Ye Olde Show and Tell

Earlier in the week, I mentioned that Thoughtsy and I attended the MD Ren Fest this past weekend and whilst there enjoyed some entertainment.  The first show we saw was listed as “Bloody Drama (Comedy)” in the program.  How could we possibly avoid something with that title, right?

It was basically a group of guys doing improv.  I would liken it to a Medieval Who’s Line Is It Anyway.  They took suggestions from the audience members for types of food and then did a bunch of “A ____ walks into a bar” jokes.  The food that was suggested was cheese.

Demonstrating the ooohhs & aahhhs to be made by the audience.

The guys then took turns thinking of “A cheese walks into a bar” jokes.  The only one I could remember was this one:

A cheese walks into a bar.  The bartender says, “We don’t serve cheese here . . . but, well, eh I don’t know . . . maybe . . .”  The cheese say, “Hey, don’t string us along!”  Ba-dum-bum.

That's Bob.

Then the audience suggested a non-food item for the jokes:  a mime.  There was only one joke . . .  but it was enough:

2 mimes walk into a bar . . . nobody cared.

They also did a routine where one of the guys had to guess what type of activities the other guys were acting out, once again based on audience suggestions.  One was playing baseball, with the ball being a fish and the bat being a coin.  I can’t remember the others.

They were funny.  I found myself laughing quite a bit, but then again I used to like that Who’s Line show back in the day, so I was probably their target audience.  Plus, I had just finished a glass of wine, so that might have helped with my comedy appreciation.

The next show we saw was actually suggested by our pirate friend, Chris.  They were new to the Ren Fest this year, but apparently perform regularly in Minnesota (I think?).  The were called The Danger Committee.  (cool name, right?).  The players consisted of Rodolfo, with a lovely German accent (German?  Thoughtsy, was he German?), Nick (bald guy) and Jay (other guy).  That is actually  how Rodolfo described his compatriots, stating “that is how they are going to remember you anyway.”  So true, Rodolfo.  So true.

But before the show began, a warning:

 

Then, there was juggling:

There was knife throwing:

Getting really close

Maybe this is how he gets such a clean cut?

There was comedy:

This while singing Iron Man . . . dun dun dun, dun dun da-dun

 There was . . . . sexiness?

His "sexy pose?"

And risking the future ability to procreate:

Good thing that pouch is there for protection, eh?

And more comedy:

He seriously could not get this off his head for like 5 minutes.

Then there was the final act.  You really have to trust your co-worker with his knife skills to be the person balancing on that thing whilst holding your arm out towards the knives.  Yikes!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 12:34:26

    I L-O-V-E-D “Who’s Line Is It Anyway”! What the hell happened to Drew Carey? That dude was comic gold.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 27, 2011 @ 10:34:42

      That was a great show. Unfortunately, he lost a bunch of weight and a bunch of funny and is hosting the Price is Right. Those guys were hysterical. They need to revamp it. They do that with everything else, why not that show?

      Reply

  2. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 14:11:11

    I need to meet a pirate friend so I can throw around the phrase “my pirate friend, ____.”

    Reply

  3. RockyGrace
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 14:53:16

    Ren Fest? Improv? MIMES?

    *wakes up screaming*

    Reply

  4. lazysubculturalgirl
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 15:58:49

    “Who’s Line” was hilarious. I miss Colin Mochrie and Ryan Stiles — what can I say, I like guys with rubber faces. Proof that the best comedy comes from improv.

    The knife-throwing act traumatized me in absentia. Thanks for that. I’m now feeling decidedly more jittery about life in general.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 27, 2011 @ 10:39:11

      They were magic. I loved what those guys could do. It was a funny funny show. I miss that kind of funny on TV these days. And . . . now I sound like an old fogie.

      I’m sorry it traumatized you so. It didn’t bother me for some reason. Maybe we skip that part when you come next year? I wouldn’t want you shivering under the seats, mumbling to yourself. That would ruin some of the fun, methinks.

      Reply

  5. Charity Woosley
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 17:19:10

    Drew Carey is now the host of The Price is Right. He’s also no longer very funny. Also, I like that your ‘pirate friend’ recommended some shit. Awesome.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 27, 2011 @ 10:41:17

      I agree as to his current lack of funny.

      Well, as my pirate friend Chris would say . . . yeah, I’ve got nothing. But I just like saying it. He did recommend the show to us, though. He was kind of like a local, so we trusted his advice. He did not steer us wrong.

      Reply

  6. mark @ yelling near you
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 18:39:28

    I wonder if their health insurer knows of their act. That’d raise premiums. Looks like fun!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 27, 2011 @ 10:42:45

      It was very fun. How do you even get insurance for something like that?

      “Well, you see, I stand there while having sharp pointy things hurled in my general direction and they usually land right next to major body parts. So, what will my premium be again?”

      Seems unlikely, no?

      Reply

  7. Front Desk Ninja
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 06:45:09

    Who’s Line…. all I can remember and continuously YouTube is the skit with Richard Simmons.

    go, go now.

    I have to go and stop hot tubs from exploding.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 27, 2011 @ 13:55:29

      Oh dear mother of jeebus. Thank you. Thank you so much for that. That? Was fucking hysterical. I had tears. I never saw that one, so I am so glad you told me about it.

      Here is the link for anyone who is interested. It is fucking hilarious. Highly recommend it.

      Good luck with the hot tubs. Are they being attacked by terrorists?

      Reply

  8. thoughtsappear
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 08:11:31

    I forgot all about the mime joke!

    Hmmmm…I just remember the one guy had the Puss and Boots accent. So that’s Antonio Banderas-an. =)

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 27, 2011 @ 13:56:57

      Well, Antonio is from Spain, and I’m pretty sure Rodolfo was not. He was very . . . Eastern European looking. I’m gonna stick with German. 🙂

      Reply

  9. Trackback: An Afternoon with Thoughtsy « Misty's Laws

Leave a Reply

