Welcome to 2007!!

I have two boys, aged 3 and 6.  And even though they are boys, I have never previously bought them any gaming systems.  I never got them an Xbox 360 or Playstation or Wii.  No Nintendo DS or any handheld games.  The only thing I got my oldest son was a V-Reader, but that is more of a story reader type thing.

I’ve been trying to avoid the inevitable.  The glassy eyed staring at a TV for all hours of the day, playing games in which they are chasing and shooting and blowing up other characters on the screen.  They are boys.  I know that eventually they are going to want to play those types of violent shooting killing games.  Is it too much to ask that we delay that until they are teenagers?  That’s not unreasonable, right?

Well, recently my oldest has been interested in computer games.  First, it started with some basic free games he played on the computer while his dad was working in his office.  Soccer or Tetris type games.  Nothing violent and nothing that involved playing other people through the computer.  But recently, he has become obsessed with these games.  He wakes up in the morning and it is the first thing he wants to do.  When I check to see what types of games he is playing, I see that he is playing something where a shark is leaping out of the water to kill people in boats and blow up ships.  (To which he tells me that he is trying to avoid the boats with people and if he does blow them up, he is only getting the bad guys).  I see banner ads on the bottom of the screen which say “Do you like this game  YES  NO” which my son would never know was an ad that would take him to another site if he clicks on it.  I fear him finding a game where there is someone else out there that he is playing against.  I fear predators.  And I fear he is obsessed with being on the computer.

So, the hubs and I decided it was finally time to get a system.  We needed to be able to control our son’s playing time and what he was playing.  We thought maybe for my son’s birthday in June.  But while the hubs was away last week, I realized how obsessed my kid was with the computer games and realized that we needed to get a system immediately.  I happened to mention this to a colleague who was moving and she told me that she would be willing to sell me her Wii because she never used it anymore.  She not only had the Wii, but the Fit and a bunch of games and she gave me all of it for a very good deal.

So, as of Sunday afternoon, we finally were part of the Wii-nation.  Woo-hoo!!  We are so current and with the times, y’all.  I might have to celebrate by doing the Dougie and wearing my Jams!  My son has already been playing all of the games, and of course his favorite is the shooting tanks game.  Great.  Problem solved, right?  I personally like the fishing game and the riding the cows game (see how technical I am now?) and even the pool game, but I sort of suck at that one.  Oh well, I only just started.  I am looking forward to trying some of the Fit stuff and even the Zumba I borrowed from my secretary.  Maybe I can play my way to a smaller ass along with keeping my son from becoming a computer playing zombie.  Win-win?

Although, according to the hubs when I talked to him this morning, we are of course now having issues with the stupid thing.  Maybe because it has been sitting unplayed for a year and it needs to be updated/cleaned/wiped?  I don’t know.  But a couple of the games are not working, including one completely brand new plastic sealed one, so I know it’s not the games.  Hmmm.  Anyone else have any issues with their Wii and any tips they can share?  I know I’m pretty much the last person on the planet to get one of these things so I’m hoping all of you more experienced people out there (yes, I just called you all Wii-sluts), can help a sister out.  My son is already obsessed with the thing and I would hate to have to give it back because it doesn’t work so much.  I mean . . . we already made our Mii’s and everything!!

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. red
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 14:41:20

    I love Donkey Kong! …oh wait, it’s not the 80s anymore?

    I’m so not a gamer. The only time I play is at my sister’s house so she can beat someone. Her husband and son are much better than she is, and frankly, she’s a sore loser. I don’t care, so I play and she wins – I’m not trying to lose; I just suck.

    Sorry I’m no help! I hope the others have more experience.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 29, 2012 @ 12:58:56

      I loved Donkey Kong!! And Super Mario Bros. and Pitfall and Pac Man and . . . can you tell I had an atari as a kid? Then a Nintendo. Then I was too old/cool for all that stuff. But it seems that just when I thought I was out . . . they pull me back in!

      I actually did some Zumba on it last night and I was sweating after only about 15 minutes! So that was cool. I like the games I’ve played so far. And I always beat my kids, so it makes me feel extra skilled! I imagine this feeling won’t last for long the more they play. Oh well, until then . . . suck it, losers!!

      Reply

  2. cornfedgirl
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 18:16:30

    I’m with Red. I was going to talk about Atari and making a mixed tape.
    I’m just hoping that my children learn all about electronics at school so that they can eventually get Brock and I up to date. We still own a VCR. I’m serious.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 29, 2012 @ 13:02:05

      As long as there is lots of Foreigner on that mix tape, I’ll know you really love me!

      I still have a huge box full of VCR tapes that I refuse to give away. I’m not sure why I’m keeping them . . . nostalgia? Antiquing? Dementia? Eh, whatever. Maybe I’ll let you borrow them if you ask nicely. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Vesta Vayne
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 20:01:29

    I’m no help either. What I took away from this post, is that I want a kitten.

    Reply

  4. Rachel
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 23:13:43

    I wish I could help, but I really can’t. I have a Wii but never really mess with it, especially since my cat chewed through one of the cords. Good luck with it though!

    Reply

  5. hoodyhoo
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 07:35:29

    Don’t ask me, I’m still playing a PlayStation 2… and a Nintendo 64…

    Reply

  6. lazysubculturalgirl
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 13:00:25

    We have a Wii, but only the penis-endowed in this house use it. I know some of the discs need to be cleaned and there are supplies at electronics stores or places like Best Buy that can do that. There are also discs you can buy that will clean DVD/computer heads, so I think they might work on a Wii also. Also, check if you have an unit that has been recalled — sometimes there are problems.

    Otherwise, have fun! I can’t make myself into a gamer — I fear public humiliation far too much.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 29, 2012 @ 13:07:08

      Yeah, I was trying to do the Fit disk the other night and I was getting running color commentary from my oldest . . . “Mom, why aren’t you moving like them?” “You’re doing it wrong.” “Why did you run out of time?” It was delightful. The entire time, my youngest is trying to get me to put batteries in something . . . I was like “don’t you see how BUSY mommy is? Gah!”

      Yeah, so far it’s been great for family bonding.

      Reply

  7. gojulesgo
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 14:02:43

    We have a Wii, but we NEVER use it anymore, so I’m afraid I’m not much help when it comes to troubleshooting! I did love the pool game, too, though, back when we first got it! And table tennis and regular tennis. It got competitive around these parts, and you can easily get hooked on it!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 29, 2012 @ 13:10:00

      I really really want to sports disk to work, but it refuses! I want my son to be able to play the baseball one. We’ve played the table tennis one and we’ve both played pool. And my son is already hooked! I love that it will tell you how long it’s been played each day. I also love that he still tries to tell me he only played on it for like 20 minutes when it clearly says and hour and ten minutes, and he tries to convince me the machine is “lying.” Hee.

      Oh, and since you never play anymore, did you want to donate any of those games to a poor fellow blogger friend and her kids??? 😀

      Reply

  8. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 14:39:38

    We have a very temperamental XBOX360. The Wii is pretty good, but the Xbox doesn’t like the slightest scratch or speck of dust. Sometimes simply taking it out and putting it back in works. That’s what she said.

    Reply

  9. Pish Posh
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 20:56:55

    Don’t know but I can sell you mine 🙂 it’s only a few months old.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 29, 2012 @ 13:12:11

      So wish I’d known that before I bought this (possibly defective) one!! I think I got a bum deal, but my co-worker is being a pretty big twat about it. 😦

      Reply

  10. Ash-Matic
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 02:57:32

    I have no gaming systems at all – but I have played the flash game with the shark killing things. It made me want to be a shark.

    Reply

  11. Andrea
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 20:58:04

    Well, our wii stopped working two hours after getting it hooked up, on Christmas day…ah, memories! Take those games back to where you bought them. There are enough fun games to delay shoot ’em ups for quite some time. (we made it to teen!)

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 29, 2012 @ 13:16:39

      Fingers crossed for making it until teen, but I fear that will not happen. The first game my son played on the Wii was a shooting at tanks game. I’m hoping to get some more games soon where he can do something other than blow up stuff. That might help. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

