Conversations with My 6 Year Old

Last night, my son & I were watching the second hour of Dancing with the Stars that I had recorded on Monday night.  It was movie score night.  He has watched the show with me a couple times this season, so he recognizes a few of the dancers.  The first couple he saw dance last night was Maks & Hope.  They were dancing to the Toy Story theme….

6: Why are they dancing to this?
Me: It’s movie theme night. Every couple dances to a different movie song.
6: Gasp! Did they already do Mickey and Beauty & the Beast???
Me: Not Disney sweetie, just movies.

Then later, as the next dancers were dancing (Rob & Cheryl maybe?):

6: Is it always boy/girl dancing together or can there be boy/boy or girl/girl?
Me: Only boy/girl on this show (I am NOT prepared to explain Chaz, yet).
6: Why?
Me: That’s just what they do on this show. But I’m sure when you get older & have school dances, you will see boys & girls dancing with each other because there are lots of different people and couples in the world, right?
6: Right.

I love how accepting he is.

Then, during the scoring of Ricki & Derrick:

6: Wow! Is that the first 10 of the year???
Me: Yep.

He’s so damn observant, that boy.

Later, it was time for bed, but it was right before the last couple’s scores……

6: I want to stay up to see the scores!
Me: No, it’s late. Up to bed, now.
6: Will you tell me the scores in the morning?
Me: Yes.

After he is in bed, I come downstairs & watch the end where they say the scores, and I see a head peek out of his room….

6: Ha ha, I heard the scores!
Me: Go. To. Bed.

Oh, and then he treated me to this vocal gem all night as well:

“All the other kids with the rum ba dum, gotta bum da da bum, faster than my bubbles.” 

(that would be Pumped Up Kicks by Foster the People, in case you didn’t actually recognize the alternate lyrics).  🙂

Love that kid!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula @ thewilyweez
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 12:09:28

    Oh my…I think our boys would be great friends, and upon meeting would probably be able to take over the world. I know this is lame, but I just heard the pumped up kicks song for the first time 2 weeks ago…I’m way behind.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 13, 2011 @ 16:03:12

      Bring it! World domination it is!1

      I’ve been hearing that song for months, but on the alt rock stations. I think it just got mainstream enough to be played on all the other “mix” stations as well. Maybe that’s why?

      Reply

  2. Danielle Geer (@deathbycupakes)
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 12:40:45

    Too freaking sweet. I miss my boys at that age.

    Reply

  3. wagthedad
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 14:17:03

    Your son is vastly better behaved than my daughter. She would NEVER go to bed if we were watching a show like that. And if we actually did get her down, we would never find out the scores ourselves because she would be screaming so freaking much that we wouldn’t hear anything.

    She’s very sweet, too. Most days. Most of the time on most days. For about an hour or so each day, she’s sweet.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 13, 2011 @ 16:04:25

      Oh don’t worry, he has his moments. Many many moments. He usually saves them all up, actually, for right around dinner time so that his mom can slowly become a raving lunatic over an hour period.

      Reply

  4. mark @ yelling near you
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 15:07:08

    I like his lyrics to Pumped Up Kicks better than the real ones!

    Reply

  5. hoodyhoo
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 08:01:40

    there is no explanation for Chaz… that is the WORST example of gender reassignment surgery I have ever seen! He should sue his doctor’s ass off!

    Reply

  6. Jen
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 12:19:13

    Snaps up on indoctrinating your son to the glory that is DWTS. I now have my 9 year old addicted to ‘Castle’. I figure it will smooth the transition when Nathan Fillion moves in and becomes my love monkey.

    Reply

  7. wcdameron
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 20:54:54

    Congratulations to you for raising such a great kid. I say this as one of those boy/boy dancers……

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 13, 2011 @ 21:15:39

      Thanks Bill. I try my best to take every opportunity to inject some acceptance-of-all-people lessons into his life. He’s a really great kid. 🙂

      Reply

  8. elizabeth- flourishinprogress
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 22:33:52

    Love that kid!

    And I like his lyrics better than the original.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

