It’s a Major Award!!

image

The first time I saw A Christmas Story, I was 8 years old.  And I hated it. Well, I didn’t really hate it. But, unfortunately, I was a very impressionable and meek young girl who was eager to please. Obviously, this was before I became a teenager.

Christmas of 1983 was spent in Arizona, visiting with my grandparents.  One day, during this holiday season in the desert, my grandparents decided to take me to see this new Christmas movie that had just come out in theaters.  So there I was, sitting in a dark theater, about the same age as the main character I was watching on the big screen, and first experiencing the gloriousness that was A Christmas Story.  Obviously, I didn’t understand a lot of the more adult humor, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

However, when the movie was over, my grandparents asked me what I thought about it.  And feeling very nervous and on the spot, I told them I didn’t really know.  It was then that they told me how much they hated it and how they thought it was incredibly stupid and horrible.  They railed on it.  Continuously.  So, wanting to be a good agreeable little girl, I heartily agreed with them.  And thus my opinion of the movie was cemented . . . until many years later.  I don’t remember the next time I saw the movie.  Maybe high school, possibly college, or even later in life.  But I remember realizing how brilliant and hysterical the movie was.  Since then, I have seen the movie dozens, if not hundreds, of times.  And my love has only increased with each watching of this epic tale.

And this is why I am incredibly excited to give away this epic and fun Christmas Story prize!  Even though it took me a while to realize its brilliance, it has become one of my most beloved holiday movies.  And I am happy to share these treats with some lucky winner.

As I foretold, my son 7 would be picking a name out of a hat to choose the winner this time, thus releasing me from all blame and guilt for the decision.  Yep, that’s how I roll.  I place all blame squarely on the heads of my kiddos.  I am a super duper mom, yo.

image

And while the picking of a name is not based on the quality of the stories, I want to say that those stories were fantastic.  Some painful, some hilarious, all wonderful.  Thank you for sharing your crazy holiday stories with me.  I enjoyed them all!!

So, without further ado, the winner, as picked by my son 7, is:

image

WINOPANTS!!!

Congrats to you, my girl.  Your story was full of awesome, and you were the lucky name picked by my son!  Hooray for you.  Now, you just need to send me your address, so I can get these fab prizes off to you, and hopefully even get them to you by the big fa ra ra ra ra day.  Send to:  mistyslaws at gmail dot com.

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Todd
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 08:47:56

    Do you remember why your grandparents hated the movie so much, other than it being stupid and horrible?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:28:37

      I think it was a generational thing. They were in their 60’s, and they definitely were not the target audience for that movie. I just think they couldn’t relate and didn’t get the humor. It wasn’t their thing is all.

      Reply

  2. Go Jules Go
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 08:55:46

    Congrats, winopants!!

    I have a sort of similar story of coming to love this movie. I saw it when I was really young, and I was COMPLETELY traumatized by at least 3 scenes, namely, the tongue on the pole. (Also – when they go to see santa, and the bb gun.)

    Now, of course, I think it’s brilliant. But if I’m being honest, there’s a liiiittle part of me that kind of resents this movie for scarring me. Which is weird. Because I’m the youngest in my family (by far) and I saw a ton of age-inappropriate movies growing up. Maybe because when you’re a kid, you don’t expect a Christmas movie starring kids your age to be scary?

    Wow. This got deep. How much do I owe you, Dr. / Esq.?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:30:35

      I’m here to bring out all of those demons, Jules. It’s the only way to heal.

      So . . . how does that make you FEEL?

      You can pay me in bacon and booze.

      Reply

  3. renée a. schuls-jacobson
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 09:54:35

    My neighbor has the life sized leg lamp in her window right now. 😉

    By the way, I’m sure you said May. I lost my scrap of paper and then had to attempt to recreate my list. Would you be willing to be a second guest writer in May? I’d love to have you! I’m so disorganized when it comes to this stuff!

    I also love that your son really draws a name out of a hat. Awesome.

    Reply

  4. winopants
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 14:56:23

    Reallly?!?!? RARW. Love it. Thank you.

    Reply

  5. Kitten Thunder's Girl
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 18:59:07

    Shoot. I forgot to tell you my story. Which is actually appropriate because mine is an after Christmas story – the story of how we took our tree down.

    In my house, as a child, we took down the tree based on when something interesting was going on outside. This will seem kind of macabre, but something always happened in our neighborhood in January and we’d open the front door (which we never used) and watch out the window while we undecorated the tree.

    The interesting things included SWAT using our yard as headquarters before going into a house up the street to arrest drug dealers, a semi backing through our yard because he missed a turn, a guy with a new 4 wheeler crashing into our fence, a shoot out between two houses across the street, and (sadly) one of the men from the previous year’s shoot out committing suicide. We didn’t rejoice in these situations, but, as people do, we watched.

    I should point out that we did not live in some inner city ghetto and the neighborhood was safe and lovely to live in the other 364 days a year.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:34:41

      Wow. That is a bit macabre. But also fascinating. We are usually just watching football when the tree comes down. Playoff season and all, ya know. Now I feel deprived that I’ve never had a SWAT team camped out on my front lawn!

      Reply

  6. She's a Maineiac
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 20:51:55

    That is movie that grows on you. now that I’ve seen it a few billion times, I quite like it. As you know, Jim and I cemented our future relationship based on our mutual love of this movie.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:37:30

      If you both love that movie, you are pretty much destined to be together. It’s kismet.

      I actually didn’t even SEE it this year!! It’s usually on at my SIL’s house all day, so I get to see most of it, but she didn’t have it on any of the TVs, and I never watched it before that day, assuming I’d catch it that day. I feel somewhat lacking because of missing it. 😦

      Reply

  7. Valerie
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 22:20:49

    Yay Winopants!!!

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

  8. Leauxra
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 22:29:30

    You give away the nicest things!

    I saw the movie by accident. We were decorating the tree one year, and Mom found the movie on cable. And then we weren’t decorating the tree, just staring in rapt silence. I will always love that movie.

    Reply

    • Leauxra
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 22:31:45

      Oh, and for your information… ahem. The movie took place thirty odd years before the movie came out, right? Well… It’s been almost the same amount of time since the movie came out.

      Basically, we could write this movie to take place in the early 80’s and it would be as far away as the movie was from the time period it was about.

      Reply

      • mistyslaws
        Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:40:52

        I love that you were so immersed in the movie, you stopped decorating the tree. That is the sign of a great movie.

        According to Wickepedia, the movie is supposed to take place in the late 30’s/early 40’s, but no specific date is ever used. If that’s the case, I think we have a few more years before we can make it. How about you start working on that screenplay now, and we should be ready by the time the appropriate time rolls around. 😉

        Reply

  9. susielindau
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 09:25:01

    I don’t think I saw the movie until later in life and thought it was pretty funny. I think it was one of the few movies made in that era where the protagonist is narrating. Who can hate a movie that includes a “leg lamp!”

    Reply

  10. pegoleg
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:01:58

    Congrats to Ms. Pants! I was older when the movie came out so it’s not hard-wired into my Christmas-loving brain like “It’s a Wonderful Life” (which I cannot find on TV anywhere, again this year), but it was an instant classic.

    Reply

    • rachelocal
      Dec 18, 2012 @ 16:00:25

      Peg! I love “It’s a Wonderful Life,” which I think I mentioned on your blog. I bought it and then bought a back up copy–that’s how much I’m into it.

      Reply

      • pegoleg
        Dec 18, 2012 @ 16:38:35

        I don’t think I’ve seen it in 3 years – it’s never on TV anymore. They’re running Miracle on 34th Street 24/7, which is a good movie, but not the one I’m longing to see. Send me one of your copies, OK?

        Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:44:05

      Did you find It’s a Wonderful Life? NBC owns it, so they hold it captive and only show it once a year, usually the Saturday before Xmas. This year it was Xmas Eve. We happened upon it after the guests left and we finally crashed and ate some food before the big presents set up extravaganza. Hope you got to see it this year, Peg. It is indeed an excellent film.

      Reply

  11. rachelocal
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 16:01:21

    Congrats to Winopants! I haven’t watched A Christmas Story yet this year. Or Elf. Or It’s a Wonerful Life. It’s like I’m saving them all for closer to Christmas and now I only have one week to watch them ALL. So much to do!

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Happy Christmaqwanzestivusukkah!! « Misty's Laws

Leave a Reply

