A Picture’s Worth a Thousand . . .

Time once again for me to graciously share with you all my exquisite and beautiful photography efforts as of late, and for you lucky souls to regale me with your wonder and praise.  No, no, really.  You don’t have to thank me.  I’ve a giver like that.

There is just something about rays of sunlight shooting through dark clouds that speaks to me.  And I am not even a religious person.  Hell, I’m not even an optimist!

It’s almost Halloween, so an authentic cobweb that I awoke to find on my porch one morning just seemed appropriate, n’est pas?

Some wheeeerrrreeeeee . . . over the rainbow . . .

Just your average late summer sunset seen from my front door.  Ho-hum, la-di-da.

As I was leaving work one day, I happened to glance upwards and saw this.  It was pretty awesome, as obviously a storm was moving in, but it was rushing in all at once, splitting the sky between sunny day and dark foreboding storm clouds.

This one was kind of a cool effect.  Driving home from the ocean this summer, at night, I looked down at my middle console, and saw this.  It was a rental, so it was unexpected, but apparently the cup holder had a little blue light and it was making my bottle of Dasani glow like this.  It was a little eery and entirely awesome.

Just another sunset in Ocean City, bayside.

Wispy, fluffy clouds over the ocean.  Makes me once again long for the beautiful warm sunny days at the beach.

Morning on the beach.

This was a shot that I took specifically for a contest on Vesta Vayne‘s site.  (No, I don’t normally sit around taking pictures of my feet propped up next to fruity cocktails).  The drink was delicious, and this shot was the winning picture in her contest as well.  I’m not sure she had very many entrants, but out of the thousands of pictures I like to think she got, mine was far superior to them all!!

I took this picture one day when I happened to be driving around Baltimore.  I initially intended to do a sights and sounds of B-more post that just never happened.  But this is your typical block of rowhouses found in B-more, complete with stoops (sadly it was too hot that day for stoop sitting, because that’s the real picture of the city).

I just thought it looked like the sky went on forever in this picture.  And I took it while driving, so mad skills!  (Shhh, don’t tell).

What can I say . . . we’re very rainbowy in these parts.  And this was actually a double rainbow, although you can’t really see it in this picture.  If you look at the far upper left corner, you can see just the hint of the other one.  And in case you are wondering, I keep looking for that damn pot of gold, but those leprechauns are really freaking good at hiding that mutha!  And I haven’t seen any unicorns or Rainbow Brite or anything, either!  Dammit.

While I admit this picture didn’t turn out the best, I thought it was kinda rad that a praying mantis was just hanging out in my porch one day.  I didn’t want to get too close, lest I startle her away, hence the fuzzy nature of the pic.  I have never seen an angry mantis, but based on what I know about their post coital  habits, I don’t think I wanna see one on the attack, thank you.

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 08:59:22

    That sky photo is spectacular! I am in the process of taking a series of 12 photos of the sky and framing them into 8 x 10 frames. It’s going to look cool as a grouping, no doubt. Thanks for sharing!

    I love the mantis, too. Do you think she just did it? We’re there remnants of her mate around?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 02, 2012 @ 11:56:10

      I am so into the sky right now. This season just produces amazingly vast and colorful skies.

      I did not see any remnants. I think she was on the prowl.

      Reply

  2. Leauxra
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 09:03:44

    By my calculation, this post is worth over 14,000 words!

    Love the pictures. I’ve been slacking while I gear up for November.

    1) Your toes (and that drink) are contest winner worthy.
    2) Your skies are beautiful.
    3) I want to sit on those steps and drink a beer. They look perfect for it. Maybe grill some burgers and drink a beer. Or watch Boyfriend grill some burgers while I drink and visit with the neighbors.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 02, 2012 @ 11:57:31

      Wow! 14x the normal amount of worth. That’s pretty impressive. 😉

      1) Thank you, 2) Thank you, 3) Ahh, yes. Stoop sitting. That is the national pastime of Bmore, don’t let anyone tell you it’s some sort of sporting event. 🙂

      Reply

  3. foxydork
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 09:25:26

    All Gorgeous!!!!

    Reply

  4. She's a Maineiac
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 09:32:21

    Okay, all of these are beautiful! Especially the feet with the cocktail, I can see why you won that contest. I have loads of pics of a praying mantis. Very cool. He used to hang out in our garage until my husband ran over him accidentally with the minivan.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 02, 2012 @ 11:58:46

      See, I’d never seen a mantis up close and personal, so I thought it was pretty impressive. And then you tell me you had a pet mantis? You are just too cool for words, Darlanta! (RIP your poor mantis). 😦

      Reply

  5. newsofthetimes
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 11:47:44

    As a B-more native, I love the rowhouses shot. 🙂 And congrats on winning the contest!! That’s a great pic too!

    Reply

  6. s1ngal
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 14:06:53

    a BIG nod “There is just something about rays of sunlight shooting through dark clouds that speaks to me”
    I’ve posted some here -> http://s1ngal.wordpress.com/2012/10/16/skys-the-limit-2/

    Reply

  7. bschooled
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 14:35:33

    It’s not fair! Funny people aren’t supposed to be able to take amazing photos like this. They’re supposed to use their humor to make up for their incompetence at things like drawing and/or photography.

    I think it’s called the “Law of Instagram” or something.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 02, 2012 @ 12:02:22

      Oh man. See, THIS is why I love you. You are so good for my ego! 😉

      Well, it’s that and the photoshopped face of yours on all the crazy 70’s and 80’s weirdos. That is really right up there at the top of the list of things to love.

      Reply

  8. Andrea
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 15:03:23

    Those are awesome,as you know, but I do think a couple are crying out for an snl jack handy quote! The rainbows…we’re we sharing a brain, as I posted a pic of a rainbow, that was a double…apparent in just the upper left corner. And now I must sing Somewhere out there from ameerican tale!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 02, 2012 @ 12:03:37

      I think we were indeed sharing our brain this week. Obviously you had it for the duration, since I was completely out of ideas and inspiration.

      Feel free to Jack Handy those pics right up! They are indeed crying out for it.

      Reply

  9. bluzdude
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 18:34:26

    And you didn’t even have to sneak up on the clouds and rainbows…

    Reply

  10. Kaitlyn
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 06:53:17

    “As I was leaving work one day, I happened to glance upwards and saw this. It was pretty awesome, as obviously a storm was moving in, but it was rushing in all at once, splitting the sky between sunny day and dark foreboding storm clouds.”

    I call those ‘God Clouds’ because clouds always do that just before God appears in films and junk.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 02, 2012 @ 12:04:58

      Ha! Exactly. That is the perfect name for them. Too bad I went down into my parking garage after I took that pic. Probably missed the whole thing. Always the way, right? Dang.

      Reply

  11. JM Randolph
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 11:51:28

    These are some great pics! I have the same connection to sun breaking through dark clouds- I just love it! We get quite a bit of it here in NJ too. And how awesome that you got a Praying Mantis. My #5 would’ve freaked for that!

    Reply

  12. wcdameron
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 14:41:36

    These are great and tell us a lot about who you are, the beauty that you see. I especially loved the picture of the row houses. I was singing “Good morning Baltimore!” in my head…

    Reply

  13. Valerie
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 22:49:41

    Your fruity cocktail pic made me thirsty. It also made me realize how bad i need a pedi. Nice feet!! ;o)

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 02, 2012 @ 12:07:07

      Thanks! And yes, I try to keep the toys under control. Especially in summer, when that was taken.

      I’m always in the mood for a cocktail. No pictures needed. If you eventually come down here and visit, I promise to make you a plethora of yummy cocktails! 😉

      Reply

  14. weezafish
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 02:39:03

    You’re inspiring me to get my camera out, love your sky pics. I am a fan of sunsets myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

