The Attack of Sandy Frankenstorm

So, not sure if anyone’s heard about this little storm we are about to get here on the East coast. It’s been in the news a bit, so you may have some idea of what I am referring to. But probably only if you are, say…..breathing and cognizant of the world around you.

weather.com

Sandy is, of course, a hurricane that is working it’s way up the coast. Not just that, but it’s supposed to combine with another storm coming into the coast, thus the christening of the term “Frankenstorm.” It’s gonna be a rough one, folks.

So bad, in fact, that most schools and some businesses already announced their intent to close for Monday……on Sunday morning. Before even a drop of rain hit the area. A little premature, if you ask me.

Additionally, people in general have been acting like Armageddon is coming. I went to Costco Friday night, when they were just starting to talk about this Frankenstorm in the news, and it was pure madness! I was not there for any storm prep reasons, but realized later that since they sold both bread and milk, people were there to stock up.

To add to the drama, my hubs is currently away on a business trip in Brazil, due to return on Halloween. He’s trying to get an earlier flight, but I’m not holding my breath. This kind of thing is actually not unprecedented. Two years ago, when we got hit with Snowmageddon, the hubs was in Toronto, and he got stuck there because there were no flights. He eventually had to rent a car, drive to Buffalo, then take a train down to Bmore. He’s trying to get a jump on it this time.

This is what he’s getting to see right now:

.

Whereas, I’m here with his father, who lives in our basement and just turned 80 years old. Who also has nothing else to do the entire day but watch Fox News and The Weather Chanel. Seriously, those stations should be blocked for anyone over the age of 65. So, as the news stations got more and more heated about the dangers of the approaching storm, my father in law got more worried and frantic. See, the last hurricane that came through caused us to lose power, thus shutting off the sump pump and flooding our basement to the tune of $20k to fix. Accordingly, he is super mega stressed about us losing power. Based on history, he has some cause for concern.  So he asked me about it. Then he called all of his kids. Including my husband . . . in Brazil.  And since there was not much the hubs could do from there, my brother in law (the hubs’ bro) finally tracked down a delivery of generators to a Lowes that was happening early Sunday morning and got one for us. What a life saver! Now, maybe my FIL can relax.

Soooo pretty.

And then, to make it even worse, I needed to go to the grocery store. And the only time I could go was on Sunday afternoon. I was not looking forward to it. At all. I figured it would be a mad house. But I needed some fruits and veggies and some things for the kids’ lunches. And bread. Yeah, I know.

I was actually pleasantly surprised at the lack of chaos I encountered. Sure, there were lots of people, but more of a shopping on a weekend crowd, not a preparing for Armageddon crowd. So, I figured I was in the clear and I would find everything I needed. Until I got to the aisle with the water. Or, I should probably say . . . where the water used to be:

The weird thing was that there was plenty of milk, bread and TP. All that was completely depleted was the water. ALL of the water. It was crazy.

So, the kids are off, my work is closed, and pretty much the entire East coast is closed down. So now I just have to sit and wait, and keep my fingers and toes crossed that we don’t lose power and that the storm doesn’t hit us too hard. Stay safe out there everyone. I hope to see you on the other side.

48 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. She's a Maineiac
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 08:40:15

    Good thing you got a generator. My husband just said to me, why don’t we get one of those suckers? we lose power all the time and usually when it’s frigid outside. I think this year, we might splurge and finally get one.

    I certainly hope you guys stay safe and keep that basement dry so your father-in-law can continue to watch the weather channel.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 12:42:27

      You should definitely get one if you can find one. I’m really glad we have one now. We are prepared.

      All is safe and well, and back to normal. The Weather Channel is on 24/7, just as God intended. 😉

      Reply

  2. The Good Greatsby
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 08:50:09

    Keep safe. Keep dry. You’ve reminded me to stock up on water. We used to keep a significant supply in the attic but we just moved.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 12:44:20

      Yeah, I can see how it would seem a bit silly to move water. I mean, it’s water. You can get that anywhere. But you better stock up. I hear there is a real chance of a brutal winter over there, complete with large stomping lizards destroying the cities. Oh wait, maybe I wasn’t watching the weather channel afterall . . .

      Reply

  3. Don't Quote Lily
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 08:55:13

    That’s great you have a generator now. Hopefully what happened last year won’t repeat itself. I’m on the east coast too…can’t wait for this to be over! 😉

    Reply

  4. Go Jules Go
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 09:57:01

    Stay safe, Misty!! I am enjoying every bit of power while we still have it.

    I tried to get gas on SATURDAY and every station was backed up.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 10:47:34

      Oh man . . . those were the days, huh? You really got some of the worst of it out there. I’m just glad you have your parents to crash with until they finally get you back up and running (is that ever going to happen?). At least you still have the vodka. Cheers!

      Reply

  5. renée a. schuls-jacobson
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 10:49:20

    Stay safe, Misty. We are in-land, so they haven’t closed the schools yet. Please. Not the schools. That would so suck. Like you, we are ready with the generator. And the rain just started. Did you know this storm is over 700 miles wide. Serious, that is one FAT storm.

    Reply

  6. Valerie
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 11:19:29

    Seriously… They really do need to some kind of lock on the weather channel. My mother in law lives with us. She bought 6 loaves of bread and 4 gallons of milk. We don’t even drink milk. I want to lock her in the basement…

    Stay safe!

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

  7. Bluzdude
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 11:26:31

    I’m bunkered down for the day, working from home. This dial-in technology has its pluses and minuses. Now I’m just waiting for the power to go out.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 10:49:56

      Did you ever lose yours? It doesn’t seem like our area got hit that bad, just a few outages spread throughout the state. We are lucky we aren’t in Jersey.

      Reply

  8. about100percent
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 11:59:10

    Ugh. I feel it too. Right now it’s fairly rainy out there, but I’m ready for the roof to rip off my house they way this thing has been media’d for the past week or so. We have bread and milk too, and the water… well, it seems that we might get enough to at least shower if we take our soap and shampoo outside. Lots of luck to you and yours.

    Reply

  9. Kitten Thunder's Girl
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 13:09:09

    As a Wyomingite I am required by law to point out that the wind blows 50-70 miles an hour at least once a month here and it never gets us on the news. Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way…

    This storm sounds like a doozy. I hope you all fare well and that it doesn’t turn out to be as bad as expected – or that the lack of water is an indication that everyone is prepared so the bad weather won’t turn into a disaster. Good luck!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 10:51:28

      Well, as you probably know, it was a really bad storm and did a number on NJ & NY, but spared MD mostly. We faired pretty well.

      And I’m sorry you are feeling neglected out there. 😉

      Reply

  10. Jen
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 13:34:30

    I’m trying to take this storm seriously, really I am. But it’s just really, really hard with a name like “Sandy”. They need to start giving storms more badass names like “Tropical Storm Robocop” or “Hurrican Fiddy Cent” so it sounds like it’s really gonna tear some shit up.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 10:52:23

      Well, they were calling it Superstorm Sandy and also Frankenstorm, so I think they were trying to make it a bit more badass. But yeah, all I can picture is Olivia Newton John in black leather, and that’s just not scary.

      Reply

  11. Leauxra
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 13:57:11

    Every time I hear the name “Sandy”, I think “shandy”, which is an awesome lightly alcoholic carbonated beverage,and really good for hurricane parties.

    Still, looks bad. Stay safe.

    Right now, I am trying not to freak out, considering my sister is in the path, and her friend from high school is visiting her. The same friend that lived with us when Katrina hit.

    I blame him, completely, for this storm.

    Reply

  12. Vesta Vayne
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 15:52:55

    I’m happy to hear you have a generator. You and your family stay safe!

    Reply

  13. Winopants
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 17:05:23

    Yikes, 20k in repairs is no joke! I hope this one isn’t as devastating

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 10:54:29

      Luckily the insurance eventually covered it, but it was a huge pain in the ass for a while. Things were floating in 2 feet of water for days. And it took so long to repair. We got lucky this time.

      Reply

  14. ifUseekAmy
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 17:21:48

    Hope you and your family are safe!

    Reply

  15. Andrea
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 17:36:19

    Phew…now your FIL will be able to watch the weather channel instead of looking out your window at the weather. Can’t turn him on to the food network, huh?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 10:55:51

      Nope. My Mother in Law, who passed last year, was the Food Network fan. Now it’s just Fox News, The Weather Channel and old westerns. He watches A LOT of TV.

      Reply

  16. cornfedgirl
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 20:52:25

    Fill up the bathtubs!
    Hope you all stay safe. xoxo

    Reply

  17. Valentine Logar
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 07:56:58

    Sure hope you made it through safely and all is well.

    Reply

  18. Brett Minor (@brettminor)
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 08:27:47

    Being from the Midwest, I have never seen a hurricane. Dozens of tornadoes, but no hurricanes. When I lived in Puerto Rico, I just wanted to see one. ONCE. One was finally on it’s way and veered off right before it got to us. I missed it.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 10:57:11

      That’s . . . a shame? See, I’ve never seen a tornado, and as much as I think it would be kinda cool, I don’t think I want to be close enough to one to see it. I’ll just watch Twister, thanks.

      Reply

  19. pegoleg
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 17:44:20

    How’s it going Misty? Hope you are getting by, having to flush your toilet with milk since you couldn’t get any water.

    Reply

  20. Mary in NY
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 09:14:42

    You need to let us know how things are for you there. I’m fine, just a little wind, some power loss etc. Hope you are okay there.

    Reply

  21. Melissa
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 15:11:17

    My BF was in Vegas, set to return 1am Sunday and his flight was cancelled. Thankfully he got on an early flight and I rode out the storm with him. Glad it turned out to not be too terrible here!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 10:59:11

      That is so great that he was able to come home early! My hubs tried to do the same thing, and did come home a bit early, but ended up having to rent a car because the airports were closed. But everyone was safe and well, so that’s all that matters.

      Reply

  22. Seraphinalina
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 11:50:11

    My in laws watch the weather network like a soap opera. It kills me at their cottage because the nearest city they report on is a 45 minute drive. With all the lakes between the two locations, it could rain or hail or snow in either location and not the other so what’s the point?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 11:00:08

      I just have never gotten the appeal of the weather channel. Sure, to get a quick update or something, ok. But to just sit and watch like it’s a program? Must be an old people thing. Like Bingo and eating dinner at 4:00.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

