The Sky’s the Limit

Almost a year ago, I did a post where I pretty much just apologized, then showed you all a bunch of pics I had taken of sunsets.  Then, after the pictures, I kinda told everyone to fuck off.  Oops.  I may have been a little touchy about the whole sensitive side I was showing and was trying to preemptively deflect the expected criticism of the post.  I mean, that’s probably what my therapist would say . . . if I had a therapist.  I assume.

But that was almost an entire year ago!  I am so much more mature than that now.  And while technically I am the same age that I was when that was posted (I had just turned 37, and at this moment I am still a month and a half away from my next birthday), I feel like I have grown over this past year.  I am stronger and more confident in my abilities and comfortable with what I am putting out there in the blogosphere.  Mostly.

So, this post is once again going to be pictures of gorgeous skies that I have seen over the past year and was able to snap a picture of, usually as I’m driving home into the sun.  What it’s not gonna be, though, is apologetic.  I love me some sunsets.  And I’m a proud sunset lover.  Don’t hate me for my preferences.  My love is just as pure as yours.

Picture 2025

And this is where I show you just how unpredictable I am . . . because this here, this is a sunrise.  Surprise!!  I took this early (way too early) one morning last year when we took the kids to Ocean City, MD for spring break.  This was the view from our hotel room.  Amazing, no?

4/3/12

4/3/12

Now this is a sunset in Ocean City.  See, OCMD is basically just one really long peninsula, with the Atlantic Ocean on one side and the bay on the other.  Our hotel was high enough that we could actually see both the ocean and the bay.  This was an evening where the sun had just sunk down below the horizon and night was just about upon us.  But you can still see a little of the glow over the bay, giving it a nice orange streak.

6/6/12

6/6/12

Big huge fluffy white clouds floating in a dark blue sky.  What’s not to love about this?  Also . . . I took this while driving on a highway.  Skills . . . mad skills, yo.

Picture 3356

6/7/12

Rainbow in my backyard?  Yes, I am actually that special.  See?  Told you I was magical.  Proof!

7/7/12

7/7/12

Pretty summer sunset.  Ahhhh . . .

7/22/12

7/22/12

This was in Ocean City during our summer trip.  I may have put this in a post back then, but cannot remember.  I just love the swept away look of the wispy clouds here.  So pretty.

7/24/12

7/24/12

Another Ocean City sunset over the bay . . . from ground level this time.

8/9/12

8/9/12

This was just a spectacular sky.  I was walking from my office to the parking garage, and saw a group of people in front of me looking up and pointing to the sky.  When I looked to see what was so engaging, I saw this wall of clouds moving across the sky at a fast clip, covering the sun.  There was a storm coming, and what it created was this magnificent half sky.  It was breathtaking.

8/11/12

8/11/12

This was a gorgeous summer sunset.  It looked like the entire sky was on fire. 

10/13/12

10/13/12

Pre-Halloween spider web with sunlight shining through.

10/18/12

10/18/12

It’s hard to explain what was happening here.  This was during my morning commute.  I was driving into this soupy haze, and then all of a sudden BAM, the sunlight just pierced through in this one spot and lit everything up in this amazing glow.  The picture doesn’t really do it justice.  But it was pretty amazing.

10/18/12

10/18/12

This was the same day as the above sunrise, but in the afternoon/evening.  I love how it looked like this wall of dark foreboding clouds was kind of rushing towards the blue sky, in an attempt to envelope it.  Oh, but the sky kept getting better and better as the night approached (I have a long drive home) . . .

10/18/12

10/18/12

Picture 6599

10/18/12

Picture 6603

10/18/12

10/18/12

The sky was incredible that day.  I took so many pictures driving home.  I’m shocked I didn’t get into an accident, honestly, because my eyes were looking up the entire time, trying to snap pics of the gorgeous, ever-changing sky.

11/10/12

11/10/12

Gorgeous sunset view from my front porch.

11/26/12

11/26/12

Another beautiful sunset as I was driving home from work.

11/30/12

11/30/12

Another sky on fire.

1/9/13

1/9/13

Another wall of clouds drifting over the sunset.

For those of you who hung in there with me, thank you for taking this journey with me through a year of my penchance for photographing the sky.

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike C
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 08:43:27

    Very nice!

    Reply

  2. mark
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 09:20:51

    You’re sounding a bit like Rihanna – “Unapologetic.” Beautiful collection.

    Reply

  3. Go Jules Go
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 09:36:30

    I can’t believe all of these are just from the past year! The rainbow is incredible, and I love the spider web.

    I’m glad you don’t feel like you have to apologize this go ’round. Isn’t blogging grand? (I’m actually being serious.)

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:40:09

      Yep. I’m making it my own. And thanks. I actually had 2 rainbow pics (2 different rainbows from months apart) but was feeling like it was getting a bit redundant.

      Reply

  4. One Old Sage
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 10:29:15

    These are great. Ignore the critics and post pics to your hearts content.

    Reply

  5. renée a. schuls-jacobson
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 10:54:59

    I love that you are looking up! The sky is a magnificent miracle that people tend to ignore. Thanks for sharing. I liked 11/30. Stunning.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:41:03

      Thank you. And yeah, it is a grand wonderful thing that most people seem to ignore. I find it fascinating and breathtaking. And every once in a while . . . picture perfect. 🙂

      Reply

  6. Seraphinalina
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 11:00:54

    My husband has a soft spot for sunsets/sunrises. When we are visiting his family in Manitoba and we’re at “the lake” he gets up at ungodly hours of the morning to take pictures of the sunrise. You have a great set of pictures there, both the beautiful and dramatic.

    Reply

  7. andrea-maybe it's just me
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 16:20:16

    Those are fabulous! The wild one of the sun made me think I wasn’t supposed to look directly at it (um, duh) Love all of the white cotton clouds!

    Reply

  8. cestlavie22
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 20:16:20

    This was the relaxing post I needed to find. Love when the sky has a calming affect on me. These pics were awesome.

    Reply

  9. sarah9188
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 20:17:12

    I love sunsets, and I haven’t seen many lately as I’m in a windowless office till dark much of the time.

    And I love Ocean City, Md. My old stomping grounds before I moved away with the hubby. Now to convince him to take me there for a visit once it gets warmer… 🙂

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:43:18

      Boo for windowless offices. I have windows, but they face other buildings, so it’s not much better. 😦

      Yes, a return visit to the OC is indeed in order! Good times.

      Reply

  10. Valentine Logar
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 06:09:00

    I love all of these, lovely. Sometimes, pictures like this are simply just what is needed.

    Reply

  11. Valerie
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 21:59:14

    Yay!!!! Fluffy white clouds are my favorite!!!

    And jelly beans.

    At the same time.

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Weekly Whacked: Sights & Sounds Around Town « Misty's Laws
  13. Hippie Cahier
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 08:38:43

    I would think you’d owe an apology for not posting these. There was a spectacular sky that you’d have loved the other morning along Route 50 headed west: a wall of solid white cloud cover to the west with a very distinct line dividing it from a wall of solid, bright blue cloudless sky to the east. I’m not as brave as you with the camera, so you’ll have to take my word for it.

    After reading your introduction, when I saw your first picture, I thought, “That’s a pretty dangerous commute – straight into the ocean? Is she a deep-sea diver?” Kidding. I kid.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:45:35

      Oh Debbie. (Can I call you that? I feel we’ve progressed to a first name basis, no?).

      Yeah, I probably would have crashed into something trying to capture THAT on my phone. I’m a daredevil like that.

      There will be no kidding on this here blog. It is verboten!

      Reply

  14. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 15:39:55

    I like your sunset pictures! As long as you don’t get in a car wreck, of course…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

