Conversations with My 6 Year Old: Part 4

We were watching some movie with a red robot being chased by some other robot, and he says this:

If that guy was being chased by bees, they wouldn’t be able to see him.  Bees can’t see red.  That’s a fact!

Who am I to argue with facts?

He went on a field trip to the Science Center, and apparently they watched some video about beavers.  Being very pleased with himself, he told me that he said this to one of the mom chaperones at the time:

Is the beaver going to have the body of a beaver, and the head of Justin Beaver?

Sitting at dinner, he starts singing this little ditty:

I’m almost done with my wine and whiskey . . .

To which I was like, “what the what?”  I’m really hoping those are song lyrics he heard somewhere that he was just repeating, and not that he is trying to tell me he needs a refill.

He was being really sweet one night, and kept hugging me and telling me he loved me (to which, of course, my first thought was, “what did you do?”), and at one point he is hugging me and says:

I love you mommy.  Can you unmarry daddy and then marry me?

I was like, “Um, no.  That is so not how this marriage thing works.”  I mean, unless we are trying to replicate a Greek tragedy, but I’ll pass on that, my little Oedipus in training!

And apparently he is into this play on words thing lately, because we were talking about a book fair that is happening at his school, and I asked him if he gets to go, and he says:

NO.  Only the 2nd graders get to go.  And that’s NOT book FAIR!

He just thinks he’s so freaking clever, that one.  Stinker.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Rose
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 10:19:51

    The book fair one is pretty good, actually. Does Bill Cosby still do that Kids Say The Darndest Things show? I miss him and his chunky child-molester sweaters…

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Dec 02, 2011 @ 10:54:30

      Ha! Child molester sweaters. Good one.

      I don’t think that show is on anymore, but now that you pointed out the sweaters, my kid is definitely NOT going on that show!

      Reply

  2. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 11:21:14

    “That’s not book fair” is gold! Sounds like you have a vaudevillian in the making.

    Reply

  3. lisa from insignificant at best
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 12:31:22

    LMFAO! Your kid sounds awesome. I want to meet him.

    Reply

  4. Jen
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 14:32:51

    I love your son. And not in a creepy, Mary Kay LaTourneau kinda way.

    Reply

  5. Wag the Dad
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 08:44:17

    You have an awesome son. But I know where he got the wine and whisky line from. Just like that kid from A Christmas Story didn’t get the F-Dash-Dash-Dash word from his best friend.

    BTW in reference to your recent comments on wag: for the record, I have always assumed that you are brunette.

    Reply

  6. Pamela D Hart
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 12:06:17

    Out of the mouth of babes!

    The book fair play on words was awesome! He’s 6! That’s great!

    My youngest (who is now 14) always wanted to marry me too. He out grew it. Says now that he’ll never marry, or that he’ll marry and never have kids. Only time will tell. He’s actually pretty great, for a teen! 😉

    P.S. Found you via The Bright Yellow Balloon blog.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Dec 02, 2011 @ 11:15:45

      I remember when my little brother was young and he thought that him and I were supposed to get married when we grew up. Kids just don’t get the whole marriage thing, apparently.

      Thanks for stopping by!! 🙂

      Reply

  7. cornfedgirl
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 18:04:22

    Total cuteness. Maybe I could borrow him for a week and see what he can teach my Things?

    Reply

  8. lazysubculturalgirl
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 21:36:35

    Only my youngest wanted to marry me (when he was about 5). The other two could take me or leave me, I guess. Your boy sounds verbally precocious — I was as well, but I gave my mom a lot more grief. I told her she had “Saggy Baggy Elephant Knees,” among other things. Of course, the joke’s on me because in middle age I now have saggy baggy elephant knees. I’m grateful now that I never read that book to my kids.

    Reply

  9. Paula @ thewilyweez
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 10:00:55

    This entire post is a perfect example of why every now and then little kids really can saw awesome things. Your little one sounds like a riot!

    Reply

  10. mark
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 16:08:09

    “…NOT book FAIR,” is hilarious. My favourite is Justin Beaver though. He is a beaver.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

