your addictions?  How do you find extra time in the day for them?

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lisapollard965
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 10:29:20

    OMG we really do share a brain. While I don’t subscribe to EW, I do go to TVGuide online and map out my shows just as you did.

    Can I ask you this…what the fuck is so damn special about Thursday?!? I literally watch Bones, Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice, The XFactor, Community, Parks & Rec, The Office, Whitney, The Vampire Daries, The Secrect Circle and 30 Rock (when it comes back). That’s 11 fucking shows on the same night. Thank God for 2 DVRs. That’s not even counting the shows I watch all the rest of the nights of the week either.

    I agree life sucks for getting in the way of all my TV watching, but I find as many ways I can to sneek it in (other than the obvious relaxing before bed stuff). I always watch while folding laundry and half the time when I’m getting ready in the morning. I may just get to watch 5-10 min snippets, but it’s at least a start. Sadly I will fall behind a at least a few shows and will do my best to catch up during Christmas time (Ha! like there’s really time thn) and even over the Summer. Hell I still have to watch all but 2 episodes of The Killing and every episode of Game of Thrones. I finally gave up on The Walking Dead because I could only watch it during the daytime cuz kept getting scared. There was no way in hell I was ever going to catch up on that. LOL

    Oh and even if I like a show, if I’m not THAT into it I always find myself relieved when it gets cancelled. Phew…one more thing I can delete from the DVR! LOL

    I don’t think it would be as bad if it wasn’t for my Teen Drama addiction either. I love cheesy shows that don’t make me think. Gossip Girl, 90210, etc.. So darn addicting.

    I added 13 NEW shows this year…13. That doesn’t count all the returning show that I’m already watching. Lord watch over my DVR’s…they are gonna get a workout!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 08:42:26

      Thursdays. I know, right? Spread the love people, damn.

      I also catch up at xmas and summer. I still have the full season of Friday Night Lights in my DVR that I haven’t gotten to yet. May have to wait until next summer!!

      I’m the same about the so-so shows when they get cancelled. I had a whole season of something from last year on my bedroom DVR and then it got cancelled after like 12 shows and I was so relieved because I had only watched 5 minutes of the first show, but now I could just get rid of the whole thing because I obviously didn’t care either.

      Good luck this season!! 🙂

      Reply

      • lisapollard965
        Sep 28, 2011 @ 09:10:14

        OMG yes I have to watch the last seasn of Friday Night Lights too! I’m going to have to download it though or buy the DVD because I forgot to set up my DVR when we moved and I missed a few episodes. BOO!

        Good luck to you this season too! I’m sure we’re both going to need it! LOL

        Reply

  2. Heather Rose
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 11:55:30

    The boyfriend and I have a total problem with Jeopardy- we DVR them and can then sit and watch 3 or 4 episodes in a row. And we get really disgruntled during teen week and kids week – that shit is too easy.

    We’re not huge TV people (although during the fall, my weekends become this mysterious football-related wasteland that just vacuum-sucks time and all the sudden its Monday again and why the hell didnt I get anything done?!) but we do love us some Glee. We get all zombie-like between seasons (must… have… Glee….).

    We may also be getting into New Girl (mainly because its on right after Glee and hey! we dont even have to lift the remote!), but I dont know how much ‘Zooey Deschanel being an adorable hipster’ I can take.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 08:43:51

      We are the same during the weekends. It is non-stop football. I try to squeeze in some of my recorded shows as well, but yeah it just seems there is always some type of sports on.

      Oh the adorable hipster routine. Yeah, I just can’t stomach it. Thanks anyway.

      Reply

  3. Jen
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 12:38:18

    You must wedge ‘Whitney’ into your schedule as well. It is fucking HIGH-larious. And I take offense at the use of the phrase ‘crappy’ reality TV. Epically fabulous shows like ‘Dance Moms’ and ‘Toddlers & Tiaras’ serve a valuable purpose in life: to make us look like rockstar parents.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 08:45:06

      Is it on Thursday? Because I just can’t jam anything else in on Thursday right now. If it lasts, maybe I’ll catch up with it later On Demand.

      I just can’t do it. I feel so dirty when I watch those shows, even though it does make me look like I should get a Nobel Prize for parenting. They have those, right?

      Reply

  4. prttynpnk
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 13:38:56

    I am embarrassed to admit this- but feel that I will not be judged- there is one night during the week that my husband had to bend time and space to fit all our regulars in- at one point we have to shift into the Sewers Bordello to watch the 2nd DVR taping in there. We are sad little people, but we love our tv.
    The husband has forbidden me to tape toddlers & Traumas on the main tv- he says the fbi monitoring our dvr will want to talk to him about it. …

    Reply

  5. Ami
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 13:45:17

    Ok, no tv addiction here. I could give two shits less about tv. Usually, my kids have control of it, so, it’s on Disney all day. LOL But, I am addicted to my NOOK. I use to love going to the book store and perusing for new reads. With my two little ones, though, that has become an impossibly stressful thing to attempt. I usually end up in the kid’s section, while they play with the damn train table set up there. Silly kiddies, Mommy wants to look at grown-up books. Since I got my NOOK, my life is complete. I can now download something straight to that sucker, plop myself down on the couch with a fuzzy blanket, and read to my heart’s content. Of course, this causes some issues, when I should be paying attention to what my children are doing. “What, baby? You need your hiney wiped? Ok, just let me finish this paragraph…” Yeah, it’s bad. lol I go through a book in two or three days. SInce I got the NOOK last Christmas, I’ve gone through over 60 books. Addiction, you say? Damn straight.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 08:47:28

      I get that. I love to read, but hardly find the time (hmm, wonder why?). I could see ignoring the kiddies for a good book. I usually save that for my rare bath times, with a nice glass of wine as well. Heaven.

      Reply

  6. Danielle Geer (@deathbycupakes)
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 16:46:43

    I count down the moments until the new season of America’s Next Top Model begins. There is a rule in my house: THERE IS NO TALKING DURING TOP MODEL.
    My secret shame is Hoarders. I love Hoarders! I hate Hoarders! I have to watch it because… because… because I AM THAT PERSON WHO WILL DRIVE PAST A TRAIN WRECK AND MAKE YOU BELIEVE I’M TOO THOUGHTFUL AND SENSITIVE TO GAWK AT THE HORROR AND THEN I WILL TOTALLY CHECK IT OUT IN MY REARVIEW MIRROR WHEN NO ONE IS LOOKING.

    Whew. That felt good.

    Don’t judge me.

    I was super excited about the new season of How I Met Your Mother, Mike and Molly, Big Bang Theory, Confession: Animal Hoarders (because yes, I watch that, too), Deadly Women, Wicked Attraction, Snapped…

    I’m not proud of myself. Really, I’m not.
    Thank you for giving me a forum on which to share my shame.

    xo

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 08:49:28

      There is no judgment here Danielle. You are amongst friends. This is a safe place.

      I get the train wreck thing. I always yell at the people in front of me who are holding up traffic to see the accident, but then, wouldn’t you know it, my eyes are drawn to that crash as I drive by. I think it is just human nature to be fascinated by the bizarre and macabre. Hence, Hoarders.

      Reply

  7. Paula @ thewilyweez
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 12:45:01

    I’m addicted to netflix instant streaming. While I was on maternity leave a while back I watch 6 seasons of Grey’s Anatomy, 5 seasons of Weeds, 5 seasons of Brothers & Sisters, and rewatched all 6 seasons of Lost. I try to get my TV watching in while I am folding and hanging laundry, that way I feel productive.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 13:30:50

      Both of my maternity leaves (a few years ago as well) were during the summer, so I got to go through and clean out my DVRs. In fact, I cleaned them out so well, that I started scheduling movies to record at night so I would have something to watch the next day while I was nursing. So I actually got to catch up on lots of movies that I had missed, since I never get to go to the theater anymore.

      I cancelled Netflix a few years back because I wasn’t even watching the movies I had sitting at my house. It was pathetic and getting ridiculous. But I have heard that is a handy way to watch all those shows.

      Reply

  8. sars!
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 13:26:14

    Sidereel. You can catch all the shows you and your DVR missed and for those of us who don’t have TV privileges… perfect. I am also a fan of Hulu plus and the Netflix streaming. Between these three there is zero need to pay for cable. 🙂

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 13:33:13

      I have never heard of this Sidereel. Is it like Hulu?

      I already pay for the cable, not really by choice, so I won’t pay for any other online charge per month site. I’m broke like that.

      Reply

      • sars!
        Oct 05, 2011 @ 20:06:36

        Sidereel is kinda like hulu. And Netflix is totally different now. You get to choose streaming or dvd’s. Sidereel has two levels and the free level is usually enough since I’m typically a few weeks (or seasons) behind anyway. Sooo check sidereel ’tis awesome. Did I mention my “man” is a computer geek and now I know all sorts of shit I would never have before (like how to embed links and shit like that)?

        Reply

        • mistyslaws
          Oct 06, 2011 @ 12:59:13

          Embedded links are sexy. I could never figure out how to do that kind of shit. He’s a keeper!! 🙂

          I’ll check it out if I have time. There just doesn’t seem to be enough time in my life to watch all the things I want. Damn real life responsiblities!!

          Reply

  9. cornfedgirl
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 23:48:29

    I love horrendous TV. Love it. But I justify watching it by multi-tasking by watching, browsing the Internet and drinking wine.

    Reply

  10. oxymoron1856
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 17:27:04

    Hi Misty! I have a TV addiction too. My number one enabler is Hulu, it’s free and mostly useful. The adds are bearable (30 seconds to 1 minute). Sometimes shows that are listed on Hulu take you to another site (like Project Runway) so I try to watch those shows on TV. To enable your addiction further you could make a list of all shows available on Hulu (make sure to note how long they are available for) and then use Saturday to catch up on those shows.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: The Biggest Loser: Is this safe? « Misty's Laws

Leave a Reply

