Spreading the Love (Not like that!)

So, it seems as if recently I have been the recipient of a few awards.  Most notably, this Liebster thing that is currently making the rounds.  And whilst I greatly appreciate any form of flattery, as I have a very shallow pool of self-esteem (not baby pool depth, people, think . . . small indentation in the grass after a steady rainfall, with the sun quickly trying to evaporate that sucker.  That’s the depth of my self-esteem), I am feeling a little overwhelmed with the sheer volume of these things.  However, any boost to my ego is a fantastic treat indeed, and I shall do my best to graciously accept these accolades from my peers.  I’d like to thank the academy . . .  Ahem.  Sorry, wrong acceptance speech.  Moving on . . .

Really, though, just the fact that I survived my birthday unscathed and recently was inducted into Noa‘s League of Funny Bitches has me on a high these last few weeks.  So imagine my surprise and delight to have received a shit ton plethora of awards this last week.  One of which was actually on my birthday!  Holla.

The first award was from Becca over at I’m Pretty Sure That, and it is called the “Tell me About Yourself Award.”  (She’s rad and totally laid up with a leg cast because, well, she’s klutzy . . . but I still love her!).  Basically I have to tell y’all 5 things about me that you don’t know and then pass this award along to 3 other bloggers that I want to know something about.  I feel a bit deja vu about this award, and although I am insanely honored that Becca thinks enough of me to give me this award (and wants to know anything about me), I already told y’all some stuff about myself just a couple weeks ago in this post.  I don’t think I have anything else to give at this point!  So, why don’t you just go on back there, read all that good stuff, and then come back, k?  Cool.  (What do you mean “cheating?”  That is a dirty dirty word!  I am an attorney . . . I wouldn’t even know how to be dishonest.  Pfft!).

I will pass it onto 3 other bloggers I want to know somethings about . . .

Jules of goguiltypleasures.  I just recently discovered her and her slap bracelets and I think she is da bomb!  She loves her some Glee, has willingly redepicted a slushee in the face using her own face as the subject, and her dog is named Uncle Jesse.  How can you get cooler than that?  Since she is a new acquisition in my trophy case blogroll, I would love to hear a few things about her.

Brett of The Transformed Non-Conformist.  Brett is also a somewhat new acquire.  He has been commenting on my blog for a bit now, and I have enjoyed visiting his blog.  He is a former daredevil who wanted to be Lee Majors and has a budding love affair/engagement with another blogger that has been so adorably fascinating to watch happen “live” on their blogs.  Although a recent post had people coming out of the woodwork singing his non axe-murderous praises and giving lots of details about him, I would like to know more.  Share with the class, Brett.

Mark of Yelling Near You (Not At You).  Mark lives in Canada with his lovely wife Bitsy (who sometimes shares in blogging duties) and his adorable dog Louis.  He is working on cleaning up his office and has been posting status updates.  Although the last couple weeks have found him out of commission (possibly sick), his beautiful pictures, stories of Bitsy almost beating up the neighbors and/or other drivers, and the weird and crazy things he sees while out and about (near and dear to my heart), are entertaining and usually hysterical.  But I want more!!  Come back to us, Mark.  Give us the goods.

The next award I received three times!!  From 3 different bloggers that I hold in the highest of esteem.  I received the Liebster Award from Red of Doesn’t Speak Klingon (Brett’s fiancé), Ninja of Front Desk Ninja and Charity of Metamorphosis.

The Liebster Award is an award given to a blogger who is “beloved” by the blogger who awarded said award.  So, this means that I am beloved by the above 3 bloggers.  And with all blogging awards, there are rules that must be followed in accepting the award.  Here are the rules:

1.  Link back to the bloggers that awarded you the award.

2.  Choose 3 other bloggers to pass the award to . . . who have less than 200 followers.

So, I have fulfilled number 1, so let’s move on to the deserving bloggers that I will pass this very prestigious, and not at all made up, award to . . .

Dani from Facebooking from the Edge.  Dani is hysterical, inappropriate, klutzy and even more of Karma’s bitch than I am.  Never doubt that at some point in all of her posts, she will throw in a highly shocking and vision scarring picture, cuz that’s just how she rolls.  She was abducted by her husband Dan, and forcibly moved to Northern NY from her home in sunny Cali, and she talks about her new and exciting life . . . staying home all day with her 2 little dogs, visiting the local grocery store and either offending everyone around her or somehow injuring herself in the process of shopping.  That is if she isn’t falling down in front of her apartment or just hurting herself by getting out of bed.  Grace is her middle name.  Go check out her site, as she is one funny bitch.

Heather from Desperate for Something.  Heather doesn’t like Rick Santorum.  No, I mean she really really doesn’t like him.  But her site isn’t all about politics and the crazy politicians trying to take away all of our rights.  Nope . . . she talks about being awkward at yoga, trying to survive her wedding planning and her extreme and awkward experiences with the TSA.  She also really doesn’t like them.  Go give her some love, cuz she really needs it right now!!  She’s also pretty damn funny and lives in my state, so she’s got that going for her as well.

And finally . . . I’ve gotta give the last spot to my girl Carrie over at Cannibalistic Nerd.  She passed along some love to me a couple weeks ago by asking me to tell her 3 things about myself, which was pretty cool.  So I’m going to return the favor and award her this award.  Lest you think I’m just doing it because I think I owe her something, alas you would be incorrect.  I think Carrie is beyond funny.  Her posts make me giggle all the time.  She has reformed movie concepts to shorten those suckers to a much more manageable 5 minutes, she writes about the ridiculousness of her 2 dogs and talks about the adventures of the Super Friends every saturday morning.  Along with other random crazy stuff.  I love the way her mind works and the things she comes up with for her posts.  Go show her some love immediately, if not sooner!!

Phew, that was a lot of awards and spreading of a whole lot of love.  But wait!  That’s not all. I got one more award.  This one does not fit into any category, and in fact was wholy created just for yours truly by the incredibly awesome and most recent award winning blogger, Vesta Vayne from The Cowardly Feminist.  She was just awarded a very prestigious Bloggie for the Best New Weblog.  So it’s like she’s royalty or something.  And this is what she gave me:

Now for Award #2 – Misty of Misty’s Laws. I know y’all have seen her feet around the internet. I give Misty the Facts of Life Award. What the hell is that, you ask? Well lemme tell you. Misty is like the entire cast of Facts of Life rolled into one person. She’s Blair-fabulous, Jo-tough, Tootie-sassy, and Natalie-funny, with a dollop of Mrs. Garrett wisdom thrown in for good measure (wow, now that I think about it, Facts of Life was all about stereotyping, huh?). Anyhoo, there is only one song to go with this award, and y’all know what it is – (And this is where she posted a video of the opening theme song of The Facts of Life.  I love you all, though, and won’t get it in your head all day, UNLIKE VESTA!! I still love her, though.  And I really love that this made-up award did not have a requirement to pass it on, because, dude . . . I’m tired).

Anyway, I am truly honored to be thought of so highly by so many of my peer bloggers . . . so much, that they gave me all of these accolades.  I am humbled and grateful.  Thank you all!

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 09:14:44

    Well deserved! And you are WAAAAAAY more of a tootie than a Blair. Just sayin’. 🙂

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 07, 2012 @ 10:50:00

      I always thought of myself as more Jo-like, actually. Kinda tough as nails and sarcastic, but with a heart of gold (you know, like a movie-hooker!).

      Reply

  2. Brett Minor
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 12:58:21

    Congratulations. You have racked them in this week.

    Thank you for my award. I will be sure to handle it carefully.

    Reply

  3. Charity
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 14:08:02

    <3.

    All I have to say, is at least you didn't get the Boob Blogger award from Vesta, like I did! LOL!!

    Reply

  4. Becca
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 14:39:45

    You’re so deserving Toostie.. I mean Blair… I mean MISTY 🙂 ENJOY IT!

    Reply

  5. Heather Rose
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 15:33:29

    I love this more than Rush Limbaugh loves oxycontin 🙂 And at least you’re spreading love and not Santorum, cause that’s just gross.
    But seriously, holy crap. No one has ever given me an award before. And I totally dont have to tell anyone that I paid you off, right? Thanks darling – Love you!

    Reply

  6. gojulesgo
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 17:55:42

    Bravo!!!! This clearly shows that you, too, are da bomb!! So glad I discovered your blog 🙂

    And…THANK YOU!!!! Although you might be sorry what you wished for 😉

    Reply

  7. Mayor Gia
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 18:29:23

    Congrats!

    Reply

  8. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 22:01:04

    Thanks for the mention and the kind words! You are going to need a bigger virtual trophy case!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 07, 2012 @ 10:55:24

      You’re welcome. And I know, right? This hutch I have is getting all filled up. I might have to make a whole room . . . I’m sure one of my sons would be willing to sacrifice their’s for their mom’s fame displays, right? Because of the love.

      Reply

  9. Vesta Vayne
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 11:05:59

    Look at you, sweeping the blog awards! Well deserved and congrats!

    Reply

  10. lazysubculturalgirl
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 14:51:58

    You deserve every one of those awards! Isn’t it nice to feel loved?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

