The Year of Living Dangerously

Today is a monumental day here at Misty’s Laws.  Today is the one year anniversary of this here blog!  One year ago today, I published my very first inaugural blog post, sending it out into the great vast blogosphere.  You know that saying about a tree falling in the woods and all . . . well let me tell you, nobody heard that blog post.  It has floated out there unbeknownst to the rest of the blogging world for ages.

After that post though, there came many more.  It took me a while to find my voice and to figure out what I wanted the blog to become.  If I’m being honest, I am still trying to figure out what I want this blog to be when it grows up.  But for the moment, it has an identity, I think.  And it has followers!!  Can you believe it?  Yeah, me neither.  😉

So, if you are game, we are gonna take a little trip down memory lane in this blog post.  A year in review, if you will.  Hang on tight.  Keep your hands and feet in the blog at all times and make sure your seat belts are securely fastened, and  . . . here we go.

I discovered the blogging world mostly by chance.  I think my first foray was when I clicked on a link from a friend’s Facebook page to discover the immensely funny Allie Bosch of Hyperbole and a Half.  The first post I read of hers was the one about the Alot.  I was hooked.  I spent the next couple of days going back over her entire history of posts.  She was crazy funny, in the best possible way.  Then I discovered the incredible goddess of blogging, The Bloggess.  I could not believe there were such insanely hysterical people out there in the world, and I poured over all of the their posts, absorbing every creative and smack-you-in-the-face-it’s-so-funny pieces.  I didn’t know it then, but both of these women were the epitome of what you want to become in the blogosphere . . . funny, irreverent, brilliant and popular.  But they were not what made me want to start blogging.  Oh no, they scared the bejesus out of me!  They were too funny, too brilliant, too popular.  I could never aspire to be like them!  I was just happy basking in their glow of readership.

But then I discovered a couple of other blogs.  Thoughts Appear and Hoody Hoo were the next two blogs I stumbled upon and greatly enjoyed.  The difference with Thoughtsy’s and Hoody’s blogs were that they seemed more real, in a way.  They were real people, writing about real stuff in their lives.  They were obviously also popular and brilliantly funny, but in a telling stories about everyday-crazy-stuff-that-happens-to-everybody kind of way.  They were . . . attainable.  They were . . . me.  They are the reason I started blogging.  I thought, “hey, crazy things happen to me all the time!  I could write about that!”  So I did.  So, if you are looking for someone to blame . . . those are your culprits!

Once the blog got going and started gaining a bit of momentum (readers, commenters, followers and the like) I happened to find myself in the next phase of blogging trajectory . . . meeting other bloggers!  I have so far met only two other fellow bloggers, but they were fantastic and I loved every minute of my real life interactions with these otherwise faceless and nameless entities.  Some of my meetings with Thoughtsy are regaled here, here, and here.  I have met Thoughtsy a lot.  I also had the extreme pleasure of meeting Red from Doesn’t Speak Klingon.  I met Red twice, both times because she was visiting my area in preparation for a big move to the midwest.  I am so happy I got to meet her before she ran off, but a little sad that she moved away and I might not get the chance to see her again . . . or at least not for a good while.

And actually, if we are being honest here, I’ve met one other blogger.  But I consider that in a whole different category than meeting a fellow blogger.  Because, this was not just any blogger . . . it was THE blogger.  That’s right, I also got to meet the Bloggess.  This was also done with Thoughtsy.  Told ya I’ve seen her a lot!  Meeting the Bloggess was one of the highlights of my blogging career.  Even though it was a quick reading, book signing and picture with her, it was still one of the best days that I have experienced as a blogger, and it never would have happened if not for this blog.

Another amazing thing that happened to my blog was to become one of Noa Gavin’s (Oh Noa‘s) Funny Bitches.  I discovered my blog had gained a place on this prestigious roster of funny bloggers, when I was checking my emails and drinking coffee, while innocently (and safely I might add) driving to work one Friday morning.  When I saw my blog’s name in the title of her Funny Bitch post that morning, I almost scalded myself from spilling coffee all down the front of myself.  But every burn scar was worth it!  That was the most phenomenal of all days.  That evening, when I looked at my stats and saw that I had over 2000 views from just that day (a total that might have been more than I had in the entire history of blogging up to that point!), I was completely floored.  And honored.  I felt valued and loved at that moment.  And it really gave me validation that I desperately needed for something that I was doing.  Something that I didn’t really know if anyone was appreciating.  Something that was so purely . . . me.  Just me out there, floating around on the interwebz.  It was an absolutely stellar way to let someone know that they were valued.  I will forever be grateful to Noa for that.

And speaking of being grateful to Noa for existing . . . it was in a comment thread on Noa’s blog that I met someone who has become one of my closest friends, despite the fact that we have yet to be in the same place to breathe the same air.  Jen of Jen e Sais Quoi slammed into me with her wit, her irreverence and her I don’t give a shit attitude.  And that was all evident in one comment in a blog post!  I loved her immediately.  And she returned the love, initially declaring me to be her BFF.  We were kindred spirits, her and I.  Is it weird to consider someone your best friend when you have never actually met them?  Because if so, consider us the weirdest of the weird, because that is indeed what happened.  Little did she know that her off-hand comment on that first “meeting” would indeed become fact.  She has become my friend, my confidant, my sister-wife and my closest blogging buddy.  Love you, chica!

And she’s not the only one!  In the past year, I have made some very real and very close friendships with other bloggers, just through commenting on each others’ sites and getting to know each other through our blogs.  That is the most crazy and delightful thing about this whole blogging experience!  The people I have “met” online and the bonds that have formed with people who I’ve never physically seen, all over the country, and even the world.  Johi (my other sister-wife), Thoughtsy, Hoody, Noa, Red, Dani, Elizabeth, Andi, Jules, Bex, Bill, Carrie, Leauxra, Mandi, Becca, Jayne, Kevin, Shane (no longer blogging, sadness!) . . . shit, ok I can’t name everyone.  (If I didn’t list you here, you know that I still love you!!)  I am most grateful for finding these connections with like-minded people out there in the great far reaches of the world, and it is all because of this little ole blog here.  I feel like some of the people I have met over the past year blogging probably know more about me and my life than people I see every single day.  In fact, I’m sure of it.  It is an amazing thing.

So, to conclude this celebratory ride through the history of Misty’s Laws so far . . . I just want to say thank you.  Thank you for reading, thank you for commenting, thank you for your support, for your blogs that make me laugh so hard, think so deeply, and care about you so much.  Thank you for being my friends, for helping me edit, for sending me whacked pictures, for just being out there and being you.  Thank  you to everyone who has ever had a part in this journey.  I value every second of this crazy-filled year.  The amazing ups, the deep deep downs, and everything in between.  I wouldn’t trade it for anything.  It has been a truly wild ride, but I am strapped in for another go round.  Bring on year number 2!  Woo-Hoo!! 

46 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Danielle Charlton Geer
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 09:25:58

    Happy Blogaversary, Mon Ami!! I love you now, always and forever!!

    Reply

  2. red
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 09:44:59

    Congrats on your year! It’s sad how many bloggers start up just to bail later. This was a great summary, and I have to say I laughed hardest at that very final pic. Well chosen, my friend!

    We will meet again. i will let you know when I am heading back out that way. In fact, since I always fly into “your” airport, it would be totally easy.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 13:11:30

      Thanks! Yeah, I love that pic. I’ve been waiting and waiting to use it for just the right moment. I felt this was it.

      Can’t wait to see you again. “My” airport is pretty close, so I’m game whenever you are in town!

      Reply

  3. leigh
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 09:50:46

    happy anniversary! xo.

    Reply

  4. Vesta Vayne
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 09:57:56

    Happy Blogaversary to YOU!!

    (And the last pic is hilarious!)

    Reply

  5. Leauxra
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 10:21:33

    Woot woot! How time flies! Congratulations for sharing your life with all us random strangers who are no longer strangers.

    I am working on the whole “meeting a fellow blogger in real life” thing, still. Apparently, some are close. But I am terrified of new people, so… maybe we can just meet at the roller rink to break the ice…

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 13:14:13

      You MUST meet Johi! Just so I can live vicariously through you. 🙂 And meeting other bloggers isn’t as scary as it may seem. I was super nervous the first time with each as well, being all socially awkward and shy, but I got over it pretty quickly because they were AWESOME. Do it! You won’t regret it.

      Reply

  6. thoughtsappear
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 10:33:45

    Congratulations! We have met a lot…and yet…not nearly enough!

    And you closed with a pic of Pon and Zi. That’s why I love you.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 13:18:32

      Ha! Yes, not nearly enough. But somehow I feel our paths will cross many more times. At the very least at BlogHer in 3 weeks!!

      Wait. I thought you loved me for my Key Lime Vodka? 😉

      Reply

  7. Go Jules Go
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 10:50:55

    Aw shucks! I LOVED reading your story, Misty! I didn’t know the background of how you started this blog, and I was completely riveted. And you have very fine taste, indeed 😉

    You know I heart you and Misty’s Laws. CONGRATULATIONS on a year of blogging success, and for being a part of the awesome game! I’m so glad we met (three cheers to Thoughtsy for that!)! I can’t WAIT to show you my stretchy pants next month.

    Reply

  8. Jayne
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 10:57:52

    Happy Anniversary to you!!
    Much love and many more years of success to you!!

    Reply

  9. bluzdude
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 11:29:51

    Congrats on your milestone, Misty.

    You know, it’s almost a good thing that our first posts aren’t read by anyone. It gives us a chance to find our voice and work on our presentation, before anyone notices. I know that’s how it was for me…

    I had a similar inspiration to blog… it was Ginny at the Pittsburgh blog, “That’s Church.” When she went on hiatus, I decided I wanted to try out this blogging stuff for myself, and strive to be as awesome as she was. (I have a ways to go.)

    I’m glad I crossed virtual paths with you, and am eager to what you get into next, as you clean up the streets of Baltimore (both legally and stylistically.)

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 13:24:21

      Ha! You make me sound like a superhero: Misty’s Laws! Eradicating leggings as pants . . . one blog post at a time!! Dun-dah-DAH!!! 🙂

      I like it. Now all I need is a cape!

      Reply

  10. Andi
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 12:47:13

    Happy First Year! I’m honored to be among your friends, and I followed an almost identical blogging trajectory — except that I found the Bloggess first, then Allie, then Noa and Flourish in Progress and Hoody. It was the sewing blogs which inspired me to start my own, though, because I needed someplace to post all the crap I was doing.

    My blog STILL hasn’t grown up and “found it’s voice.” I have about three different directions I keep taking it in, and I sometimes think I should spin it off into three different blogs, but then I realize that this IS who I am….and apparently, I have multiple personality disorder.

    I saw a license plate yesterday and my first thought was to whip out my phone to photograph it for you….but sadly, he drove off before I could. So see, you inspire us to be better people or at least a more observant bunch!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 13:29:10

      I wonder if those ladies know how much of an impact they have had on the blogging world in general. You and I cannot be the only ones who were inspired.

      I like your blog the way it is. It is completely and totally random and fun and . . . you. Even with your many faces of Eve! 🙂

      Ah, I feel so inspirational! That you think of me when you see crazy shit . . . it makes me get all teary eyed. ((sniff))

      Reply

  11. jen
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 13:50:25

    Happy Aniversary, Bestie! I love your face so damned much. Can I just tell you how excited I am for New York? I mean, seriously? SERIOUSLY!?!? Thank you Noa, Allie, Jenny, and the blogosphere for introducing Misty to me. . .you might regret it later. 😉

    Reply

  12. tazer warrior princess
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 15:32:49

    Woot Woot! Happ 1 year!

    Reply

  13. Jaime
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 17:05:19

    congrats on your 1 year!!!

    Reply

  14. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 19:37:56

    Happy Anniversary! It’s been such a pleasure getting to know you through your blog and comments. We cross paths a lot on the blogs we read, and I often want to just “ditto” the comments of yours I read. Someday I’m gonna make it up to D.C. so I can meet you and Thoughtsy!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 13:33:26

      Oh please. Your comments are way better and funnier than mine! You manage to wrap up all the random flim flam spinning around in my head that I would want to say, and say it in one concise, dry and witty retort.

      And I would LOVE to meet you! If you are ever in the area, let me know and I’ll wrangle Thoughtsy for a date!! Woo-hoo.

      Reply

  15. kianwi
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 23:37:48

    Congratulations! I loved this. I am new to blogging, so it was great to read about how you got started. I, too, was intimated by some of the ‘biggies’, so glad to hear someone else say that!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 13:35:02

      Thanks! And I think it is actually quite common. Some of the biggies have been doing it for so long and have had time to hone their craft, that they are uber intimidating to those of us just starting. Good luck to you in your blogging journey! I’m sure you will do great. 🙂

      Reply

  16. Valerie
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 23:42:44

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!! I am so pleased to have found your blog! Keep up the silliness! :o)

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

  17. Brett Minor (@brettminor)
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 00:59:01

    Congrats on the milestone. Here’s to several more years.

    Reply

  18. Jo
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 19:58:38

    Happy Anniversary! The second year promises to be even better, yes?

    Reply

  19. cornfedgirl
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 20:57:09

    Woohoo! One year down, many to go! Love you, Misty!

    Reply

  20. Jeff Laws
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 23:21:58

    Congrats on a year.

    Reply

  21. Andrea
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 08:41:37

    Cheers to you! 🙂

    Reply

  22. wcdameron
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 22:24:35

    Aw, congratulations sweetie! I am so glad to have not physically met you too! And by the way? Awesome birthday card! Best ever! Love you!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 13:56:50

      Oh Bill . . . you are one of the best people I don’t actually know!! 😉

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the card. I was hoping you wouldn’t cry. Love you, too! 🙂

      Reply

  23. Trackback: Another Meet and Greet! « Misty's Laws
  24. Trackback: Two Anniversaries | Misty's Laws

Leave a Reply

