It Looks Just Like You!

My secretary is rad.  I believe I’ve mentioned this once or twice before.  Really, she is one of the only good things in this cesspool of an office I work in.  Truly.

She is a collector of odd office supplies.  Her desk is covered with all sorts of odds and ends and she is just a little bit kooky.  Which I love about her.  She is also one of the sweetest and most giving people I’ve ever met.  She’s the type that will see something in a store, think of you, and just buy it for you and give it to you.  (I do that, too.  Probably why we get along so well).  She’s also the kind of person who will notice that you’ve been really down lately and fix you up a little “office brightener” by way of a plant.  She thought it might lift my mood.  Plus, she assured me that this plant is “unkillable.”  To which, of course, I responded, “challenge . . . accepted!” 

So far it’s still kickin’ breathing, however . . . I have mad plant killing skillz.  It’s a gift, really.  So, it’s really only a matter of time.  Sorry planty!

But, putting aside the unrealistic gifting of a living thing to moi, she is really the sweetest person and I am so lucky to have her working with me.  So, accordingly, when I made my last foray into Target, I saw something that totally reminded me of her:

As you can see, it is a Desk Set, complete with Tape Dispenser & Multi-Pen/Highlighter.  Of course.  It’s cute, functional and a little bit kooky . . . just like my secretary!

This is what it looks like all out and about and set up:

Of course, being my smartass secretary, when I gave this to her, she asked me, “did you get this for me because she has a big butt just like mine?”  To which I replied, “Yes, absolutely.  I saw this and immediately thought, ‘hey look!  It’s my secretary’s big butt!'” 

So, you are probably wondering right about now . . . yeah, yeah, yeah, lovefest for your secretary, gift buying, yada yada, why do I care?  Well, I’ll tell you why you should care . . . because I am also giving away one of these fab items to one of you!!

That’s right!!  I didn’t just buy this for her, but for one lucky winner as well.  I just thought it was completely awesome, and it also works and looks adorable on the desk.  And, who doesn’t love one of those multi-pen/highlighter combinations??

Right-o.  So, what do you have to do to win this highly coveted and most awesome prize?  Well, your eternal love and devotion would be good, but in addition to that, how about a comment below that tells me about a time that someone did something really nice for you to brighten your otherwise crappy day/life.  Tell me about someone like my secretary that, despite a sometimes hellish existence, will do something to make you smile.  Story time, peeps.

I’ll draw a winner in a couple weeks.  I will also probably throw in some other random thing that I have lying around truly exquisite and unique item!  Good luck, all.

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 09:10:51

    A couple of years ago on Christmas Eve, I was having a slightly embarrassing time trying to get some containers out for people to take some leftovers home in. The drawer was a mess and no lids wanted to come out of hiding. My friend’s husband commented on how his wife pays me to help her organize when I have the situation in my own drawer. Anyways, while we were away travelling my friend came in and totally revamped my rubbermaid drawer with new stuff. It was such a welcome sight as we arrived back late one evening and I dreaded trying to put stuff away! The drawer is still organized!

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 10:20:20

    My friends do things like this all the time, but one sticks in my mind most predominantly. Last week I was feeling really down about spending my birthday alone with the love of my life 3000 miles away when what should appear in my mailbox? Why, it was a veritable plethora of Taylor Swift memorabilia and a gorgeous necklace and earring set. Who could possibly know me so well? 😉 Then, only a day later I received some violin music for my little virtuoso along with a Mommy Care Package of dark chocolate and bacon propaganda from Andrea at “Maybe It’s Just Me.” Best. Birthday. Ever.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 12:25:42

      Wow, you really DO have the best and most thoughtful friends ever!! The one who sent you the Taylor Swift stuff is obviously incredibly thoughtful, funny and kind. Hold on to that one! 😉

      That Andea’s not bad either. 🙂

      Reply

  3. winopants
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 13:50:18

    This isn’t one for the win or anything.. but the bartender at my work and I have a lot code words for certain customers/coworkers. Sometimes being able to label annoying people and file them into a little drawer along with other annoying people, makes dealing with them so much easier

    Reply

  4. Mandi
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 14:44:05

    Okay, first and foremost, that plant is a Pothos. They cannot die even if you actively try to kill them. My husband has had his since his mother sent him off to undergrad in 1998. It is still alive on the bookshelf in my living room, subsisting on spite and its own dead foliage. Mazel tov.

    Secondly, I’m the one that sends the “you need a pick-me up” or “just because I thought of you” care packages. I can’t say that I’ve ever received one myself.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 12:29:00

      Damn. So you mean I can’t even kill it when if I try? Crap.

      Aww, Mandi. That makes me sad. You should totally get pick me ups from your friends. But at least you get to feel good about being that person for other people. That’s good, right?

      Send me your new address, and I will send you something. mistyslaws@gmail.com Because I am that person who sends stuff to everyone, too. 😉

      Reply

  5. weezafish
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 15:39:32

    Your Secretary sounds pretty darned special. I have a sister in law who often blesses us with her random acts of kindness. I asked her if she could help get tickets for Hubbys birthday night out – she booked VIP tickets, took the kids for the night and called us ten mins in to say they were both fast asleep. Pretty sure she was lying. If I was lucky enough to win, have to be honest I’d worry about that lovely desktop lady in the SA post.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 12:31:00

      I’m sorry you didn’t win, but I was also concerned about that SA post. But if my son had drawn your name, I would have figured out a way, by golly!! 🙂

      Your SIL sounds rad. It is always good to have a close family member who will swoop in and take care of the kiddies for a night. We have a couple of those as well, and they are life savers!

      Reply

  6. pegoleg
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 17:35:59

    Misty, you are a real sweetie to give your secretary that cool set – what a great reminder to me to appreciate those who deserve it.

    I can’t think of any truly nice thing anyone has done for me lately, but I think that reflects the cloud I’ve been walking around under, more than the thoughtfulness of those around me. I need to open my eyes.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 12:32:37

      Aw, Peg. I hope that you just can’t think of anything, and not that nobody is doing nice things for you. Everybody needs that, especially when we find ourselves in these current states of funk we are both in.

      Again, send me your address and I’ll send you a little something. mistyslaws@gmail.com Everyone deserves a little pick me up!

      Reply

  7. The Byronic Man
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 09:39:03

    When I was in college I was a big Pink Floyd fan. One day I was having a terrible day and got back to my apartment and there was this really big canvas print of the marching hammers from The Wall. I’d seen it once and thought it was the coolest thing ever. Found out later it was a friend who bought it for me, and then just hung on to it until there seemed like a moment when it’d be especially meaningful. Just having a friend think of me was enough, but that was above and beyond.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 12:35:31

      Wow, that IS really thoughtful. Especially for a college kid that a) probably didn’t have a lot of $$ (unless he was a trust fund kid or something), and b) are not known for their non-myopic natures. And that sounds like a really cool poster. I think I remember seeing the one you are talking about. Do you still have it? I’m now picturing an office in your house with classic rock posters on the walls. Don’t you deny me my fantasy!! 😉

      Reply

  8. wcdameron
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 10:01:13

    Misty, I cannot think of any one thing, because you know me, every day there are hundreds of nice things that Paul does for me and to pick one out seems impossible. I am very fortunate and so is your secretary.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 12:36:17

      Ah yes, the daily little things. It’s hard to pin down just one thing when it happens all the time in subtle ways. You and Paul are truly lucky to have that in each other.

      Reply

  9. Leauxra
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 11:05:46

    Oh, it’s a TAPE DISPENSER. I don’t know why, but I thought it was something dirty when I glanced, and I couldn’t figure out why you were buying it for a coworker.

    I don’t know. The arms should have been a clue.

    (I think I’m spending too much time in front of a computer).

    Reply

  10. Valentine Logar
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 11:54:07

    That is the bomb of a tape dispenser! I can think of many people I would give something like that to.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Wrap-Up That Rascal! « Misty's Laws
  12. renée a. schuls-jacobson
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 09:36:48

    About to get on the plane and the flight attendant is telling hilarious jokes. Seriously. Really good. But it’s taking forever. Witty banter at the airport. Helps take the edge off flying.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 12:38:51

      I always love it when the flight crew have real senses of humor and can make the passengers laugh. Good for them! Hope your flight was a smooth one. (Having seen FLIGHT at the movies this past weekend, I’m not sure I’m anxious to get on a plane any time soon).

      Reply

  13. linda
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 09:39:58

    This one is a twenty years in the making of a whole bunch of people doing something nice. When I began working for the state, I moved into an older apartment (but in a nice area of town, away from the college, and right above stinky Mike). I was trying to explain to some of the girls at work what my “pad” looked like, how it was decorated, what kind of furniture, yada, yada…… the place was built in the sixties, had green shag carpet, and I had a lot of furniture from that era, especially a Formica topped wrought iron dining table with green vinyl wrought iron captains chairs. When I finished the description, Nancy mentioned that I probably only needed a velvet Elvis on the wall to complete the look. Those “paintings” are nearly impossible to find, given they were never licensed by Graceland. Over the years, those girls would gift me Elvis memorabilia any time they ran across stuff, just because they thought I needed it for the apartment. The story spread around, and I became a reluctant Elvis fan. I have clocks, radios, cookie tins, matchbooks from Graceland, lots of Elvis stuff. The final gift was last year, when I returned to work after a vacation, one of my coworkers (who had heard thru the state grapevine the “velvet Elvis” story) had left a velvet Elvis on my desk! No note, nothing, just the tackier than all get out painting! I moved out of that apartment 17 years ago, a different job 12 years ago (with the same agency, but a couple of hundred miles away), and a completely different set of “girls” in the office. I proudly display the velvet Elvis on the wall of my spanking brand new home, where it probably has never felt more out of place. I don’t have the furniture, or the “pad”, but thanx to Nancy, I’ve got a lot of Elvis “stuff” all over the house.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 12:42:39

      Can I just tell you how much I adored this story. First, some background . . . I am actually a true blue Elvis fan. Not a reluctant one at all! And when I read about all the paraphenalia you have collected over the years . . . such jealousy! 🙂 I think that is so touching that someone would go to those lengths to find something like that for you, just because of a story. How special you must have felt when you saw that painting.

      Also . . . if you ever feel the need to rid yourself of any of that Elvis stuff, I would be happy to take it off your hands for you. Especially that painting. 😉

      Reply

  14. Go Jules Go
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 09:45:54

    Your secretary sounds amazing!

    And, well, I recall a couple of times a certain blogger cheered me up via snail mail…like the day I got my chipmunk bookmark!

    I’ll never forget the time my office -where I worked for one year right out of college- threw a massive surprise party for me before my last day. Almost 100 people brought in homemade food and wrote the most touching notes in a card. I had had no idea that all of these people cared that much – it blew me away.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 12:46:14

      Wow, that is really impressive! Especially after only a year. You must have really built a great reputation and touched a lot of people in that short time you were there. Which, since I know you, is completely unsurprising! 🙂

      Reply

  15. Jamster
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 10:47:59

    I am actually more of one of the people that are doing the little surprises for people, it’s hard to find the kind of friends that do that kind of thing for you. I did have a few of my friends take me shopping once, since I needed something new to wear. At the end of the shopping trip, they bought me a full outfit, telling me this was a “day for you.” Just to let me know they cared, it was nice to have someone treat me with something nice for a change!

    Your secretary is wonderful, and sounds like that’s a nice kind of person to know..

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 12:46:58

      Wow, that is super sweet of your friends to do that for you. If you are the one always doing things for others, sounds like it was a much needed treat for you!

      Reply

  16. She's a Maineiac
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 12:52:40

    Once upon a time I was having the worst, most hellish week. Then out of the blue, my husband handed me this envelope from the mail. And inside was the most glorious card. Along with bonus fridge magnets. From the sweetest person/blogger. It truly made me laugh and that was something that was very hard to do last week as all I wanted to do was cry. So thank YOU for being you. (I swear I’m not kissing up to win, I really mean this….)

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 12:48:58

      Awww, you are so sweet! And I may have just put your name in that hat about 10 times after that comment. 😉 (Kidding, I totally didn’t).

      I am so glad I was able to make you laugh. Especially with that kind of week. Not that I want you to continue having bad weeks, but you might wanna prepare yourself for a certain Xmas present I picked up this past weekend! Fa la la la MWAHAHAHAHAHA!!! 😀

      Reply

  17. agirlwhogames
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 16:22:40

    (Before I get to the comment, I have to apologize for being a read-only member of your blog. My shyness extends to the Internet, oddly enough, so I don’t tend to interact with the people whose blogs I read, even though I want to. Especially since your blog posts contain some of the best photos I’ve seen. And you’re getting a comment on this post because you sounded so sad that no one was commenting on it in your latest post.)

    I lost my first real-world, all-grown-up job and it wrecked me. For three months I kept it together and became the apartment housewife while searching for work, but I kept falling down the rabbit hole of self-doubt the longer I went without a job.

    Then one morning I returned from a resume-writing workshop to a trail of peanut butter cups (still wrapped) leading from the front door of my apartment to my bedroom. Inside was a Happy Arbor Day balloon (it was November), a copy of Terry Pratchett’s latest novel (my favorite author), a chicken salad sandwich (it was lunchtime), a cup of Irish breakfast tea in a travel mug (I’m a tea-aholic), and a piece of newspaper with the words “Cheer the Hell Up, Asshole, You’re The Smartest One Here and Your Unemployment Benefits Make You The Highest-Paid Roommate.” Needless to say I laughed until I cried, and then I cried until I laughed. My three roommates had banded together to remind me that the world wasn’t ending just because I was having trouble finding work, and that unexpected gesture of kindness kept me going until I found work a month later.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 15:00:35

      Oh, wow. Did I sound that pathetic? I was going for playful and cajoling. Guess I missed that mark big time, huh? Drats. But I’m glad whatever it was finally brought you out of lurkdom. Welcome to the crazy, girl. 😉

      That is a really sweet story! What great roommates you have/had. My roommates were always more like demons then sweet friends, so you were very lucky to have them. And yay for the new job!!

      Stop in to chat again sometime. Don’t make me go pathetic again to make it happen! 🙂

      Reply

      • agirlwhogames
        Nov 19, 2012 @ 15:04:22

        Aw, I didn’t think it was pathetic at all! Just a little lonely. And I happened to be feeling a little lonely that day myself, so I commented.

        And yes, I am lucky to have those roommates. We still live together. Honestly, how could I not stay in the apartment after that kind of treatment? Plus they pony up the rent on time, which is so important.

        Reply

  18. cestlavie22
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 18:28:16

    I really had to wrack my brain for this one. But one day I had a really shitty day- actually thought I was gonna lose my job and have extreme anxiety issues. My best guy friend drove all the way to meet me at a parking lot just to sit next to me and listen to me whine and complain. It sounds like no big deal but to me it meant the world.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 15:01:39

      Are you kidding? That sounds like a HUGE deal. Someone who cares enough about you to come see you in a moment of strife and just sit and listen to you vent? That is a really good friend. You are lucky to have him. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

