Pleas and Thank You

First, I want to start off with a great big thanks to everyone who responded and commented on my Weekly Whacked post this past Friday. I plan to respond to each comment individually, but I wanted to give a blanket thanks for the incredibly thoughtful and thought-provoking commentary that I received from everyone. While some were of the “rock on, it’s fine” variety, which is always awesome and appreciated, some were much more critical, and gave me a lot to think about regarding how these posts are perceived and how I will proceed in the future with these blog posts. It was exactly what I was looking for and what I needed to hear. I greatly appreciate everyone taking the time to give me their honest response. Thank you.

On to the plea . . . I will be continuing the Weekly Whacked series. And based on that, I will need your help. Recently, I have received some phenomenal and truly whacked pictures from some of my bloggy friends. I plan to do a whacked post featuring these pictures, but I would really love to feature even more. So, my request to you is for you to send me any pictures you may have containing the absurd, bizarre and truly whacked that you have seen and captured on “film.” I am looking for your very own whacked pics. Send any and all to me at mistyslaws at gmail dot com. (Please note the “s” in the middle of the email, or I will not receive them, and I would be very sad if your pics were lost to the interwebz forever). You have until next Wednesday, September 26th to send them to me.  Get on it!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:27:36

    Yippee-skippy! I’m glad you didn’t let the haters (and the taters and the Slaters) get you down. Bring on the WHACKED!!! xoxo

    Reply

  2. madtante
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 11:25:07

    I’d like to reiterate, I’m not against it (especially YOU, you’re my new best friend–George says to tell you ‘hi’). I took a risk by sharing my embarrassingly lame-o story which illustrates that I’m both unstylish, picked upon by others and boohoo about it. Nothing attractive there…you said you wanted honesty. As a New Friend, I did my best.

    Reply

  3. bschooled
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 11:56:39

    The problem with humor blogging (or blogging in general) is that everyone perceives things a different way.

    I remember the first negative comment I ever received. It was on a post that IMO was blatantly facetious but that the commenter took as a sign that I was racist against Eskimos. Being a walking oxymoron (aka. a people-pleaser with sarcastic tendencies), it horrified me that someone I’d never met would think that. Call me Canadian, but I had no idea that Eskimo racism even existed?

    After that, I spent a few months posting “safe humor”, but then I started to get bored.

    I still struggle at times, but if I’ve learned anything from blogging it’s that I can’t please everyone. And as long as I know that I’m not a mean-spirited person with no boundaries (I try to focus my sarcasm on narcissists, ignorant people and Twilight-obsessed tweens), it really doesn’t matter what “Anonymous” thinks.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 29, 2012 @ 18:16:03

      Wow. I think that was the most serious thing I’ve ever seen you write! I didn’t know you had it in ya. 😉

      Seriously, though, thanks. I hear you. I think as long as we have a sense of decency and aren’t mean, it is fine. And everyone has their own sense of what’s funny, so you can’t please everyone.

      Reply

  4. She's a Maineiac
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 12:24:59

    I’ve had a few negative comments with my tongue-in-cheek humor. I think people who don’t read my blog regularly don’t realize I am being light-hearted about things and yes, trying to be funny. Trying!

    Reply

  5. Andrea
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 15:08:10

    Yay! Long live the whacked!

    Reply

  6. Valerie
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 22:14:32

    I am SO on the hunt for weirdos for you!!! And, the great news is… I’m totally going to the Renaissance Fair on the 23rd!!! There are always crazies there! :o)

    Love ya, girl!

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

  7. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 13:17:12

    I’m glad you’re sticking with Whacked! I actually took a picture a few weeks ago…it’s not super-whacked but I like for you to know that I’m thinking of you. 🙂

    Reply

  8. pegoleg
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 15:58:58

    Whacked picture is winging its way to you.
    That Savage Chicken cartoon hits way too close to home. Whenever I casually say “well, a blogging buddy says…” or “on my blog…” all I get is crickets in real-world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

