Make ’em Laugh

Last week was tough.  There were deaths, explosions, maiming, manhunts and lockdowns.  The entire country seemed to be in a state of shock and depression, and I was no exception.  So, by the end of the week, I was really glad that I had scored some tickets to go see Kathy Griffin.  We really needed some comedy in the midst of the non-stop horrors being replayed on the 24 hour news stations. 

We left the house with every intention of getting downtown with enough time to grab some sushi at a nearby restaurant.  An accident, closed street and 20 extra minutes of traffic via a detour derailed that plan.  So, we headed straight to the theater, and instead decided to drink.  Seemed like a valid alternative.

Picture 8313

I found it interesting that a bar in a theater that regularly has operatic performances serves Jello Shots.  And no, I didn’t get one, but I was tempted.  I instead had the Caramel Apple Martini.  In a plastic cup.  It was classy.  But also delicious!

When we found our seats, we realized that we had somehow ended up with pretty good ones.  We were about 5th row centerish, which was unexpected.  See, I ordered the tix months ago through Groupon, so I had no idea what I was getting, especially at half price!  But we were hooked up. 

Picture 8314

After a few minutes, a pair of girls sat down beside me.  I happened to overhear them mention something about getting the same deal, and asked them if they also got tickets from Groupon.  They said yes, and we started chatting about the great and unexpected seats.  I talked to them for a bit.  They were very . . . vivacious.  At one point, I turned to the hubs and said, “look at me being social!”  I could tell by the reluctant momentary glance away from CNN.com on his iPhone, that he was very impressed with my feigned extraversion.  At one point in our conversation, I happened to notice the top of one of the girls’ foot.  There was a face there.  I remarked about how cool it was, thinking she would tell me it was her boyfriend or husband or something.  Nope.

Picture 8316

In case you can’t tell, that’s a picture of James Dean.  On the top of her foot.  That just seems . . . painful.  She had another face on the top of her other foot as well.  Any guesses as to whose face might be there?  You know what . . . I’m not going to tell you.  I’ll let you try to figure it out . . .

Once Kathy came out, we were pretty much ready to get our laugh on.  And she didn’t disappoint.  She is basically one of those people who you either love or hate, I’ve found.  So, I’ve included a video of some of the performance, and if you are so inclined, you can see some of her show below.  (Warning:  NSFW).

Picture 8324

(Click picture for video)

photoAfter the show, we were pretty much starving, since we hadn’t had dinner yet, and it was approaching 11:00 at night.  So, we figured we would revisit the sushi place we had initially had our sights set on.  The only problem was, according to their website, they closed at 11:00.  It was 10:45.  We had to hurry.  When we arrived, they didn’t want to serve us, but we noted that it was still 15 minutes until they closed, that we were starving, and that we would order right away.  They graciously allowed us to come in.  We quickly ordered some rolls, and within a couple of minutes, except for the waitress, we were the only people in the place.  It was a little strange.

Picture 8332

After 11:00, we started noticing something else a little strange.  A very raucous noise that sounded like it was coming from the basement of the place.  We soon discovered why the wait staff was so keen on shutting the doors at 11:00.  Apparently, that was when the karaoke started downstairs.  It was . . . loud.  And not entirely pleasant.   Pretty much exactly how karaoke is supposed to be.  So, as we finished our delicious rolls, we were serenaded by some incredibly poor singers, that apparently did not understand the concept of reading the words of the song they were attempting to sing.  There was a lot of mumbling is what I’m saying.  And then!  Then, a guy started making what can only be described as ear shattering and soul crushing noises.  We deciphered that it was supposed to be Never Gonna Give You Up.  Wow.

But look at me!  Being all selfish.  I mean, why should I be the only one to experience the gloriousness that was this singer’s voice?  No, that would just be wrong.  In fact, when I was listening to this sweet serenade of Rick Astley’s wonderful hit song, I was thinking, “you know who would really enjoy this?  Everyone!”  So, that’s when I hit record.  You’re welcome!

Picture 8716

Not that anyone asked, I’m sure, but immediately after this stirring rendition of the song, the gentleman decided to perform an encore.  That was pretty much our cue to flee the premises.  I don’t think we could take that . . . twice.

48 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Go Jules Go
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 08:50:33

    Oh MAN I can’t believe I can’t play the karaoke clip right now.

    PLEASE tell me she had John Stamos on her other foot.

    For the record, I am a fan of the ever-polarizing Kathy Griffin. So now I am jealz. Groupon RULES!

    Reply

  2. andrea-maybe it's just me
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 08:56:56

    So you got Rick-rolled while eating your rolls? Outstanding! Ohhhhhh, and guessing game on the foot face tat? Hmmmm…Elvis?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 01, 2013 @ 11:41:50

      Oh man!! Why didn’t I think of that?? Rickrolled while eating rolls. I am ashamed anew that I missed that.

      It was NOT the king. Thank you, thank you very much.

      Reply

  3. JudahFirst
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 09:01:46

    Was it Marilyn Monroe on the other foot? Audrey? Jimmy Stewart?? I MUST KNOW!! lol

    Reply

  4. Don't Quote Lily
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 09:11:21

    Good groupon deal!
    So upset I can’t play the videos (as I’m “working hard” right now)…must remember to come back. 🙂

    Reply

  5. about100percent
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 09:50:46

    That karaoke was awesome. And by awesome, I mean awful. I might have felt compelled to join the party.

    Was the other face Kathy Griffin?

    Reply

  6. The Cutter
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 10:01:35

    That karaoke didn’t sound THAT bad. And if the tattoo was anyone besides Tupac Shakur, I’ll be disappointed.

    Reply

  7. Fresh Ginger
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 10:12:04

    Rickroll karaoke … yikes.

    Reply

  8. PigLove
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 10:55:34

    tapping hoove waiting for an answer – who was on the other foot? And by the way, me and the humans love Kathy Griffin. We love her wacked sense of humor – it reminds us of well us! XOXO – Bacon

    Reply

  9. Nagzilla
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 10:58:26

    Natalie Wood? Steve McQueen? Martin Sheen? I’m so curious. Especially since face tats are so intricate and having one on top of your foot is painful.

    Reply

  10. thoughtsappear
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 11:19:49

    My face was on the other foot, wasn’t it?

    I want the Lemon Meringue Martini.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 01, 2013 @ 11:47:26

      No, it was a picture of a pop tart.

      I was between that one and the caramel apple! But I’m a sucker for a good caramel appletini. This one wasn’t exactly good, but it was passable.

      Reply

  11. She's a Maineiac
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 11:31:04

    I can’t hear your Rickroll video right now! Boo! Figures something is wrong with my audio on the computer today. The other tattoo might be someone else who died young…Kurt Cobain? Jim Morrison? Jimi Hendrix?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 01, 2013 @ 11:48:09

      Did you ever get to hear it? I thought of you when I was posting it. Shame if you don’t get to enjoy it!

      You were on the right track with your guesses.

      Reply

  12. Nelson - One Old Sage
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 12:10:14

    It looks like a fun evening. Based on your description of the singer, I’m glad I’m hearing impaired and can’t enjoy his rendition. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Hippie Cahier
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 12:55:57

    I know that girl! The other foot is . . . Ronald Reagan.

    Reply

  14. sarah9188
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 13:46:19

    Sushi and Rick Rolling – sounds like an epic late dinner. 😀

    My internet is rebelling and won’t play the videos. 😦

    Reply

  15. cornfedgirl
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 20:43:58

    Marilyn Monroe or Elvis was on the other foot…. right?

    Reply

  16. renée a. schuls-jacobson
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 21:55:54

    Omigosh! That Rick Astley rendition? Wow. Brilliant. And by that I mean painful. Do you think that guy thought he was amazing. I’ll bet he did.

    Was Sammy Davis Jr. on the other foot? You have to tell us! 😉

    Reply

  17. thesinglecell
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 10:48:20

    Was it you on the other foot? Was it Edgar Allan Poe? Was it Jesus?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 01, 2013 @ 11:51:40

      All EXCELLENT guesses!! I want someone to get my face tattoo’d on their feet. Or maybe a picture of my FEET on their feet. Whoa, this just got all Alice down the rabbit hole, didn’t it? 😉

      Reply

  18. flyingplatypi
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 22:53:04

    My guess for the other foot would be Marilyn Monroe!!

    I absolutely love Groupon!! I’ll be going to the spa this weekend because of them!

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

  19. Trackback: A Hot Cup O’ Joe | Misty's Laws
  20. Vesta Vayne
    Apr 27, 2013 @ 10:20:18

    Oof! Carmel apple martinis in plastic cups? That sounds dangerous.

    Probably the worst hangover I ever had was a result of too many apple martinis. That was like a decade ago, but the thought of them STILL makes me a little queasy.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 01, 2013 @ 11:53:32

      It wasn’t BAD. It wasn’t exactly GOOD either, but you know . . . beggers and choosers and all that.

      Mine is lemon drops. A few too many of those and I was done for! I still can’t even think about them without getting a bit nauseous.

      Reply

  21. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Apr 27, 2013 @ 22:32:15

    He was unfazed by the fade out, huh? Way to commit.

    Reply

  22. joeinvegas
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 14:52:32

    Why didn’t you go down and join in and sing some yourself. Obviously there was no way you could be worse.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      May 01, 2013 @ 11:54:52

      Oh Joe. Ye of little faith. I would have KILLED with my rendition.

      I mean literally, people’s ears would have bled and they would have died. I’m no murderer, Joe!

      Reply

  23. pegoleg
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 15:52:13

    Wow on the karaoke. Perhaps some adult beverages were involved in convincing the guy that he really could sing?

    Sounds like a super date night was had by all! As far as how I stand on the Kathy Griffin poll, hate is too strong a word. But not by much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

