Back on the Horse

Ok, guys.  So . . . I’m still not exactly feeling up to this whole blogging thing as of yet, but I’m gonna try to jump right back in.  Hold on tight, everyone.  This may not be pretty.  (And I’m pretty sure it’s gonna be a rambling mess, so there’s that!).

In the last week or so, my family celebrated two major milestones.  Both my youngest son’s 4th birthday, and my husband’s fourty-somethingish birthday.  Their birthdays are one week apart, and most years, the hubs’ birthday falls on, or very close to, Mother’s Day.  So, suffice it to say it’s a busy time in the ole Laws household.

For my little one’s special day . . . which actually turned into more of an epic marathon of a special week . . . there was much celebration.  It started with merely getting cupcakes for his class for the day before his birthday (as he would not be at school the day of, what with Dad taking off work and whisking him away for a fun-filled day at the zoo!  In case you’re wondering . . . Mom didn’t go because she was due in court all day.  Boo!).  Then the next day involved mom going to the store to order the cake for his actual birthday party, which would happen on Saturday.  Mom waited a little too long to get to the store and order the cake.  But the store we order from is usually pretty good with their turnaround time, so mom was hoping this wouldn’t be a problem.  Ha!  Silly silly mom.

When I stopped by the store after work, the normal bakers had left for the day, and I was left to place my order with the fill-in new boy.  Unfortunately, New boy (NB) really didn’t have a clue about cakes, baking, ordering or life in general it seemed.  So, I asked if I could have a cake by Saturday.  Nope, all booked.  Well, how about if I get it Friday?  Are you all booked Friday?  Turns out, they were not.  Score!  Ok then, I would like to order this Spiderman cake.  NB:  Ok, let me check . . . . . nope, we don’t have the Siderman in the store.  Me:  Sigh.  That figures.  Lightbulb!!  Ok . . . let me call the other store down the road and see if they can do it.

So I called the other store, and I’m told they are out of cakes until Saturday.  That’s right, you heard me . . . a bakery that has no cakes.  Not “we are all booked” or “we can’t do your cake” but OUT OF CAKE.  Really not understanding that concept, but trying to move on, I asked the guy if they have the Spiderman, and if so, is there any way they can give it to me so this store (who does have cake) can use it as the decoration.  The guy says he would have to call his boss.  So I give him my number, and he calls me back within 5 minutes, telling me that his boss said they could just give it to me since this other store is going to use it, and I just need to come pick it up the next day.  Yay!

Ok now, back to NB . . . Me:  Can you make this design if I supply the figure for the top?  NB:  Um, gee, well, huh.  I don’t really know.  Me:  Can you call your boss like the other store did and ask?  NB:  Well, I don’t have her number and can’t do that, but maybe if you go up front to the service desk . . .  Fine.  So I went up to the service desk, where I explained the whole scenario and tell the lady what and why I need it, to then find out that she also can’t call, and instead tells me to call the store and talk to the baker early the next morning.  At this point, I have been in this store, trying to just order this cake, for almost an hour!  And I still don’t have a cake ordered when I finally leave the store.  Sigh.

The next morning, as I was instructed to do, I call the store and speak to a bakery manager who assures me that not only can they do the design, but she found a Spiderman in the store that they will use.  Huzzah!!  So, I order a quarter sheet cake because she tells me that it will feed 25 people, and I’m only having about 12 kids + a parent each at the party, so that should be fine, right?

Ok, so then comes the day of my son’s birthday.  I’m in court all day while he and Dad are at the zoo, but when I come home I make him a special dinner (I told him he could have anything he wanted . . . this was the menu:  Broccoli, pizza, chicken and tater tots), plus we had presents for him to open and a small cake so we could sing and blow out candles on his actual birthday.

Next day, I call back to the bakery to find out if I can double the cake order, realizing that I’m going to need a bigger cake, now that 3 more people RSVP’d at the last minute.  They are family so technically I can’t kill them.  Yet.  This is when I find out that the store had already made the cake.  On Thursday.  For me to pick up on Friday afternoon.  O-kaaayyyy?

This is when I remember having seen a cupcake cake, that looked like a lion, at the other store (the one I called and had the Spiderman held for me), where I stopped the night before to grab some balloons before going home to celebrate my son’s birthday.  I called the store, again, and talk to a guy who is disbelieving that I saw that cake at his store, as it is a special order.  “Are you sure it was this store?”  Dude, I’ve been to 3 different stores in the last 3 days, and have to go to another one again tonight.  You would think I would be deliriously confused by now, but I actually know what I saw and where I saw it.  Can you check?  The guy was still trying to convince me that I probably saw that at another store because they don’t have those on display to sell to the general public.  As I’m getting frustrated with this asshole, I finally finally convince him, for the love of all that’s holy, to just GO CHECK.  So he does . . . and comes back saying “huh, you’re right, it is there.”  FOREHEAD SLAP.  So, I ask him to hold it for me, and I call the hubs.  “I have 2 cakes to pick up tonight at 2 different stores.  Please pick one and go get it.”  Which thankfully he did.

That evening, I made sure I had enough gift bags, all the plates/napkins/tablecloths for the party the next morning at the jumpy bouncy kid’s place that the party was being held at, and generally made sure I had all my shit together for the next day.  Oh, did I mention my oldest had a Lacrosse game prior to the party?  Yeah, so . . . that.

The party went off without a hitch, pretty much, so that was nice.  But lest you think that was the end of the celebration, you would be sorely mistaken.  This is when I had to start cleaning up my pigsty of a house because the next day was when all of our family members would be invading our home for cake and ice cream for my son.  Oh, yeah.  And another cake needed to be bought (actually, I had already bought a plain sheet cake and then just decorated it myself with “Happy Birthday 4” in icing . . . this was the easiest cake yet).

So, once all of those festivities were over, I had half of 4 cakes left in my house, and an exciting week of work ahead of me!  Oh joy!!  Luckily, any food products, especially dessert type things, brought into my work, immediately get consumed, so I wasn’t worried about those leftover cakes at all.

But once that was all over with, I had to get ready for my husband’s birthday, which I thought we would celebrate on the actual day, but according to him it was his “birthday week” starting Monday, so pretty much FML.  Although, luckily, we did not have to continuously celebrate his birthday for the entire week.  Just the day of, with cake/presents and then I took him to a movie the next day to celebrate (I offered to take him to a nice dinner but he declined, stating dieting reasons).  The movie was The Five Year Engagement, by the way.  It was just meh.  Definitely don’t waste your money in the theater.  There were a few laugh out loud parts, but it wasn’t great.  I would say it’s a wait until video movie, at the very least.

Anyway . . . so now I’m just tired and pretty worn out from all the running around and celebrating and hoopla and festivities.  I need a break.  At least my oldest’s birthday isn’t for another month.  Yay?

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Danielle Charlton Geer
    May 14, 2012 @ 11:00:38

    I feel your pain!!! My middle son’s b-day is May 4th, my mother’s b-day is May 20th, my oldest son’s b-day is May 23, and my niece’s b-day is May 30th. In betwixt all of that comes Mother’s Day. GAHHHH!

    Reply

  2. Vesta Vayne
    May 14, 2012 @ 12:11:53

    Wow. I’m exhausted just reading about all the work that went into that.

    I think you need a nap. And a personal assistant.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 19, 2012 @ 15:40:29

      Yes, I definitely need a personal assistant! I was just talking to Johi about that. An assistant AND a life coach.

      Oh, yeah . . . and that nap as well.

      Reply

  3. jen
    May 14, 2012 @ 12:24:37

    Yippity-skippity! Misty’s back! WHOOT! WHOOT! And thank you for your Motehr’s Day card; it was (much like its sender) absolutely fabulous. 🙂 xoxo

    Reply

  4. thoughtsappear
    May 14, 2012 @ 15:02:34

    That’s a lot of birthdays, cakes, and parties! Glad you survived!

    Reply

  5. Becky Delport (@BexstarD)
    May 14, 2012 @ 16:15:29

    I bow down to your stamina & patience. Cos I woulda bitch slapped that silly cake boy from here to Sunday & back again. I have no patience when it comes to juveniles & food. Happy Mothers Day Mrs Laws x

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 19, 2012 @ 15:50:00

      Thanks baby. Yeah, it was a very near thing. But, I didn’t want to have to spend my son’s birthday in the slammer from murdering that dumb boy. Although, I’m pretty sure any jury would find it justifiable homicide after hearing my story.

      Reply

  6. red
    May 14, 2012 @ 19:12:30

    Dude, you are the bomb of a Mom! I hope you were duly appreciated on Mom’s Day!

    If I know someone’s birthday is coming, they might get cookies – or a sheet cake from a box…undecorated usually.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 19, 2012 @ 15:50:54

      I was! My boys were very good to me.

      Yeah, I try to make birthdays special if I can. Pretty sure I’m gonna go through the same for my oldest in a month. Sigh. I never learn.

      Reply

  7. lazysubculturalgirl
    May 15, 2012 @ 00:12:00

    You are a better mother than I am. I would have grabbed a cake from the refrigerated section, picked up a Spiderman figure from Walmart and Target, and slapped it on top. Presto change-o, Spiderman cake!

    Middlest just had a birthday, but he’s easy. All he wanted was red velvet, and the grocery store has that. Either I have the lowest maintenance kids anywhere, or I’ve trained them well to adapt to their mother’s laziness.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 19, 2012 @ 15:52:30

      I usually just grab a cake from the store for the actual birthday that we just celebrate at home with us, but for the parties and extended family, I actually try to do something special. Yeah, I’m pretty much a gluton for punishment, I guess. I’m lazy the other 363 days of the year, though.

      Reply

  8. bluzdude
    May 15, 2012 @ 10:21:46

    Sounds like a lot has changed since I was getting birthday cakes. My choice was more like “yellow cake or chocolate cake?” The most exotic I ever got was German Chocolate (which is still my favorite. You could put German Chocolate Cake icing on an old shoe and I’d be in hog heaven.)

    Oh, once, many years ago, we went to KFC and they were out of CHICKEN!

    Unbelievable…

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 19, 2012 @ 15:54:11

      Yeah, I don’t remember all this hoopla for my birthdays either. Still, really. I just like to make their special day, well, special.

      And German Chocolate cake is moy fancy!

      Reply

  9. Jayne
    May 15, 2012 @ 11:22:54

    My kids’ bdays are one day apart. Always had to have two cakes, etc (boy and a girl, you see). Never once had an instance where a bakery was out of freakin CAKE, though!!

    You need to write someone a very strongly worded letter. On your law firm’s letterhead.

    (Welcome back! Stupendous return post!)

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 19, 2012 @ 15:55:21

      Thanks! It’s good to be back.

      I always get out of situations thinking “I’m gonna write a letter” and never do. Instead, I basically just bitch about it on my blog. Much healthier that way, yes?

      Reply

  10. Kitten Thunder's Girl
    May 15, 2012 @ 14:59:06

    I have been to an Arby’s when they were out of roast beef. But I get that – you can’t make more cow. But a bakery in a grocery store? Eggs, flour, milk, sugar…

    Reply

  11. Becca
    May 15, 2012 @ 15:35:41

    Good job super MOM!

    Reply

  12. Ash-Matic
    May 15, 2012 @ 15:52:07

    I… I think I need a lie down after reading that…
    You’re lying down already, right? For the next… two weeks? Phew.

    Reply

  13. She's a Maineiac
    May 15, 2012 @ 17:03:59

    I bet you never want to see another cake again as long as you live.

    My daughter’s last birthday I made pink cupcakes with pink frosting and that was it. I am done with ordering cakes myself, too much hassle.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 19, 2012 @ 15:58:24

      Now see, I wish I could bake. I order because I must. I am just not a baker. That is more hassle (usually) for me than just ordering. Good job with the pinkilicious cupcakes!

      Reply

  14. wcdameron
    May 15, 2012 @ 20:54:06

    Well let’s celebrate your writing with a big ol’ slice of cake! Seriously, I am so hungry now reading about all of those cakes.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 19, 2012 @ 15:59:25

      Hope you got some cake. Guess I should have sent you a piece of the many leftover ones we had. Next time, I’ll have an open house for all bloggers who wanna stop by and get cake!! 🙂

      Reply

  15. hoodyhoo
    May 16, 2012 @ 08:18:03

    Dear Sweet Mama and I have been to both a Taco Bell that was out of virtually everything required for making tacos and to a Kentucky Fried Chicken that was out of… you guessed it… CHICKEN. Why not just close up shop for the day?

    Reply

  16. gojulesgo
    May 16, 2012 @ 08:27:09

    OMG. You poor thing. That one kid was out to LUNCH! “Oh yeah, we do have it.” HA! Do you have a Costco near you? They make delicious sheet cakes (we always get them for work events); they’re cheap and easy and pretty much ready to go all the time. ‘Cause I’m thinking you need a back-up plan for next year, LOL

    We’ve been in this birthday-family-event-a-palooza mode since February. I’m sure it’s why I got sick!

    P.S. – Did your son really want broccoli as part of his b-day dinner?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 19, 2012 @ 16:02:49

      I LOVE Costco cakes and also always get them for work functions. The Costco isn’t really close to us, though, so it’s not convenient to have to go pick up the cake. Plus, I like getting the fun kid designs (I know Costco has designs, but not sure what). I might have to keep them in mind though for next time. Thanks.

      He truly asked for broccoli. I didn’t even prompt him. He even repeated it a bunch of times so I wouldn’t forget. Now . . . ask me if he ATE any of it. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

