In Memoriam

I just want everyone to know that there will be no post today.  I was working on something this weekend about sex scandals, et al. but I will not be posting that, nor anything else this week.  I have no funny in me right now.

My mother in law passed away this past weekend after months of hospital stays, rehabs, testing, MRIs, medications and family prayers.  She finally let go of all the pain and struggles associated with this cold, dark world, and is at peace.  Although I am not religious and am not sure I even believe in God or Heaven, if they do exist, she is up there right now, because she was one of the kindest, sweetest, most decent people I have ever met.  I’m sure she would qualify for angel status immediately.  She was a second mother to me and will be missed deeply by all that knew her.

Her and my Father in Law have lived with my family for the past 10 years in their own basement apartment.  For years, I would send the boys downstairs to see their grandparents when I got home from work so that I could get dinner ready.  She was a doting grandparent, with a kind and giving heart.  She was always there when we needed her and was a loving presence in our home.  My kids loved her so much and are going to miss getting squeezes by grandma the most.  My heart aches for their loss as well.  

She leaves behind her husband, 5 children, with 5 sons/daughters in law, 1 brother & sister in law, 12 grandchildren and 6 great-grandchildren.  She will be greatly missed by all her family and everyone who knew her.  She was a really special lady, and I loved her so much. 

Rest in Peace, Pat.  We miss you, but know that it was your time and you are finally at peace. 

I will be out of commission this week with the arrangements and viewings/funeral and then thanksgiving, but will return next week with a post on monday, I hope.  I will also catch up with all your posts at that time as well.  Hope everyone has a happy holiday.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 10:58:40

    Oh Misty, I am so sorry for your loss. Do know that you and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. Big hugs, girl.

    Reply

  2. lisa
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 11:04:26

    Misty, I’m so sorry to hear about your mother-in-law. She sounds like an amazing woman. My thoughts and prayers go out to you and your family.

    Reply

  3. thoughtsappear
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 11:09:17

    I’m sorry to hear about your mother-in-law. You and your family are in my thoughts. ::Hugs::

    Reply

  4. Danielle Geer (@deathbycupakes)
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 11:57:37

    You have my deepest sympathies, Misty. You and your family are in my thoughts. I hope the knowledge that your mother in law is out of pain and has found peace comforts you at this time. Much love to you.

    Reply

  5. Team Suzanne
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 12:03:24

    Condolences to your family. Five children–what a legacy. I’m sorry for your family’s loss.

    Reply

  6. lazysubculturalgirl
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 12:23:25

    Aw, I’m sorry Misty. If there was any justice in the world, those living angels would get extra years for their kindness. We have a similar relationship with my in laws (although they live five minutes away, not in our basement) and it was so hard when my FIL passed. I hope you will be able to remember the good times over this holiday season. Big hugs…

    Reply

  7. Jen
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 12:36:52

    Oh Misty, I wish I was there to give you a hug and buy you gingerbread lattes. I am so very sorry for your loss; the short people and I will keep you in our thoughts this week. Much love, my sister.

    Reply

  8. wicked opinion
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 14:06:42

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Prayers for you and your family. Take care.

    Reply

  9. prttynpnk
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 15:02:37

    My thoughts are with your family. Please come back to us when you can.

    Reply

  10. RockyCat
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 15:52:07

    Please accept my condolences. I’m sorry.

    Reply

  11. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 17:39:29

    Misty, I’m so sorry. I’ll be thinking of you this week.

    Reply

  12. Jo
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 18:01:53

    I’m so sorry. I’m glad that you wrote her such a wonderful tribute, though, and she must have known just how loved she is. May you all find peace and comfort.

    Reply

  13. Jen
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 21:49:54

    My mom actually said today: “You don’t really KNOW these people; they’re all fake”. I had to tell her that y’all are the ‘truest’ people I know. So you had BEST be beliving that the short people and I have a care package headed your way: we truly do love you, Misty.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 21, 2011 @ 23:44:40

      That is such a sweet gesture. And I do consider you a very REAL friend. Thank you for your kindness. This made me cry so hard. I am so touched by your kind words and generosity. It means so much to have everyone’s support at this time. Really, I am so blessed to have all of these FAKE people in my life right now. Thank you.

      Reply

  14. hoodyhoo
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 06:38:41

    so sorry, baby, stay strong!

    Reply

  15. Grammy
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 08:28:47

    Much love and prayers to you Kiddo…

    Reply

  16. Heather Rose
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 13:52:58

    I’m so sorry for your loss, Misty. She sounds like a wonderful lady and I’m sure she’s hanging out with my grandpa in cool-people heaven right now.

    Reply

  17. becca
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 17:36:17

    I am so sorry for your loss. Condolences to you and yours.

    Reply

  18. The Good Greatsby
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 23:01:03

    Sorry for your loss. Look forward to seeing you back.

    Reply

  19. Jo
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 22:35:51

    Thinking of you, and hoping you’re doing well.

    Reply

  20. Johi
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 10:12:43

    Misty- I am deeply saddened to read this. It sounds like Pat was much loved and will be greatly missed by all of you. I wish I could give you a hug.

    I too had a horrible week. My Uncle passed away on Thursday from a sudden heart attack. He was 62 and had never even shown signs of being sick. I made a flying trip back to Iowa for the services and it was absolutely emotionally and physically draining. Then I had to come home and find some funny and write a sponsored post on my blog. That was tough. My heart truly goes out to you.

    Much love and many prayers and healing thoughts for you and your family. You are so loved in this blogging community. xxoo

    Dearest Pat, May You Rest in Peace in the Presence of Eternal Love.

    Love, Johi

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 27, 2011 @ 09:55:55

      Johi – I am so very sorry for your loss as well. Hopefully, both your uncle and my MIL are living it up somewhere, all carefree and happy to be released from their mortal coils. Sad times for all of us left behind, though. Stay strong and know that my thoughts are also with you and your family. Much love and big hugs to you!

      Reply

  21. mistyslaws
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 10:01:12

    Thank you to all of you for your kind words and condolences. It really means so much to have the support of so many of you out there. I feel that in this short time that I have been in this blogging world, I truely have found another family and it means so much to have you all in my life right now. I am honored and grateful for the outpouring of support.

    Although my heart is still heavy, I am ready to jump back in with posts and visits to your blogs. I will try to bring the funny. 🙂

    Much love to you all!!

    Reply

  22. elizabeth- flourishinprogress
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 16:55:52

    I am so sorry for your loss, Misty. She must have been an amazing woman who treated you and the rest of her extensive family with love and kindness and grace.

    May she rest in peace.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

