Conversations with My 6 Year Old: Part Three

We were driving somewhere, and he asks me:

6:  Mom, why do cars have numbers that go up to like 200?  Does anyone ever drive that fast?

Me:  I don’t know why they do that.  Nobody drives that fast, normally.

6:  Oh, I know a possible reason . . . like when a lady gets pregnant and her belly gets really big and the daddy has to drive her to the hospital, maybe he would drive that fast to get her there.

Me:  Maybe, but I don’t think they would drive quite that fast.

6:  How fast did daddy drive you to the hospital when you were having me?

Me:  I’m not sure.  I was kinda busy getting ready to have a baby.

Later that night, he lost a tooth.  It was getting pretty late at night and he was still not in bed and I was teasing him by saying, “I hope the tooth fairy doesn’t come right now and see your light still on and pass by and go to another kid’s house who has already gone to sleep!”  So then he starts praying, out loud:

6:  Santa Claus (whispering to me:  I know he can hear me) Please make it so that the tooth fairy waits to come while I’m sleeping.  Please, Santa.  Please.  Please.  Please!!

I love that when my kid prays, he prays to Santa.  There is hope for my kids yet.  🙂

We were, once again, watching X Factor (yes, that is in fact the only thing I do with my son.  What?  It’s bonding time), and his favorite singer is about to come on . . . Astro.  In case you don’t watch the show (I so do not blame you), he is this 14 year old rapper, who is pretty much a punk kid.  My son loves him, though.  Anyway, he is about to start singing, and my son says this:

“Oh, it is ON!”

Then, as he starts singing, my son says, “if he was on Dancing with the Stars, he would definitely get 3 10s from the judges.”  See?  I don’t just watch X Factor with him.  We also watch Dancing with the Stars.  So :p

The episode we were watching just happened to be one I had previously taped that week, and we were watching it on a Sunday afternoon, and after a while, it seemed that my son had a revelation, so he turns to me and asks:

“Shouldn’t we be watching football right now?” 

Ah, he is a boy after all.  And the answer was quite obviously NO since the Ravens didn’t play until 4:00.  Pfft.  Silly boy.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thoughtsappear
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 10:04:56

    “Santa Claus (whispering to me: I know he can hear me)”—I love that he whispered that to you!

    Reply

  2. Kelly
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 10:39:18

    I want my kids to be that adorable. Can we set up a trade?

    Reply

  3. Leauxra
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 11:38:15

    What a coincidence! I pray to Santa, too! Although, to be honest, we’ve been on the outs for a while. Dude has not gotten me a winning lottery ticket, and I have been asking for YEARS.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 11:47:05

      Well, have you been a really good girl? Because I’m thinking maybe you’ve been on the naughty list and that might be hindering your chances at gifts. Might wanna work on that.

      Reply

  4. Paula @ thewilyweez
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 11:47:52

    Well shit, I think I’m going to start praying to Santa too, I think your son is on to something with that idea. I think most parents have a show they watch with their kids, X factor is way better than what E and I watch which is Billy The Exterminator, we keep it classy up in our house!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 11:49:08

      I’ve never even heard of Billy the Exterminator.

      It ended up being those types of shows because I was trying to find something that I had recorded that I thought might be safe for him to watch with me, and most of the non-competition reality shows or dramas I had taped were just too adult. These usually keep it clean because they are live and show at 8:00. And that’s how we ended up bonding over DWTS and X Factor. True story.

      Reply

  5. becca
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 11:59:41

    What a doll! We should just prearrange the marriage between him and my 4 year old daughter now, I’m sure they would have an endless amount of things to talk about it. 😉

    Reply

  6. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 15:12:02

    I’m pretty sure the Tooth Fairy falls under Santa’s jurisdiction, so that was the proper channel to go through. Smart kid!

    Reply

  7. Jen
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 15:32:57

    My son prays to Baby Jesus which makes me wet myself laughing. He doesn’t understand why I call him Ricky Bobby when he does it.

    Reply

  8. lazysubculturalgirl
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 19:56:10

    I don’t have a show I watch with my kids. Usually I use the TV to keep them out of my hair while sewing….

    It’s so cute that he still believes in Santa and the Tooth Fairy. Youngest, at seven, is already too cynical for that (but then, he has older brothers).

    The most mom-bonding moment I had over the tooth fairy was during a conversation with my old college roomie, where we discovered that we both give $2 for teeth because the tooth fairy is forgetful in our house and it takes a few days for her to show up…. The guilt, it is powerful.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 11:54:20

      Yeah, I’m just waiting for some smart ass kid in his class with older siblings to spill the beans. I imagine my youngest will not last as long as my oldest, belief time table wise.

      The new thing now is that the tooth fairy gives $2 bills. My son became fascinated with the concept of their existence after learning about them, so the hubs picked up a few to use as TF $.

      Reply

  9. Elliot
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 22:24:55

    Well your kid sounds totally rad. Can I have him, please?
    +followed

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 11:55:35

      Some days, he is decidedly un-rad, and on those days I would probably pay YOU to take him. But he is mostly rad, normally, so I think I’ll hang onto him for a while.

      Thanks for following. And welcome to my crazy world!

      Reply

  10. Wag the Dad
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 06:52:49

    All we ever watch together is the Simpsons. My daughter spends a lot of time deciding who we all are. It’s quite obvious, since we have three kids and two parents, that I’m Homer, even though I say that it isn’t fair that Homer can drink beer all the time, and I can’t. But what freaks her out usually is that she’s the oldest, whereas Bart is the oldest, and a boy, and our baby isn’t a girl. Recently she seems to have come to terms with it, though, because all of a sudden she’s Bart and Teo is Maggie.

    I hope that doesn’t have any ramifications for gender identity later on. Not that I care what she does with her gender either way, it’s just that sex change operations are pretty damn expensive.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 11:58:31

      Well, you would just have to make it clear to her that she is responsible for the payment of any operations, kind of like paying for her own grad school. Either that, or if you want to dissuade her from an operation, you can tell her that it is tradition for the parents to pay for a BRIDE’S wedding, but not a GROOM’S. Maybe the $$ will change her thinking. If not, then mazel tov!

      Wait, I thought you already drank beer all the time?

      Reply

  11. Grammy
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 08:21:20

    I can’t wait for my Grandbaby to say relentless adorable stuff to me!

    And PS…We should all pray to Santa a little more….just sayin’

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 11:59:26

      You might have a bit of time to wait . . .

      I personally prefer praying to Santa. I also prefer the way my son acts at the end of the year when he knows that “Santa is watching.” Hee.

      Reply

  12. Johi
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 17:27:43

    Um…. adorable. And I watch DWTS with my son. I want him to be open minded about his options. And I like the show.
    Thing 1 knows about Baby Jesus, but he is far more interested in discussing Santa. I’m surprised that he hasn’t constructed a Santa Shrine in his room.
    Thanks for your kind words on my blog yesterday. I’ll be thinking of you and your family in this time too. No matter how hard we try, it seems like we are never well prepared for the ugly stuff.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 12:02:20

      I would have no problem if my son became a dancer. Gay or straight. Also, I think they are athletes, really. And you have to be a very hard worker and very talented to make it a profession.

      Right after I wrote that, I got a call from the hubs to rush over to the hospital because she took a turn for the worse. We all gathered in the hospital room expecting the end, but she eventually came back and was talking and focusing on things by the time I left. They are now discussing what options they have and if hospice is viable. It is really emothionally draining. I really hope everything works out with your uncle. You are still in my thoughts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

