The Quest for Mickey

On my recent family trip to Disney World, which I talked about here and here, there were many parks visited and many characters met and photographed.  Strangely, though, it seemed that one was more elusive than I would have thought.  A certain mouse, who some might call “the boss of Disney.”  (Some = my 4 year old son).

As we journeyed through park after park, visiting shows and rides and character events . . . somehow, we did not get to see Mickey!  Mickey, where are you?  It seemed as if a sighting of that famous rodent was as rare as seeing a well-mannered, sober and punctual Lindsay Lohan. 

Even though we couldn’t seem to get face to face with Mickey the Mouse, his presence was felt and sensed everywhere we went.  It was almost like he was mocking us.

IMG_1157

Starting with the tickets to the parks.  There’s his smiling face right there.  Taunting us with the assumed promise of his eventual presence at the parks.  Drawing us in like a siren song, only to crush our hopes and dreams on the rocks of Epcot.

IMG_1206

And then . . . Mickey-shaped pancakes!!  Ah, surely we will see him today, after such an auspicious start to the morning.

IMG_1299

Topiary Mickey?  Nope, just not the same as the real thing.  But pretty, nonetheless.

IMG_1652

Hmm, now I feel as if you are just teasing us, Hollywood Studios.  Just the outline?  Those ears kept popping up all over the place.  It’s like they were following us . . . teasing, mocking, calling us names.  For shame, Mickey ears.  For shame.

IMG_1581

We finally thought we found him, but alas, it was only a tiny puppet sized Mickey.  Only even half of him.  Disappointing.

IMG_1217

All of this incessant and fruitless searching, made me very thirsty.  Very thirsty.  So, I decided that I would take a break for a couple tropical drinks from the poolside bar.  Mmmmm.  Wait, who were we searching for again?

IMG_1220

Back to the search . . . I knew I was getting closer when I found Mickey’s balls.

IMG_2493

There he is!  There’s Mickey!  But . . . he’s so far away.  How on earth will I ever get to hug him and squeeze him when he’s up so high on a moving float that is travelling right on by me?  Oh Mickey.  We were so close!

IMG_1239

Obviously, I needed another drink to soothe my poor battered searching soul.  This was one I had my eye on all week, so I figured what better time to have a relaxing brew.  Even if it was non-alcoholic. 

IMG_1084

Wait, what’s this now?  Backstage magic with Mickey Mouse?  MEET the master magician?  Oh boy, I think I might have actually found him.  He’s been hiding in this secret room the whole time!!  I will finally get to meet the big cheese himself.  Mickey Freakin’ Mouse!

IMG_1219

Mickey & Me

It was everything I imagined it would be and more.  As you can tell from the above picture, I couldn’t stop smiling or hugging Mickey when I met him.  I felt like I was in the presence of greatness.  He was just a super nice and sweet little mouse, and I was so happy that I was finally able to track him down.  Even if it did almost take the entire week to suss him out of his little hidey hole.  Oh Mickey.  You’re so fine.  You’re so fine, you blow my mind.  Hey, Mickey.

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. renée a. schuls-jacobson
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 09:13:14

    I never saw Mickey’s balls. WHere did they have those hidden? 😉

    Reply

  2. PigLove
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 09:22:44

    Mom is like so jealous! She wants to meet Mickey in real life too. Oh, she would be so on cloud 9!!! XOXO – Bacon

    Reply

  3. thoughtsappear
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 09:23:45

    You said, “Mickey’s balls.” ::snort::

    Reply

  4. Go Jules Go
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 10:37:36

    You could have stopped at Mickey’s balls and I would have believed it was indeed the most magical place on earth. I think that feet pic should be your new gravatar!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 13:24:55

      Balls make everything more magical.

      Wait . . . what?

      I think I will make that my new pic! At some point. When I have the time. Sigh. This will never happen . . .

      Reply

  5. Fresh Ginger
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 11:04:53

    Mickey’s Ball … made fresh with magic. I hope my husband doesn’t read this and accept that as his new ‘slogan.’ Of course, that is better than the current one. “Everyone loves Salty Balls.” His aren’t chocolatey like Chef’s on South Park but … oh, you get the idea.

    Reply

  6. Hippie Cahier
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 11:29:17

    It’s a little known secret of the amusement park trade that they keep the moneymaker mascots out of view until you’ve met your three-drink minimum.

    Reply

  7. Don't Quote Lily
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 11:45:10

    Hmm…come to think of it, I don’t remember seeing Mickey.
    Oh well, good thing his balls are readily available. 😀
    Indeed, you look super excited in that last pic. 😉

    Reply

  8. sarah9188
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 14:25:31

    This post was great – and then you go and quote “Hey Mickey!” at the end. Which made it AWESOME. But now I will be singing that song all day now. Thanks. :p

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 13:27:40

      Ha! Yeah, sorry about that. I just couldn’t resist. I said Mickey so many times in this post, I was afraid I was going to have to start paying a royalty.

      Reply

  9. bluzdude
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 18:12:37

    You should have just set out some cheese or peanut butter, and let him come to YOU.

    Reply

  10. Phil Taylor
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 18:27:23

    LOL, love the last picture. aaaah…Disneyworld, the costliest place on Earth!

    Reply

  11. Valerie
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 23:10:53

    Please tell me that last picture is in a frame!! I love it so!

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 13:30:11

      It’s not yet. I will eventually get around to printing out the millions of pictues I took. And get some in frames. And albums. Have I mentioned that my almost 5 year old’s baby book ended at about 3 months? Yeah, so . . . I’m thinking any day now.

      Reply

  12. Rosie
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 10:47:54

    Mickey might be boss, but Goofy’s much more fun!

    Reply

  13. Nelson - One Old Sage
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 21:45:53

    I really shouldn’t admit it but I have a Mickey Mouse pocket watch, wristwatch, and several pens. And as Rosie said, Goofy is much more fun. I have a sticker of him inside the case for my Tab. 🙂 That’s what I got for complaining to my doctor following my physical that I think I deserved a sticker like she gave the kids for not crying. She laughed and gave me Goofy! Should I take something from that? 🙂

    Reply

  14. Trackback: The Magical Mickey Mug | Misty's Laws
  15. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 23:17:01

    What is the Justin Bieber thing under your drinks? Poolside reading?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 13:32:55

      They were folders I got on the cheap (wonder why?) at Target. They housed all of my print-outs on all of the rides, activities, characters and shows, along with my itineraries and maps. There was a folder for each park, and then an extra for restaurants, etc. Did I mention I was well prepared? 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

