Testing, testing . . .

This is not a real post.  This is a post that has come about based on the fact that numerous people are telling me they are either unable to comment on my site at all, or they are forced to log in either under Facebook or twitter or another email address not corresponding to their gravitar or WordPress account.

I assumed this was a WordPress issue across the board and was hoping they would fix it and all would be well.  I had not heard back from my many inquiries that I have made since last Friday, so assumed they were just bombarded with emails and that was why they were lagging behind on their answers.

Well, I have finally gotten a response.  And it seems that it is not across the board.  It also seems that there is nothing wrong with my site, according to support:

I took a look and everything seems to be working properly. They should be able to comment without an account. Otherwise ask them to send us a screenshot through this e-mail address:  support@wordpress.com.

So, that is what I am asking.  Obviously, all is not working properly, or I would not be getting emails from everyone telling me that they cannot comment, or having people comment but having to approve them anew because they are submitting the comment with a different email that they have not previously had to use.  Obviously, this is all a big pain in the ass for you, and I do not want anyone to have to be frustrated just trying to leave a comment, or alternately not be able to do so at all.  Especially when there are prizes to be won!!  🙂

Accordingly, I am asking that those who have not been able to comment, please attempt to do so again.  If, once again, you are unable to comment, take a screen shot of the page that denies you (alt+PrtScn), and please email it to the above address. 

Also, even if you have been able to comment using a different email or account, please try to comment the way you normally are able and when you are denied, take a screenshot and email it to them.

Please help me out with this everyone.  I don’t know what you are seeing and I need them to know what is going on, since they are not seeing a problem from their end. 

I live for your comments.  I love all of you peeps and the fact that you want to say something is invaluable to me.  I don’t want to lose that or for you all to get discouraged and just go away.  That would break my cold dead heart.  Don’t make me beg!!!

Ahem.  Sorry about that.  I hate it when I get all gushy and demanding.

But really, if you could help me out with this, I would really appreciate it. 

Hopefully, with a group effort, we can get this all sorted out in time for more hilarious posts from yours truly.  Because if the problem persists, I may have to suspend my upcoming planned posts until we can resolve it, because I don’t want anyone to not have access as they should.  And I know you don’t want to miss out on all my brilliant hilarity, now do you??  Don’t do that to yourselves!!  It will only hurt you.   :~]

Thanks everyone.  And please let me know if you get any response from them as well.

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erica
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 11:09:14

    Testing…. Testing…

    Reply

  2. gojulesgo
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 11:09:40

    Gah that is sucktastic! If I ever get an error, I will definitely send a screen shot! Fingers crossed!! ‘Cause I want those band-aids. 😉

    Reply

  3. wcdameron
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 11:32:33

    Look at me, I’m as helpless as a kitten up a tree.
    And I feel like I’m clinging to a cloud,
    I don’t understand, I get Misty just holding your hand, or blog….

    I got an error message first time:

    “That email address is associated with an existing WordPress.com (or Gravatar.com) account. Please click the back button in your browser and then log in to use it.”

    Normally, I can just type my e-mail address and it fills in, but this time, I had to click the little wordpress button and then log in…….I will send a screenshot to the support e-mail address.

    Reply

  4. Jana
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 11:37:14

    Check baby check baby one two three four
    Check baby check baby one two three
    Check baby check baby one two
    Check baby check baby one

    All I wanna do is zoom-a-zoom-zoom-zoom
    and a poom-poom – JUST SHAKE YA RUMP

    Did ma test work?

    Reply

  5. red
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 12:23:33

    Well, I can comment, but I never had the issue.

    …or I thought I could comment. I’ll check when I click “post comment”!

    Reply

  6. Andrea
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 14:14:59

    I am relieved that your posting abilities did not suffer, as that would’ve been a lot of funny that i’d have missed….commencing comment attempt in 3,2,1…

    Reply

  7. Seraphinalina
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 15:15:56

    Hmm, I know I’ve been a bit spotty at commenting lately with my in laws around, but I haven’t run across any problems. I hope you sort it all out.

    Reply

  8. Kitten Thunder's Girl
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 15:45:29

    Testing…testing…

    Reply

  9. Kitten Thunder's Girl
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 15:46:44

    Last week it kept telling my I wasn’t logged in to WordPress, which happens sometimes. But what I had to say wasn’t funny enough to justify going to log in and coming back. Sorry.

    Reply

  10. Johi Kokjohn-Wagner
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 19:06:15

    Nope- not with gravitar.

    Reply

  11. cornfedgirl
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 19:07:31

    This one is with WordPress

    Reply

  12. cornfedgirl
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 19:08:22

    I didn’t even know that I HAD a WordPress account….. Maybe I should try Twitter because I KNOW that I’m not on there.

    Reply

  13. Brett Minor (@brettminor)
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 19:33:59

    I have been having this problem on all WordPress blogs for the last week. You must physically log in before hitting submit or you will lose everything you typed. I have to log into the Twitter icon and then it is good to go.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 23, 2012 @ 10:55:35

      I had the issue on a couple sites as well, so maybe it’s not just me. Problem is that the WordPress people are not being very helpful. They are all like “what problem?” and it took them 3 days to even return my email from Tuesday. Not pleased.

      Reply

  14. hoodyhoo
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 07:27:55

    Here is me trying…

    Reply

  15. hoodyhoo
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 07:28:29

    … and there is me succeeding! What do I win?

    Reply

  16. thoughtsappear
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 08:43:40

    Clay said he was having trouble the other day with my blog. Why can’t all the blogging platforms just get along?

    Reply

  17. Lisa
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 23:16:00

    Testing testing comment comment

    Reply

Leave a Reply

