Momma always said, “Get the Money Up Front!”

I have a confession to make.  This is my confession . . . just when I thought I said all I could say . . .  Oh, sorry.  Where was I?  Oh yeah.  Confession time.  I am an absolutely horrible self promoter.  Why?  What did you think I was gonna confess to?

I have a very hard time trying to promote, not only myself, but my blog.  I am also horrible at accepting praise.  Mostly, this is because of my horribly debilitating low self-esteem, but also because of my self-image issues.  I just never feel like I’m good enough, hence, I don’t really put myself out there.  In real life, I am also painfully shy.  Now, I have gotten over a lot of these traits over the years, and I am much more self confident than, say, teenaged Misty, but I still struggle with these issues all the time.

Despite that, I am hereby going to do something that goes against my very nature . . . I am going to whore out this blog like a high priced call girl.  Hey baby, want a date?  Oh, wait.  Maybe that’s more Pretty Woman than Heidi Fleiss.  I always get all my whores confused.

There is this award.  It is called the Bloggie.  I have heard it compared to the Oscars of blog awards.  That could be total bunk, but I choose to believe it.  It’s possible it’s more like the Golden Globes, though.  Everyone gets drunk and nobody really cares who wins.  Yeah, that sounds more likely.

It is a nominated and voted on by the public kind of thing.  There are multiple categories and you can vote for numerous blogs in each.  I went on there today and nominated a bunch of my favorites.  I plan to return when the official voting opens in a couple weeks. 

So, what I would like for you to do is to go vote for your favorites.  I am also asking (gulp), that you vote for mine.  Hey, have I mentioned how pretty you look today?  And how smart you are.  And your blog is really hysterical.  I just think you are the bestest ever!

Great.  Now I am a whore.

Obviously, only vote for me if you think I deserve it, but it would be super exciting to win that kind of accolade, especially since it’s voted on by ma peeps!  You could nominate me in the Best New Blog category (since I just started last year), or the Best Kept Secret category (since nobody but a very select few even know I exist), or even Most Humorous. 

Make sure you read the rules at the top of the Bloggies page, just above the nomination part.  You can only vote once, but you can include numerous sites on each category.  There are even categories for best European, Asian and Australian/NZ blogs (can you guess who I voted for in those?).   🙂

Anyway, please go vote.  Support the blogs that you love.  Show them that love.  Even if it isn’t me (it’s going to be me, though, right?  Right?). 

The current nomination phase ends on January 15th, so make sure you go now!

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Seraphinalina
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 08:55:49

    I’m not a good self promoter either. I hate the feeling of bragging and yet it seems to be what I need to do to succeed at my workplace. I can’t be bothered, the corporate ladder isn’t that important to me.

    I will certainly check that out.

    Reply

  2. susielindau
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 10:21:45

    I am getting better at it. I am one of those people who looks around to see what others are doing, then I dive in. I always ask myself, “will anyone care?” before posting.
    Love your term “Blog whoring.” I use it too!

    Reply

  3. addtova
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 10:59:37

    I had never heard of the bloggies before, and this year they are everywhere! Don’t feel bad asking for our votes, we wouldn’t be here if you weren’t fun to read 🙂

    Reply

  4. Charity
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 13:30:19

    I’m not very good at that either. That being said, how awesome would it be for someone I stalk to win a bloggie?!?! AWESOME!

    I shall promote ya~!

    Reply

  5. Charity
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 13:44:06

    I voted for you!!!!

    Reply

  6. Becca
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 13:47:27

    Honey you’re super fabulous and don’t forget it for one moment! Not one! I’ll jump over there and vote for you today only because you totally voted for me under Best Asian blog right… of course you did, because you’re that fabulous. 🙂

    xoxo

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 15, 2012 @ 15:21:30

      Thanks, babe! You are good for my self-esteem. 🙂

      Um, I think you might not qualify for that one . . . you know, not blogging from Asia and all that. But good try!

      Reply

  7. wcdameron
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 14:01:17

    You’re a winner, you whore!

    I love reading your blog. Just remember to vote for me in the “funny, gay, over forty, under fifty New Englander, been married twice (once to a woman)” category. It’s a very big field of contenders….

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 15, 2012 @ 15:18:43

      Aww, you always know all the sweetest things to say to a girl, don’t you?

      I will be sure to suggest that category for next year. I can imagine there would be some stiff competition.

      Reply

  8. Jen
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 14:59:49

    I voted for you twice as I have two e-mail accounts. BOOYAH!

    Reply

  9. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 15:52:00

    I hate to do self-promotion and am quite shy, as well. Off to nominate you!

    Reply

  10. mark
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 16:54:16

    Bloggie or not, you’re a winner and self promotion is tricky – I’ve seen it done well and I’ve seen it done terribly. I’m like you – uncomfortable with it. Maybe 2012 is the year to change that.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 15, 2012 @ 15:23:45

      So, was this well or terribly?

      Reply

      • mark
        Jan 17, 2012 @ 14:25:53

        I’d say well. One terrible example is posting mediocre posts frequently and then tweeting these over and over and over again to try and lure in readers. Your posts are neither mediocre nor do you use twitter to self promote. Keep up the good work!

        Reply

  11. Mandi E.
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 07:45:35

    I tell myself that I hate shameless self-promotion because I don’t care enough about what other people think to go get me some new readers. But if that were true, I wouldn’t whore my blog over facebook or include my URL whenever I comment on a blog I follow. Kudos to you for not being deeply in denial like I am. You have been upvoted. Times 3. Because I’m not in denial over my love of cheating.

    Reply

  12. thoughtsappear
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 08:21:38

    My chick on the side said she got one on the way…. I guess I can stop singing now and go vote for you. Good luck!

    Reply

  13. Charity
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 09:53:01

    I voted twice, too — with my two email accounts. I need a vote…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

