It’s a Mad Mad Mad Mad World

Ok, is it me, or does it seem like the world has gone completely crazy lately and nobody seems to be pointing out the madness?  Oh, so it is just me . . . maybe I’m the crazy one.  Fine, you want examples? 

Exhibit A:

Whoop-sie!

The above ad is an actual advertisement that I found while I was perusing my weekly coupon circulars to cut out my .25 off Downy coupon.  (No, I am not an old crazy coupon lady.  Not yet, anyway.  Oh, shut it!).  Ahem, anyway . . . . 

Is it just me, or could you have happily gone your entire life without witnessing Whoopie Goldberg’s “Oops, I just pissed my pants” face?  Still just me?  Damn.  Ok, then.

Exhibit B:

Microphone hands?

Sing it, soul sister!

This is Patrick Monahan from Train, performing on the live season finale of The Biggest Loser last week.  Apparently, Train now has a new theme song they wrote for the show and they appeared on the season finale to perform it.  Here’s the thing . . . am I the only one who thinks Pat Monahan has morphed into Edward Scissorhands?  I mean seriously, that first picture screams “can I please cut your bushes into cute woodland creatures?”
 
 
Exhibit C:
 

When show girls attack?

This one was shot by the hubs.  Yep, we are a family of picture takers when seeing whacked out shit going on around us.  Anyway . . . he saw this in a Chicago airport.  He was just mindin’ his bidness, when a troupe of dancing show girls came parading past.  He has no idea what their purpose was or what the occasion was, but decided to document the craziness whilst it happened. 

So, I repeat . . . am I the only one who thinks the world has gone mad?  Has anyone else seen anything completely bizarre with no explanation and might agree with me about this whole crazy shitbug world we are apparently living in?  Or am I just losing my mind and everything is copacetic? 

Crazy face

It’s me, isn’t it?  You’re gonna call the guys with the white coats now aren’t you?  Eh, I need a break anyway . . . a padded room doesn’t sound so bad right about now.  Bring it.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jo
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 09:32:54

    I’m sorry to inform you that it is NOT just you, and that crazy is becoming the new norm. Actually ape-shit-what-the-hell-were-you-thinking-crazy is becoming the new norm. No, wait….ape-shit-what-the-hell-were-you-thinking-are-you-insane? crazy is becoming the new norm. Wait…maybe it’s are-you-out-of-your-fucking-mind crazy…
    Oh, well, who cares? I might just start feeling normal.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:07:27

      Yeah, I figured as much. I feel like if I wanna start fitting in I better start acting as whackado as all these people out there. Then again, if I remain “normal” I would finally be all unique and edgy, right? Hmmm, must contemplate this plan.

      Reply

  2. Leauxra
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 11:14:07

    The first few times I saw commercials for Poise I didn’t get it. I was like, HUH? What are they advertising? It was just these older women, and one would laugh and then make the “Woops” face. Huh?

    Then one day, the light flicked on. “THEY’RE PEEING THEMSELVES!” I shouted, and I had to tell everyone. “Hey! Those ladies are PEEING themselves!”

    So yes. The world is freaking ridiculous.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:09:59

      Yeah, I totally got that commercial the first time I saw it and was completely annoyed at how ridiculous that was. “Hey, look, I’m laughing and I’m old, so now I’m sitting in a puddle. Oops!” Why on earth would you want anyone to know you just peed yourself. Damn, girl. Some things don’t need to be shared with the class!

      Reply

      • Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
        Dec 22, 2011 @ 21:37:45

        I suppose the idea is that for incontinence pads, a famous spokesperson will make people think, “If he/she needs them, then I shouldn’t be embarrassed either.” But, Whoopi Goldberg is not that person. She has farted on national television multiple times, she’s not making anything seem normal and ok.

        Reply

  3. Jen
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 13:16:11

    And have you noticed how the percussionist from ‘Train’ looks like Howie Mandel? No?. . .just me?

    I saw a ‘Weekly Whacked’ today and almost stabbed myself with a protractor that I didn’t have my camera! Girl on campus wearing a magician’s cape, some sort of fucking animal ears, and full clownface makeup being led around on a collar and leash by some dude in baseball uniform pants and a pirate’s shirt. It was truly magical.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:11:18

      I actually did not notice that, but I’m sure I won’t be able to see him as anything else now that you mentioned it.

      Doesn’t your phone have a camera function? You have truly disappointed me today, daniel-son. Truly.

      Reply

  4. prttynpnk
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 13:50:27

    I have been debating a lengthy blog post of ‘why did you wear that to Disneyworld’ in the mode of ‘Weekly whacked’ ……..things are totally going over the edge with people!

    Reply

  5. hoodyhoo
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 07:08:18

    Please, girl, this ball o’ dirt has gotten so full of weirdos that I worry when I DON’T see 7 fucked-up things before breakfast! What happened, weirdos? Are y’all sick?

    Reply

  6. Grammy
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 08:28:15

    It’s you……ok fine, it’s me too. 🙂

    Reply

  7. thoughtsappear
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 10:51:17

    It’s not just you. I’ve been confused by Whoopie’s ad for quite awhile now.

    Reply

  8. Becca
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:50:45

    I am loving that Whoopie ad! Loving it! And yeah there’s total craziness happening right up to Christmas, and then immediately following it through New Year’s eve. Brace yourself and get a helmet cuz it’s dangerous out there!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:15:38

      Then I truly will look special. And probably be on someone else’s blog about crazy people walking around in helmets . . . hey! Are you just setting me up so you can get a picture of me to post? Not nice, Bec. You are not supposed to take advantage of us special people, damnit!

      Reply

  9. lazysubculturalgirl
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 15:21:06

    It’s not just you. And I’m trying to comfort myself with it’s not just me either. Things have gotten strange and are likely to get stranger. On the plus side, some things never change — like death and taxes and the fact that there’s never enough gravy.

    Reply

  10. Kernut the Blond
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 20:02:45

    Oh no, it’s not you. I think the number of normal people is becoming dangerously low.

    Of course, this is from a gal who sends a Holiday Letter From The Cat every year – in LOL Speak.

    But really, I’m fine.

    Reply

  11. cornfedgirl
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 22:49:22

    A.)I went to Art School. Try to find a “normal” person in an Art School.
    B.) Who defines “normal”?
    3.)There is a whole lotta crazy around me. I think I prefer it that way. Actually, maybe I’m the crazy one.
    78.) You know you like the crazy. Don’t deny it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

