The Disney Diaries: The ReDisneying

Continuing on from the first post about my exciting trip to Disney . . .

We continue our journey to the next park we visited . . . Hollywood Studios.

Wait.  I can hear what you’re thinking right now . . . “but Misty, didn’t you already do Hollywood Studios?”  (And if you aren’t asking that, you apparently didn’t read the first installment, or just weren’t paying close enough attention.  Hey!  You.  Yes, YOU.  The one over there just scrolling through to look at the pretty pictures . . . pay attention!!).

Ahem, where was I?  Oh, yes . . . the revisit to Hollywood.  The first time we visited was the first night we arrived, and we were only there for dinner and a show.  We didn’t get to actually DO anything, so we planned a whole day there later in the week.  We clear now?  Same page?  Ok, good . . . let’s move along.

This was one of my favorite parks, as it had lots of shows and activities and characters and events.  Not a ton of rides, but the one we did go on was a very popular and fun ride, and we only waited about 5 minutes for it.  Score!  We also went to a live action stunt show with car chases and motorcycles and guys catching on fire.  Pretty cool, especially with my crew of boys.  And speaking of my boys, they got to be Jedi knights in training and fight Darth Vader!  Well, one of them actually got to fight him.  My youngest was all for it until Darth appeared on the scene all big and bad, and that’s when he got scared and opted out of that activity.  There may have been some tears.  But he was proud of his brother and still got a little scroll thing for participating in the training, so it was all good.

IMG_2112

But then again, he did have a brush with fame in that he got to shake hands with a real life celebrity during the Pixar parade!

IMG_1995

The one thing we didn’t do at Hollywood was go on the one and only ride that I had specifically said that I wanted to go on.  The Aerosmith Rock & Rollercoaster.  This thing looked hella cool, and I am a fan of rollercoasters.  And although we were there for the kids, I figured mom should get one.  Just one.  But alas, it was not to be.  It was a very popular ride with huge wait times, and there was just never a good time for me to run off by myself and wait in line for 2 hours just for one ride.  So, maybe next time.

IMG_0183

This was just the entrance to the courtyard IN FRONT of the ride. How cool is that?

That same evening we visited Downtown Disney.  This is basically an open air mall type place with lots of themed restaurants and Disney type stores, including the largest Disney Store ever.  Seriously, it was so big it was actually kind of overwhelming.  Like a funhouse of huge rooms filled with more Disney crap than you can imagine.  Somehow, I only bought 2 things.  Not sure how that happened.  Maybe because of the overwhelmedness of it all.  I kind of just wanted to escape.  Too much stuff.  Too many people.  Just too much.

Picture 8267

Our goal in going to Downtown Disney, was to go to this fun restaurant someone had recommended to us as something the kids would like, called the T-Rex Cafe.  Sort of like a Rainforest Cafe, but with dinosaurs.  So, the hubs dropped me off and went to park, so I could run through the pouring rain to put our names in.  But when I got up to the restaurant, I discovered it was a two and a half hour wait.  Um, no thank you.  Luckily, there was no shortage of restaurants around us, including a Rainforest Cafe.  So, I checked at the next closest restaurant, which was this huge riverboat replica on a lake, and the wait there was 2 hours.  Getting better, but still too long.  So, I went to the restaurant beside that one:

IMG_2149

Now, if you have been reading this blog for a while, you might be familiar with both my love for Italian food, and my complete and utter disdain and hatred of all things mushroom.  And as you may know, Portobello is a type of mushroom.  So yeah, it took everything I had for my soaked to the bone and dripping self to walk inside this joint to ask how long the wait was.  But here, it was only an hour and a half, which was the best yet!  Fearing it wasn’t going to get much better, I gave our name, told the hubs where to meet me, and decided I would try one more . . . the Rainforest Cafe.  Which was all the way at the end of this huge area.  But, I figured it wasn’t like we didn’t have time.  So I trekked down there and asked them how long the wait was.  And that is where they had the audacity to tell me . . . three hours and twenty-five minutes.  Are you kidding me?   That girl is lucky I didn’t punch her in the face when she told me that.  There is no food in the world that is worth waiting that long to eat.  Especially when it is a kid themed restaurant and that would have us eating at 11:00 at night.  The fuck?

Anyway, while we were waiting for Portobello’s to vibrate me (What? They gave me a buzzer.  Sicko!), we visited some of the massive stores that were nearby.  I already mentioned the ginormous Disney Store, but there was also this super cool Lego Store there as well.  And they had all these amazing Lego sculptures (not sure what you would call them, so I’m going with that), in and around the store:

IMG_2142 IMG_2151 IMG_2153

Pretty cool, right?  How much time did those take, do you think?  Oh, and while we were walking around, I got buzzed by the restaurant . . . only a half hour after I gave them our name!  How awesome is that?  Oh, and in case you are wondering . . . my meal was delicious (spaghetti and meatballs) and free of all fungi.

IMG_0806

Moving on to the main show . . . the Magic Kingdom.  I will admit that we actually went to this park three times.  The first day we were a little too touristy, what with all the picture taking at the entrance, then down main street, then in front of the castle, etc.  By the time we finished with all of that crap, the park was filling up and the ride lines were getting super long.  So, because we a) hadn’t hurried to get on the most popular rides first thing and b) didn’t have a plan, and figured we’d just wing it . . . we went on about 3 rides before it was time to go.  Yep, you heard me.  So, although we had planned to go twice, once in the beginning of the week and again on the last day, we had to rearrange the schedule and throw one more visit in there.  The next day, we had smartened up.  Enough of this laid back crap.  That was not gonna work at this joint.  So the night before, I spread out the Disney map, my list of activities and itinerary, and I made a plan.  And you know what happened the next day?  We got on a fuckton of rides, and the kids were happy, satiated and exhausted by mid-afternoon when it was time to go back to the hotel and take naps.  That’s how you do Disney, hubs! my friends.

Here is a picture of a pidgeon on Walt Disney's head.  Because . . . why not.

Here is a random picture of a pigeon on Walt Disney’s head. Because . . . why not.

The last day we were in Disney was to be our third and final trip to the Magic Kingdom.  The day started off with a torrential downpour.  But we were determined to go anyway, so I opted to buy an overpriced umbrella in the hotel gift shop before we caught the bus to the park.  I had ponchos in my bag, but figured an umbrella would be needed as well based on the massive amount of rain coming down.  It was one of the only things I forgot to pack, and I paid $14.00 for that neglectful thought.  When we arrived at the park, after a half hour bus ride, then a 10 minute monorail trip, it was still overcast and dreary, but the rain had abated almost completely.  Of course, I attribute this to the fact that I bought an overpriced umbrella first thing in the morning from the hotel.  If I had neglected that one detail, I’m sure it would have poured all day.  You’re welcome, everyone at Disney World!!

IMG_2167 IMG_2168

Because of the rain, the crowds were definitely thinner that day.  Once we ventured a bit further into the park, it was eery how empty the place was, when the previous days it had been wall to wall people.

IMG_2164

But don’t worry . . . once the weather improved, so did the crowds.  It was once again packed full of vacationing families by late morning, and we had finally had enough Disney by around noon.  So, we bid a fond farewell to the mousehouse, and headed on back to our lovely hotel (The Hilton – Bonnet Creek, for those of you who inquired on the previous post), so we could nap, take one last dip in the amazing pool (hubs & kids), and start packing up all of our crap (me).

However, we still had one more evening at Disney, so we decided we would have a nice dinner in the hotel at a place we had been eyeing all week.  A sushi bar!!  The hubs and I are big fans of sushi, and we were getting tired of the same old boring fare.  We figured we would find something for the kids there, and that we would finally get some sushi.  Luckily, they had a kids’ menu, so the kids happily ate chicken fingers and fries.  What was super fun, was that they also actually experimented with chopsticks and with sushi, and by the end of the night, my youngest was using chop sticks on a shrimp tempora roll all by himself!!  He is a natural.  My oldest had a bit more trouble getting it, and he also was not a huge fan of the sushi he tried, but at least he was game.  That’s really all I can ask.

IMG_2551 IMG_2558

After dinner, we went to this little coffee shop next to the sushi restaurant for dessert.  They had various delicious ice creams to choose from (which I may or may not have tried about 4 of before deciding, and the girl working there may or may not have given me a bunch of snarky shit about it . . . loved her!), and we all got a scoop.  It was exceptionally good, but what I loved the most about it was the sign in the shop about the ice cream.  I like my scrumptious fatty foods to be completely and totally unapologetic, thank you:

IMG_2564

But not just dinner and dessert . . . but a show!  We discovered on our last night that there was a convention in the hotel, and that there was a dance competition right there at the hotel.  So as we were walking around, we got to see all of these couples out in the hallways, practicing for the big event.  It was like being backstage at Dancing with the Stars, although with less, you know . . . stars.  Or maybe about the same, really.

IMG_1253 IMG_1258

So, that wraps up my fun-filled tale of Disney.  Pretty short and simple, yes?  Yeah, sorry about that.  I tried to keep the first one manageable, but this one got away from me.  I just kept adding more things and realizing there was something else I needed to add, until you got . . . well, this behemoth.  Oops.

I’ll keep it short and sweet tomorrow (I’m going to reveal the winner of the old farts book), and then have another giveaway for next week of something Disneyish, so please don’t leave me yet!  I can buy your love with gifts.

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thoughtsappear
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 09:09:58

    Awwww…look at Stitch in his cute little pirate hat.

    Reply

  2. The Cutter
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 09:45:02

    Back in 1996, I was at Disney with my parents. At 9 PM, we were finally getting around to eating dinner so we checked out the Rainforest Cafe. They told us it would be a 2 hour wait.

    I’m not sure why that place is either so insanely popular or really bad at table management, but apparently, it is a huge issue.

    We quickly exited and found a nearby IHOP. It was a wise choice.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 10:18:33

      I have no idea why anyone would wait that long to eat. Especially that late at night. It’s just food, people! I mean, I get that it’s also entertainment and a draw for kids, but still. My kids were just find eating their pizza without dinosaurs and/or elephants roaring at them.

      Reply

  3. winopants
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 10:43:59

    3 hour 25 minute wait!! I wouldn’t want to be waiting tables in a place like that, everyone would show up so hungry, they’d probably try to gnaw your arm while you told the specials.
    I’m with you on having a game plan. When there are crowds, this is key!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 10:19:22

      Oh man, I can’t imagine waiting in a place like that! Although, you would hope after waiting that long that everyone would have their shit together and know what they want. Sadly, that is probably NOT the case.

      Reply

  4. Fresh Ginger
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 11:18:31

    Our Disney trip was supposedly during the ‘off-season’ and the lines were huge, we had to make reservations for everything weeks in advance … I cannot imagine what ‘peak’ season is like. We found a hidden little snack bar place that wasn’t great but was easy … we ate there several times just out of convenience.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 10:20:21

      What I found ridiculous is that when I started planning, about 3 weeks before, I found out that people book reservations for the popular restaurants SIX MONTHS PRIOR. What is wrong with people?

      Reply

      • Fresh Ginger
        Apr 23, 2013 @ 10:54:15

        My husband is one of those people. He was completely obsessed. Now, in his defense, we started planning for our trip two years out and were there for a full week — the whole nine yards. It was a big deal and he did a very good job of making it perfect. But, uh … ya, crazy.

        Reply

  5. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 11:27:42

    That it was a three an a half our wait means that when people were told “two and a half” and three hours, THEY SAID OK. That is crazy. Even for Disney World.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 10:21:21

      That’s what I just can’t understand. Unless they put their names in hoping that the wait time wasn’t accurate, like the place that we ended up eating at. Still, even if it was 2 hours instead of 3 and a half? Still crazy.

      Reply

  6. renée a. schuls-jacobson
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 12:39:00

    I’m so glad you had a great time. And it would have been REALLY cool if we had been able to meet up. Except there would have been a picture of me with you holding some kind of mask over your face. 🙂 Still, it was nice to know you were nearby. So good that you wrote BOTH your vay-cay posts before I have managed to muster even one! Still unpacking.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 10:22:49

      Ha! Nah. There would just be a picture of both of our feet! 😉

      Yeah, but I had a ton of stuff that just had to spew out! Your vacay was a bit more low key. You can take your time. If it makes you feel better, I am now completely void of all thoughts, ideas or plans for any more posts. Sigh.

      Reply

  7. Don't Quote Lily
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 13:09:47

    Sounds awesome. I hear people say it’s better to go in december or something like that, but I doubt Disney is ever NOT crowded. But omg, I remember the aerosmith rock & rollercoaster. I’m not trying to rub it in or anything, but that was my favorite…out of like all of Disney, I loved it! It scared me because it’s completely dark and you don’t know when it’s gonna start and I kind of couldn’t breathe at first but OMG…memories. Okay, I’ll stop now.
    The ice cream sign is AWESOME, love it. 😀

    Reply

  8. jny_jeanpretty
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 14:19:03

    Way to go! this was fascinating to read because so many things have changed since 1993, the last time I went to Disney.
    jean#tozchallenge

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 10:24:18

      Yeah, definitely has changed A LOT since then. My last time was close to then, and I found myself amazed at how different it was. Maybe worth a trip back? 😉

      Reply

  9. Nelson - One Old Sage
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 18:33:33

    Thanks! I was looking forward to part 2. You actually need a vacation after a vacation at Disneyland.

    Reply

  10. Daile
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 19:50:22

    There is nothing even close to this craziness in Australia. I can’t even imagine going to a theme park that has enough to do (and lengthy waiting times to match) to last more than one day!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 10:25:54

      We honestly could have stayed 2 weeks, with all the stuff we didn’t even get to.

      And yeah, leave it to the US. BIGGER!! LOUDER!! MORE EXPENSIVE!! Yeah, it’s awesome. :-/

      Reply

  11. Valerie
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 19:54:16

    Disney is exhausting. You should probably book another vacation for next week… And take me!!!

    It rained when we were at magical kingdom too… I had to spend $53 on ponchos. I’m pretty sure Disney made it rain on purpose…

    Jerks.

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 10:26:59

      How about you foot the bill for this one and drag me along, hmmm?

      I’m pretty sure Disney does control the weather in that part of Florida. I mean, they have their own zip code, why not weather control? Seems completely reasonable to me.

      Reply

  12. chemgirljaime (@chemgirljaime)
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 19:56:45

    sounds like good times had at Disney… the Rainforest Cafe isn’t nearly worth the wait or the $$ … we went there on our Disney trip (booked reservations ahead of time) and ..meh… I think I would have preferred italian.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 10:28:34

      Well, I DO love Italian, so food-wise, yes it was probably better. But the kids would have enjoyed the spectacle. I don’t think they’ve ever been.

      Reply

  13. andrea-maybe it's just me
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 20:15:13

    As you may have guessed, i got distracted by the Legos! The Toy Story and Hulk ones were not there 5 years ago!!!!

    Reply

  14. Trackback: The Quest for Mickey | Misty's Laws
  15. Trackback: The Magical Mickey Mug | Misty's Laws

Leave a Reply

