Drink It Up!

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it before, but I have a swimming pool in my backyard.  I most likely have not brought up the subject previously because the pool is of no consequence to me.  I don’t swim.  And no, I don’t mean that I don’t know how to swim.  I was a lifeguard as a teenager, for pete’s sake!  No, I just do not go into the pool.

However, this does not stop our entire extended family from using our backyard, and the pool within, as their own personal summer vacation destination.  Any number of them stop by during the week while we are at work and enjoy a nice dip in the pool.  And every weekend, there are at least a few out there swimming and enjoying the sun.  This is all completely acceptable to us, as our family is rad (the hubs’ side, anyway), and we extend our hospitality to them at any time, even if we are not present.

On the weekends, when multiple family members descend upon our property, we will often go outside to spend time with them.  And by “we” I mean that my husband and kids will go swim in the pool, while I whip up some kind of alcoholic concoction to share with the group.  Sitting by the pool with my feet up and a cocktail in my hand is a perfectly acceptable way to enjoy watching the family splash around in the pool.

Picture 3858

A few weeks ago, on Memorial Day weekend, the family all showed up for the first time this year, in an unofficial “start of summer” pool party.  Each summer, I try to come up with a new drink that I can prepare and share with the family when they come over.  I am sort of the unofficial bartender of the family, if you will.  They’ve come to expect some interesting and delicious concoction to be whipped up by yours truly and served to them each year, and I try not to disappoint.  This year, I decided to go with a simple, yet quite tasty, little drink.  A strawberry lemonade.  But an adult strawberry lemonade.

STRAWBERRY LEMONADE
 
1 part Strawberry flavored Vodka
2 parts lemonade
splash of grenadine for color
 
Garnish with fresh strawberries if desired. 
 

photo (5)

See?  Super simple, but very delicious.  If you make it, you can obviously play with the ratios of alcohol to lemonade based on how strong you like your drinks.  If you want to go half and half, go for it!

Ok, now it’s your turn!  Seeing as I am always looking for new and creative drink recipes to subject treat my family to, I want you to comment below with a fun summer drink recipe.  But don’t worry, I will give you something in exchange for the generous sharing of your most delicious and prized recipes . . . because this is a giveaway post!

One lucky commenter will recieve this prize:

Picture 9191

A Wine Monkey wine bottle sock monkey, and Winelines, I.D. tags for your stemware (both by Fred & Friends, of course!).  Fun, right?

One of my sons will pick a name from a hat, and whoever wins will recieve this rad prize.  So, give me your best drink recipes in the comments, and you could win these items that will make your drinking experience that much more memorable and enjoyable!

(Note:  if you do not drink alcohol, please feel free to leave a non-alcoholic drink recipe.  If you win, you can always give these items to someone in your life that does imbibe spirits).

So, hit me with your best shots, people.  Oh wait, nevermind . . . I don’t do shots.  Not since the infamous Lemon Drop Incident of ’98.  The memory of that night still makes me cringe.  But regardless, give me your best drink concoctions below.

Cheers!!

57 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mandi
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 08:47:06

    For summertime drinking, I love me some fresh, muddled fruit. This one is called a blueberry smash and they make it with vodka, but I like it better with light rum.

    2 lemons, sliced into rounds
    2 limes, sliced into rounds
    1 cup fresh blueberries
    1/2 cup (loosely packed) fresh mint leaves plus sprigs for garnish
    1 1/2 cups vodka
    3/4 cup St-Germain (elderflower liqueur)

    Using a muddler or the handle of a wooden spoon, coarsely mash lemon and lime slices, blueberries, and mint leaves in a large pitcher. Stir in vodka, St-Germain, and 2 cups of ice cubes.
    Divide drink among coupe or highball glasses; top with more ice cubes. Garnish each drink with a mint sprig.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jun 28, 2013 @ 10:48:16

      Sounds a little like a fruity Mojito with the rum. Although, I’ve never had St-Germaine, so no idea how that would affect the taste. Sounds really delicious, though. Thanks for sharing!

      Reply

  2. donofalltrades
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 09:14:22

    That you have a lovely pool in your back yard and don’t use it is almost criminal, but I guess sitting next to it and drinking is the next best thing.

    Here’s a simple drink for the nancy’s out there.

    Jigger (or as much as you want) of Malibu Rum
    equal parts pineapple and orange juice
    splash of grenadine (since you have it on hand)

    Reply

  3. PigLove
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 09:32:35

    Oh how beautiful. First things first – 1) I would gladly sit by you and watch the chaos in the pool if you rub my belly 🙂 2) I’m not much of a drinker so cold water is fine with me and 3) the sock monkey is mine. I love sock monkeys! They are awesome to play with! Looks great and my belly rub offer is still on. 🙂 XOXO – Bacon

    Reply

  4. pegoleg
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 09:39:02

    I have no fun cocktail recipes so I’ll just read along and pick up everyone else’s tips. Your pool looks awesome, as do your toes. Reminds me I need a pedicure.

    Reply

  5. bluzdude
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 09:43:22

    My dad is the Master of the Margarita Maker, so I don’t know the recipe for his secret summer concoctions. If left to my self, I prepare a 32 oz insulated mug with a stiff gin and tonic, using Schwepps Bitter Lemon. If made using our family proportions (fill the mug with gin, dribble in a leeeeetle mixer) you could be passed out on a floating mattress getting sunburned, within an hour.

    Now, I just have to find you on Google Maps, so I can show up and play too. (Picture Cousin Eddie from National Lampoon Vacation…)

    Reply

  6. thoughtsappear
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 09:48:20

    I’m all over this! How many recipes can I post? I can experiment when I get home and post at least 20 more.

    1 part* Pineapple Juice
    2 parts* Berry Juice (your choice–mine was Mixed Berry Juicy Juice)
    2 parts* Cake Vodka
    2 parts* Cherry Whipped Vodka

    *These measurements aren’t exact.

    Reply

  7. Rosie
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 10:01:19

    Malibu Rum and Fuitopia Kiwi Strawberry!

    Reply

  8. about100percent
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 10:47:15

    My favorite Beergaritas:

    1 can frozen limeade concentrate
    1 Corona
    1 limeade can tequila
    1 limeade can 7-Up or Sprite

    Mix it all up in a pitcher (stir; DON’T shake!), serve over ice. Easy, breezy, and delicious!

    Reply

  9. The Cotton Floozy
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 11:01:59

    I am going to need to bookmark this page, because all of these drinks look amazing!

    My go-to is an icy-cold Corona stuffed with lime slices *that have been sprinkled with salt.* Preferably sea salt or kosher. Soooo good.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jun 28, 2013 @ 11:05:54

      I know, right? I love that I now have a one stop shopping drink recipe list! 🙂

      Limes . . . WITH SALT? Oh my god, why did I never even think of that??? Brilliant. My next Corona, I’m trying it. Thanks!

      Reply

  10. rachelocal
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 11:47:11

    Your pool looks A.MAZ.ING. You are nice to share. 🙂

    Here’s a drink I made this weekend and recently featured on my blog:

    1/2 cup mint leaves, plus more for garnish
    1/2 cup sugar
    1/2 cup water
    3 cups seltzer water
    2 cups vodka
    2 cups fresh lemon juice

    Make the sugar syrup: Heat the 1/2 cup of sugar and water over low heat, stirring with a wooden spoon until sugar is dissolved. Increase heat to medium and simmer 2 minutes. Remove from heat and cool in the refrigerator for 1-2 hours before using.

    In a pitcher, muddle ½ cup mint leaves with the sugar syrup. Stir in the seltzer water, vodka, and lemon juice. (If you like a sweeter drink, add a 1/4 cup of superfine sugar at this point.) Chill.

    Pour into ice-filled tall glasses–rimmed with raw sugar, if you wish.

    Reply

    • pegoleg
      Jun 17, 2013 @ 12:36:17

      Hey Rache, I’ve been meaning to ask you. I have the anti=green thumb, so imagine my surprise that the chocolate mint I planted last year in a big patio tub came back strong this year. What can I do with it?

      Reply

      • rachelocal
        Jun 17, 2013 @ 12:49:32

        Good for you, Peg! Chocolate mint is especially delicious. For now, I would use fresh leaves in cocktails like the one I mentioned or even in Misty’s strawberry lemonade. It’s great cut into tiny ribbons and served on strawberries too. Or if you have way too much, you can dry it for tea (it’s so good mixed with black tea!) or for use in soups and stews in the colder months. I found this how to post about drying mint helpful: http://www.maureenabood.com/2011/07/20/technique-how-to-dry-mint/

        Good luck to your and your mint!

        Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jun 28, 2013 @ 11:08:16

      I have made something very similar to this before, I believe. I remember making a huge batch of simple syrup for it, and then adding the mint and lemon and alcohol. I’m not sure if it was exactly the same, though. This sounds yummy and refreshing. Mint and lemon are really so fresh and lovely in the summer, no? Thanks!!

      Reply

  11. Fresh Ginger
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 11:50:08

    Blueberry vodka (Stoli) and Sprite, add fresh blueberries and a sprig of mint for flair. Boom. 🙂 I am also a big fan of hard cider. Easy — open bottle. Done. My latest favorites are IceMan by Angry Orchard and Crispin (any flavor).

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jun 28, 2013 @ 11:09:41

      I just recently had a hard cider for the first time in YEARS. And I was all disappointed in myself, because I realized how much I still loved them! I will have to get some more so I have them on hand this summer.

      Reply

  12. renée a. schuls-jacobson
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 12:57:06

    For real, you won’t believe this one:

    1c ice
    2oz tequila
    1 pouch of GoGo Squeez applesauce (any flavor will do. Pick your kid’s least favorite!)
    1oz sour mix or 1oz lime juice

    Pour ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth. Garnish with the fruits of the flavor you picked. You can also do a non-alcoholic version by substituting Canada Dry Ginger Ale instead of the tequilla. They did that for me at Blissdom.

    You can keep the sock monkey. (I have two of those suckers.) I just wanted to share. You’re welcome! 🙂

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jun 28, 2013 @ 11:11:05

      Thanks for the recipe! That sounds delicious. And I ALWAYS have some of those applesauces on hand. I love making drinks where I know I will have the ingredients right there if I need it on the fly! 😉

      Reply

  13. Anna L
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 18:01:05

    Feijoa vodka (made by 42 below), and Appletiser (fizzy apple juice). Over ice in summer. Amazing!
    (Proportions can be changed according to taste)
    However I am not sure how easy these things are to obtain in places other than NZ!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jun 28, 2013 @ 11:11:57

      Well, I’ve never heard of either, but that doesn’t mean that we don’t have them in the US. Just that I’ve never looked for them. I’m sure there’s something comparable, though. Thanks for sharing!

      Reply

  14. flyingplatypi
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 20:12:55

    Ok. This is possibly one of my favorite super secret recipes that I shared with only my closest. And that now includes you!!

    Step 1. Open tequila.
    Step 2. Drink.
    Step 3. DANCE!!!

    It’s perfect for any season. Any party. Guaranteed.

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

  15. joannerambling
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 22:13:56

    I wish we had a pool a nice indoors heated pool why indoors and heated well because if I am going to dream I am going to dream about the best………lol Our yard is small, uneven and oh yeah we rent so having a pool isn’t going to happen…….lol

    Reply

  16. Valentine Logar
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 05:54:20

    All these excellent drinks. I wil have to bookmark, come back and copy them down.

    Reply

  17. mbhale
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 09:31:20

    Possibly the best Margarita you’ll ever have – house limit is two though – these babies kick ass!

    1 shot Sauza Blue Tequila
    1 shot Patron Orange Liquor
    1 shot Cointreau
    1 shot lime juice
    splash of Blue Curacao
    salt the glass rim and garnish with fresh blueberries
    Cheers!

    Reply

  18. linda
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 13:03:50

    I don’t have a pool, but this was the best drink we would make for sitting out on the deck at the cabin next to the creek up in the mountains of northern California….plenty of lost weekends started this way!

    Eve’s Orange Blossoms
    Orange sherbet
    Half and half
    Gin (vodka works just as well)

    Fill your blender about 3/4 full with the orange sherbet, about a cup (or thereabouts) half and half, same for the gin or vodka. Blend, serve in whatever jar or cup you can find (remember, we were at the cabin, nothing fancy). If you want to get fancy-schmancy, garnish with a orange slice. Reminds me of an orange cremesiscle.

    Reply

  19. andrea-maybe it's just me
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 15:15:56

    Ooh la la! How about some Dirty Pirate Pops (my aunt posted a link to them on facebook and I ran out for the ingredients the next day)

    2 1/2 c coke
    1/3 c kahlua
    1/3 c Captain Morgan’s spiced rum
    Freeze into pops…um, I might have been curious (or just impatient for the 5 minute Zoku), and it tastes yummy not frozen as well!

    Reply

  20. BlogicalReasoning
    Jun 19, 2013 @ 12:21:14

    Complete and utter pool envy. I have been known to sit in a pool for six hours on vacations. I am part mermaid but live where there is no water at all, anywhere. It’s tragic. As for drinks, strangely, I have about 20 books of cocktail recipes and rarely even drink (mostly because I’m always working). But, just the other day I discovered my new favorite drink out of sheer laziness. Italian soda and vodka. I like the Whole Foods pink grapefruit best, but any of the blood orange soda is equally delicious. My summer suddenly seems much more exciting. But, I will have to try making the Dirty Pirate Pops listed above. That sounds so awesome I can hardly stand it.

    Reply

  21. PinotNinja
    Jun 20, 2013 @ 01:28:34

    This is a classic and takes a little bit of effort, but it is shockingly delicious and worth the 10 minutes it takes to make:

    Best Margarita Ever
    1/4 cup tequilla blanco (its worth it to spring for the good stuff)
    2 tablespoons agave syrup (nectar)
    2 tablespoons fresh squeezed lime juice

    Shake it in a cocktail shaker with ice, strain or serve over the rocks, and serve in a glass with a salted rim.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jun 28, 2013 @ 11:20:31

      Sounds good, but I’m a bit confused as to what takes the time. Seems like you pour 3 ingredients together and drink. Are you making your own tequilla or something? 😉

      Oh, and if you are seeing this right now, you might wanna visit my blog today . . . just thought I’d mention. 😉

      Reply

      • PinotNinja
        Jun 28, 2013 @ 15:12:32

        That’s what I thought, too. But, it turns out that it takes a shockingly long time to juice enough limes to make a batch of these margaritas. If I was just making one drink, no big deal, but, at least around my house, its like the bat signal goes off when I open the liquor cabinet. Before I know it I have my husband, multiple friends, a couple of neighbors, and an errant cousin at my house clamoring for a glass of whatever I’m concocting, and they’re all “thirsty” people if you know what I mean.

        Tonight’s project is going to be something with St. Germain and Hendrick’s Gin…

        Reply

        • mistyslaws
          Jun 28, 2013 @ 16:43:44

          Ha! I know of these thirsty people that you speak of. They tend to be hanging around my pool. I guess I can see how it would take a while to juice the limes. Last year I was on a Key Lime Martini kick, and each drink calls for juice of a full lime. Usually I was only making it for me (at night, when everyone else had gone home), but one time I did make it for the crew, and I was in the kitchen for a while. So I completely get it, I suppose. I guess if I make your drink, it will have to be in secret after everyone has gone home and just for me! 😉

          Reply

  22. joeinvegas
    Jun 21, 2013 @ 16:21:29

    1. One bottle of Jose Cuervo Gold Margaritta Mix (with Jose tequlla already in it)
    2. Ice
    3. repeat as necessary.
    Why bother mixing when all you need to do is pour?
    Water in our unheated but covered pool is up to our nice summer 94f, which feels really nice to float around in at sunset (when it cools down to around 102 or so) with an icy glass in hand.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jun 28, 2013 @ 11:21:37

      That is one of my favorite things! I always have a couple of bottles on hand for any given moment. When I’m in the mood for a margarita, I just pour! 🙂

      Reply

  23. JessaHams
    Jun 22, 2013 @ 00:46:03

    Adult OrangeCreamsicle

    1part whipped Cream Vodka
    2parts OJ
    Ice

    Stir and Emjoy. Tastes just like a 50/50 bar.

    Reply

  24. Trackback: I Challenge You to a Baking Duel | Thoughts Appear
  25. Trackback: The Hangover | Misty's Laws

Leave a Reply

