Winter Pick Me Up

Well, as we’ve previously discussed, it seems that we are all in the throes of winter doldrums.  Whether from the bitter cold (except for those of you down under, then it’s from searing HEAT); or the fact that you only get to experience sunlight from your office windows, because it’s dark on the way in and on the way home from work; or the fact that most people I know have come down with some type of plague during this lovely January month.  Whatever it is that’s getting you down and in the dumps, you are not alone.  And while that sense of harmony with the rest of the depressed world probably doesn’t help perk up your mood, I know what will . . . presents!!

That’s right . . . it’s time for another round of pick me ups, via an infamous Misty’s Laws’ giveaway!!

So, I guess you’re wondering what is on the menu of this smorgasbord of prizes this go round.  Well . . . Vanna, tell them what they’ve won!!  Or, could possibly win, anyway.

IMG_0272

iPhone case

IMG_0275

Typewriter computer decal

IMG_0273

Magnet

IMG_0274

Notepad

IMG_0276

Rubik’s cube type keychain

Pretty good haul, yes?  Enough to perk up even the greyest mood, I’d imagine.  So, if you are interested in these items, all you need to do is leave a comment below telling me what you have been doing to try to keep positive during these gloomy winter months.  I’m sure everyone would be happy to hear any helpful tips to keep our spirits up.

Do you make a mug of hot chocolate and sip it by the fire while the bitter wind blows outside?  Take a nice hot soothing bath, while reading a good book and having a glass of wine?  Or even take a walk around the neighborhood for some exercise and a little Vitamin D on a sunny but brisk day?  Those are just some of the things that I’ve been doing recently to try to keep my mood up.

So go ahead and share your own ideas with the class, and you’ll get a chance to win these fab items and give yourself a little pick me up.  I can’t wait to hear what you come up with.  And then I get to do one of my favoritest things . . . send presents to one of my friends!

60 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Danielle Charlton Geer
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 08:46:52

    I’m so freaking giddy about the bitter cold that no one can stand me. Here’s my method for getting through the winter doldrums:

    1. Live in California for the first 48 years of your life.

    2. Spend the majority of those years living on the northern CA coast, where there are only two seasons: The rainy season and the windy season.

    3. Get so fucking sick of rain you can barely stand yourself.

    4. Move to New York.

    5. Look forward to two things: Amish people and Snow.

    6. Barely survive the godfreakingawful heat and humidity of your first summer there.

    After all of that, Snow is sooooooo exciting. It’s white! It’s pretty! It’s glittery!!! You’re the only one of your friends to ever see the thermometer on your car hit the minuses!!!!

    *SQUEEEEEEEEE!!!!*

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 08:51:19

      You are an obnoxious snowhore! You do know that, right? 😉 I still love you.

      Having been born and raised in the Northeast, I have seen enough snow to last a lifetime. I would love to live in Cali. Maybe not in that windy/rainy part, but a bit down south? Yep, I’m all for it.

      Reply

  2. Leauxra
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 08:48:24

    Honestly, I have been crocheting hats like a lonely old aunt with 5,000 cats. It actually helps, though. Cutting off my hair did NOTHING. Only yarn will solve this. 🙂

    Reply

  3. renée a. schuls-jacobson
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 08:51:27

    Misty: I hate winter so much! I just ate a ton of KFC. And then I wanted to go on my treadmill; only to discover, it was broken. My husband was able to preprogram it so that I can walk at a normal pace — BUT THEN I HAVE TO RUN at 5 mph in intervals for 20 minutes. I think he is trying to kill me. I’ll either look great by Spring, or I’ll need more fried chicken! 😉

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 08:57:16

      Oh man, that doesn’t sound fun at all! Maybe just wait until you are in Florida, and then just run outside? I imagine it’s about 70* down there, no? Oh, and did I mention that I hate you a little bit? Yeah, so . . . that. 😉

      Reply

  4. Go Jules Go
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 08:52:04

    Ahh you reminded me I am so overdue for a ‘stache glasses giveaway! That magnet and phone case are sweeeeeet.

    And yes, this is cheating, because the thing I do to cheer myself up in January is hang out with the most awesome bloggettes I can find. 😉 No but seriously.

    Reply

    • aliceatwonderland
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 11:23:21

      I really think I need a pair of those glasses. On account of the sad. Or something.

      Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:03:43

      That is totally NOT cheating, Jules. That is the best way to cheer up!! 😉

      And your most recent giveaway is even better than stache glasses! Is that blasphemous to say?

      Reply

      • Go Jules Go
        Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:08:28

        I’m just replying to entries now, and NO, it’s not blasphemous! I’m glad you agree. I’m seriously tempted to move onto the next phase of bloggy branding (doesn’t that make it sound like I know what I’m talking about?). …Is bacon too played out??

        Reply

  5. cornfedgirl
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 09:22:42

    I attempt to walk in the mornings and make myself get out of the house for fun once a week. Sometimes I submit to the funk and I sit on my ass and read an entire book in one afternoon.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:06:30

      Yeah, but reading a book helps, too, because you can escape into whatever world you are reading about at the time. So for the moment, your problems go away, and you are whisked away to a fantasy world. Right?

      Reply

  6. The Byronic Man
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 09:51:07

    Statistically, yesterday was the most “depressed” day of the year. True story. It was a holiday, so that was good! It was a holiday for an assassinated man, so that’s bad. It was unseasonably warm and sunny here so that was good! It’s a dire sign for this summer, though, so that’s bad…

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:07:35

      I’m thinking, pretty much, you just can’t win in January. At least you guys are getting unseasonably warm out there. I’m still waiting for ours.

      Reply

  7. Rosie
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 10:01:27

    I don’t need a prize, but what I do to cheer myself up, is annoy others. Since Dec 22, I have been really over-using the expression “It’s not the end of the world!” 🙂

    Reply

  8. aliceatwonderland
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 11:21:52

    PRESENTS? That cheers me up right there. One thing that helped me was to blog about it. I had hesitated to do so, because I didn’t want it to sound like I was fishing for sympathy. But the response was tremendous. So many people going through the same thing and offering support. It felt great. Another good thing to do is exercise. I know, I am not a fan, but a good, brisk walk can help ease anxiety and depression. Oh, and one more thing.

    Presents!!!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:10:27

      See? Just the thought of presents has already brightened your day! My work here is done . . .

      It is amazing how many people are going through this same thing. And I think the sense of community about it really does help as well!

      Reply

  9. mark
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 11:41:39

    Whiskey. Lots of whiskey.

    Reply

  10. freshveggies/gingerleaphoto
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 12:16:40

    I kinda like winter but we still get lots of sunshine where I live. This year has been seriously depressing for me though. I might have to resort to lots of whiskey and yarn as suggested above … gawd knows what kind of mayhem that will cause.

    Reply

  11. Jeff Laws
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 12:23:01

    I try to beat the winter blah’s by going outside my apartment as little as possible. I don’t mind snow or the cold (unless it’s really freaking cold) as long as the roads are fine.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:13:49

      Yeah, that whole working thing really limits my ability to hibernate under the covers in my bed all winter. Damn my need for a steady paycheck and food for my kids!!

      Reply

  12. pegoleg
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:13:39

    Great idea! Here are just a few handy tips that are helping me to get through the January doldrums:
    1) Hide all the Ginsu knives in the house
    2) Push the car out of the garage before starting it
    3) Don’t drive over that tall bridge with the very, very long drop into the river
    4) Remove any pieces of good, sturdy rope that are long enough to make a noose

    With these precautions in place, I’m confident I can hold out until February, even if, from time to time, I do feel just a teeny, weentsy bit down-in-the-dumps.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:15:22

      Might I add to the list:

      5) Make an appointment with a therapist.

      Oh, and make sure all of your pill bottles have child proof caps. By the time you get into those things, you will be too tired to do anything about those feelings of depression. And you’ll just be angry, which is better. Right?

      Reply

  13. sarah9188
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:24:32

    I may or may not turn on my music and dance when I feel sad. Or curl up and get lost in a book until I can’t remember what made me feel crummy.

    Reply

  14. Kitten Thunder's Girl
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:46:49

    I have given up working in my office and now live on the couch, under a blanket. As I type this right now there is a grey kitten tucked under my right arm, resting his paws on the clicker of the track pad on my computer. If I could get him to flex his toes on demand, he’d actually deserve a salary from KnowSocial.

    Also, after four days of well below zero, it is in the 40s and I went outside to look at Jupiter without socks, shoes or a coat last night. It’s the joy in the little things…

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:16:55

      I like it. Can I have a job there, too? I would love to work from my couch. 😉

      I hear you on the 40* thing. It’s gonna be in the upper 30’s today, and I feel like it’s a warm spell. 50’s tomorrow!! I just may break out the shorts!!

      Reply

  15. Leanne Shirtliffe (Ironic Mom)
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 14:35:39

    Brilliant. (1) Arrange a writing weekend to a fantastic cabin overlooking a lake and mountain with four of your best writing friends, (2) bring wine and laptops, (3) laugh a lot.

    That’s what I did this past weekend. For the two weeks prior to it, I described myself as listless. I am no longer listless. (Does that make me list-ful?)

    Also, 5000mg of Vitamin D daily in winter…

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:19:10

      List-ful. Excellent.

      I so wish I could do a weekend away with friends. But right now the hubs is a travelling fool, so he’s hardly ever home and I have to keep the home fires burning, or some such. Someone has to be there to feed the kids, at the very least.

      But the Vitamin D suggestion . . . stellar.

      Reply

  16. hiddinsight
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 15:12:05

    I decided to pay my bills. That worked, but it was only a temporary high. So then I make sure I have some coffee. And paint my toenails. And then, if I’m still wired, I torture the dog. Spring must be just around the corner…I can smell it. A-choo.

    Reply

  17. linda
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 17:55:47

    I just did this this weekend….feelin’ kinda funky….I dance like no one is watching (mainly because the blinds are closed, and I’ve got the music on some headphones). This usually does the trick, but if not…all this next week, I’ll get a giggle picturing what my fat ass looked like….dancing around the house with no music. The dog and the cat keep their opinions to themselves (if they want dinner).

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:20:43

      Oh, you can bet they are probably giggling behind your back about that crazy human mommy of theirs strutting her stuff! Animals are kinda assholes like that. I imagine.

      Reply

  18. Vesta Vayne
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 18:22:26

    Having won a Misty giveaway previously, I won’t enter.

    Plus, I live in Southern California – it’s 81 degrees outside. Don’t hate me.

    Reply

  19. Letty
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 18:35:57

    I literally count the extra minutes of daylight/sunlight/cloudlight every single day. Made easier by going to Wunderground. It’s the gift that keeps giving, until the summer solstice, when everyone else is saying hurrah! and I’m saying “damn, 1 minute less of daylight/sunlight/cloudlight.”

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:23:22

      I do enjoy the fact that it is getting a little bit lighter every day. And I’ll gladly trade the skies darkening prior to 9:00 pm for much warmer weather in the summer.

      Reply

  20. Jennifer June Clark
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 19:18:29

    Also in Cali. 72 and sunny today. Please don’t hate me, either. I get outside and play in the dirt. Yesterday, I planted some roses. Moved a couple others. The sunlight helps.

    When I need to cheer up, I bake something. Lately, it’s been loaves of crusty bread. Other times, it’s banana muffin. Yesterday, it was an apple galette. As you can imagine, my family is very happy when I get the blahs.

    Reply

  21. One Old Sage
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 19:24:10

    I find that modern pharmacology helps…a lot!

    Reply

  22. tazer warrior princess
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 00:49:37

    AAAAHH I WANT THAT NOTE PAD!!!!

    I have been sunning myself every day this weekend, and spending time at the beach. Oooh yes, 75* and clear as a bell this weekend. It was amazing.

    To keep myself entertained, I’ve been “dubbing” conversations in my head when I can see people having an animated conversation, but can’t hear them.

    “WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU FORGOT TO GET THE BUTTPLUGS!?”

    Reply

  23. Valerie
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 18:49:50

    So far I’ve spent most of the winter trying not to kill my mother in law, who recently got laid off and became shockingly more annoying than she was previously. Which I honestly didn’t think was possible.

    Hopefully spring will get her out of the house… I shall sacrific a virgin to make this so.

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:28:16

      Wait, there are still virgins out there . . . in Jersey????

      How about you save up and send her on an old people cruise? That will give you a blissful week without her, and maybe she’ll meet someone, fall in love, and move the hell out of your house. It’s a thought . . .

      Reply

  24. the cotton floozy
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 19:32:32

    I have Reverse Seasonal Affected Disorder which means that I love the weather to be like my favorite fictional British men — cold, dark, and gloomy. So, to make myself relevant to this thread, I will give you the three tips that helped me survive last summer. First, drugs. Second, drugs. Third, religion. Just kidding, I mean drugs.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:29:19

      What? So you mean that you LIKE this weather? Oh man, that just seems so . . . wrong.

      Then again, your tips are very helpful, so I guess I’ll let it slide. This time.

      Reply

  25. Beth
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 09:26:18

    I’m usually a snowboarder, so winter doesn’t usually bother me much. But this winter, I’m pregnant. So, no winter hobby. I’ve been keeping myself sane be reminding myself that the last baby was born in July, and being huge and uncomfortable in 5 degree weather is way better than in 95 degree weather. =)

    Reply

  26. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 11:16:34

    We’ve been looking at houses to potentially buy. The thought of not living at my mom’s house soon has really brightened my mood.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:31:57

      I could not even fathom living with my mother again. Then again, my mom is certifiable, and not in a fun and crazy way, more like a “how do I avoid killing this bitch for being so horrible?” way. I’m sure your mom is better, but no kid should ever have to move back in with their parents. It’s unnatural.

      Good luck finding a house!! Soon, I hope.

      Reply

  27. transformednonconformist
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 02:51:51

    I HATE HATE HATE the cold, but I have started dating this girl who likes it. Luckily, she’s smoking hot. Just this morning, she says, “Do you want to go for a walk?”

    Let me remind you again that I have a serious aversion to cold weather. I despise it, but I knew her question was actually girl code for “I want to take a walk. Grab your coat.” So we took a walk.

    When she is not here, my tactic for avoiding the winter doldrums is pretty simple.

    1. Do not venture outside. I even make my daughter go out to get the mail.

    2. Keep the heat cranked up to 75. This is not a joke. I hate being cold.

    3. Order groceries online to have delivered See rule #1.

    Luckily, I keep a pretty upbeat attitude most of the time so I don’t get down easily. Plus, I have a girlfriend who makes house calls, so I am good to go until spring.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:34:31

      I am aware of your cold aversion, and was wondering how you would answer this question.

      And by girlfriend who’s smoking hot, what you really mean is that you have her tied up in your basement and she’s currently stoking the flames of your furnace (and of your desire), to keep your house warm, right? I imagine that’s why I haven’t heard from her in months, no? Come on, Brett . . . fess up. And untie Red while you’re at it.

      Reply

  28. Trackback: This Should Perk You Right Up! « Misty's Laws

Leave a Reply

