Views from the Beach

I realized that I never reported back on my time at the beach a couple of weeks ago.  And based on recent events, I think we could all use a little light fun beach time, yes?  Ok then . . .

Picture 9688

This was what I was viewing as I began my drive to the beach to join my family, already in progress since that morning.  Don’t worry, I didn’t eat all of this stuff.  Just the Ruffles and about 2/3 of the M&Ms. 

Picture 9696

This was my view the next morning when my lovely husband, knowing how desperately I needed some relaxation time, told me to sleep in and then take a bath, while he took the kids to the pool.  And, if after that, you still have any doubt as to his wonderfulness, I present Exhibit B:  he went to the lobby of the hotel and bought me TWO large lattes (and a cupcake).  Per him, “I just didn’t think one would be enough!”  God love that man.

Picture 9698

This was the view from our hotel room balcony.  Note the fun kid’s pool and also the adult pool, with a swim up bar.  Yeah, now this was a vacation.

Picture 9754

Unfortunately, we only stayed at that lovely hotel for two days, and then we had to move all of our stuff about 100 streets up the highway to the condo we were renting for the week.  It was very hot that day.  And my A/C was broken.  I drove up and down that very long street and packed and unpacked my car about 6 times that day.  Not very relaxing or fun.  Where is my bathtub again?  Oh, that’s right . . . back at the hotel.  Bummer.

Picture 9954

As per the norm with us, the condo we rented had some interesting accoutrements.  There were two walls full of paintings going up to the top level, and a painting on almost every other wall of the house as well.  I found it interesting that the artist was able to capture exactly how I would look on the beach in a bikini without ever having seen me.  Now that’s talent!

Picture 9952

This was some sort of crazy, flying, magic mirror holding, green mermaid thing.  I see Nemo, I see Dory, I see Ariel . . .

Picture 9877

This was my actual view of the beach.  Not bad.  Ignore the bright white knees.  They got a touch less flourescent while I was there.

Picture 9764

Picture 10205

Apparently, there was some sort of theme on the beach this year of which I was previously unaware . . . matching swimsuits!

Picture 9867

FIREWORKS!!  Because . . . yeah, do you really ever need a reason for fireworks?  Exactly.

Picture 9725

On the boardwalk, I found this little ditty.  Yeah, as if I’m not going to have to try the fried cheesecake!  I mean, have you met me?

Picture 9728

Apparently, this is what happens when you put hot gooey liquid batter inside a fried dough shell and then try to take a bite.  Cheesecake explosion!!  It was a delicious explosion, at least.

Picture 9734

Much better than the original meaning, for sure.  Gotta love a place that has a tip jar with a sense of humor.

Picture 10227

This was the start of our annual family shenanigans night out as we were approaching the bar.  There weren’t really all that many shenanigans this year to be honest, but as we were headed towards the bar, we did pass this sign, and thus late night shenanigans were planned . . .

Picture 9906

That’s right . . . we were gonna steal the “west.”  Last year ended with a letter theft on a neighboring sign that transformed it from “We make custom shirts” to “We make custom shit.”  Good times.  So, we would be altering yet another sign after achieving maximum drunkenness.  Or at least, that was the plan.  This was before everyone got tired of hanging out at the bar and paying ridiculous sums for alcohol, and instead decided to go back to our condo, grab some booze, and sit out on the beach under the full moon, and drink the rest of the night away.  It was a lovely plan.  And a lovely evening to be sitting on the beach with a cocktail in hand.  Only problem with that plan, in regards to the sign . . . there are way too many people milling about at midnight to vandalize a sign.  Oh well.  We’ll just have to envision the beauty this would have been.

Picture 10242

The entire time I was at the bar, I had the strange feeling that I was being watched.  Spooky . . . . .

Picture 10006

Mmmm, beer.  The hubs and I went out for dinner one night at this place called The Taphouse.  As you might imagine, it had a bajillionty beers on tap.  While we were waiting for our table to be ready, we sat at the bar and ordered a sampling of those beers.  These were mine, and they were delicious.  Oh, and if you think I’m kidding about the bajillionty? 

Picture 10008

Yeah, seriously.  So much goodness. 

Picture 9934

Remember how I said the hubs was wonderful?  Well, it’s not every man who will give you a plastic faux-jewel encrusted mustache shaped mood ring, now is it?  Almost as romantic as the day he proposed. 

Picture 9937

Just because it’s my kids, and they are adorable, and I love this picture of them waiting to get their ride wrist bands.  Don’t mind me.  Let’s just move along . . .

Picture 9999

How about a picture of my niece trying to drown her brother in the pool?  Much more exciting, right?  Ok, you’re welcome.

Picture 10082

BOOBS!!  You know, because when I think family friendly train ride around the amusement park, I think girl pirates with huge overflowing knockers and a half-clothed, panty showing, pirate girl tied up on the ground behind her.  Fun!

Picture 10319

Well, just to give equal time, I figured it would only be fair to show a penis on display as well.  So, here you go . . . look closely (I mean, if you’re into that kind of thing).  Are you wondering why I have a picture of a lifeguard’s shlong?  Well, it was a very rough day on the ocean, causing this lifeguard to be seen numerous times running up and down the beach to help people out in the water.  Finally, he figured it was time to address it, so he called everyone on the beach over to his chair, and he told us all about what to do if we got caught in a riptide.  At least, I think that’s what he was saying.  I was a wee bit distracted by his little friend poking his head out at me and waving hello.  So, while I may not know what to do if a riptide gets me, the one thing I do know is that this man has been circumcised.  Mazel Tov!

Picture 10170

Sadly, after many days of fun and festivities, we finally had to leave the beach (and the boobs and penises) behind.  This was our view as we headed out into the sunset.  Bye beach!  I miss you already.  Sniff.

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. renée a. schuls-jacobson
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 08:55:41

    Looks like you had a great vacation and… um… and I can confirm that, upon closer inspection, the boy in the shorts looks like a nice Jewish boy.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Aug 13, 2013 @ 15:32:26

      This is coming from my nice Jewish friend, ladies and gentlemen. She knows of what she speaks! 🙂

      (Renee . . . it was 5 times more blatant and prevalent in person. It was soooo distracting. And not just to me. My whole family was cracking up! Then again, we’re all kind of assholes). 😉

      Reply

  2. about100percent
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 09:09:58

    Your vacations are a lot of fun, as they should be. And what vacay at the shore isn’t complete without a little unplanned nudity (real or suggested)?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Aug 13, 2013 @ 15:33:15

      I know! It’s like it follows me around. It’s not a beach vacation, unless I get a picture of someone flashing me in some way. Good times, good times. 😉

      Reply

  3. thoughtsappear
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 09:10:47

    This will probably be my last visit to your blog Monday through Friday. I suspect it’s about to be blocked by work. Why? They’re going to categorize it as p*rn.

    I only put the asterisk there because I don’t want my comment flagged as SPAM.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Aug 13, 2013 @ 15:34:25

      What? I don’t even know what you’re talking about. This is a good wholesome, family friendly blog! Boobs and penises are just a natural part of everyone’s anatomy.

      Hello? Thoughtsy? Damn those work blocks!

      Reply

  4. donofalltrades
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 09:21:01

    Good times! It makes me sad to even read about others having to leave the beach, so thanks for that. I bet like 4% of the people who read this will get your Romper Room reference. Lol.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Aug 13, 2013 @ 15:35:30

      Nah. I’ll say 20%. Most of us are old fogies, don’t forget.

      Side note . . . I was actually ON that show at one point. Bet you didn’t know how famous I really was, huh?

      Reply

  5. brickhousechick
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 09:32:19

    So funny! Glad you had great “views” while on vacation. There are only so many boobs one can see and a little variety is good for the soul. 🙂

    Reply

  6. bluzdude
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 10:06:27

    I’m surprised you didn’t take the green mermaid with you. Would have been a perfect present for Val.

    Hey look! The Otakons are out today!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Aug 13, 2013 @ 15:36:46

      She would have loved that thing! But that would have involved theft. I’m not going to jail for THAT ugly thing!

      Oh yes, Otakon. Don’t worry . . . a blog post is pending for them.

      Reply

  7. PigLove
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 10:37:02

    OMP (Oh my pig!) What a joyous read on your vacation. I can only hope and pray that mom/dad’s trip to the great ocean will be just as fun come October. Great pictures… well at least that’s what mom says about the lifeguard. Shakes piggy head – I don’t get it. XOXO – Bacon

    Reply

  8. sarah9188
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 10:37:16

    You really made me miss my Ocean City. 😥 The YOTO is brilliant. I love it.

    Reply

  9. Nelson - One Old Sage
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 10:38:35

    Looks like a great time. I’m a little envious.

    Reply

  10. Hippie Cahier
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 11:29:15

    I see Nemo, I see Dory, I see Ariel . . .
    I see a reason not to get up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night because. . whoa, that would freak me out!
    Just when I thought my summer would not include a trip to the beach this year, I just had one. Thanks!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Aug 13, 2013 @ 15:39:27

      That’s me . . . Virtual Vacations, Inc.

      And it wasn’t really all that scary. Just bizarre. The bikini lady in the hall creeped me out more than that! ((shudder))

      Reply

  11. Fresh Ginger
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 12:31:30

    I got stuck at the bath with TWO lattes and a cupcake. HEAVEN

    Reply

  12. Andrea @ Maybe It's Just Me
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 12:39:12

    I think that mermaid would have sent the week in a closet if I was there!

    Reply

  13. Don't Quote Lily
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 14:35:06

    Lol… Looks like fun. I second what Thoughtsy said… I had the same exact thought about work categorizing wordpress as inappropriate. Oh boy. 😉

    Reply

  14. joannerambling
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 20:23:52

    I loved this post, it was such a fun post, boobs and penises and fried food what’s not to love…………

    Reply

  15. PinotNinja
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 20:45:05

    Can I come on your vacation next year? Please?

    And, its not because of the awesome scenery and stories, although those are added bonuses. It’s because you have access to Golden Grahams treats. I haven’t seen one of those bad boys since I was in college, which was like a bajillionty years ago, and I still love and crave them every day. Bring me with you!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Aug 13, 2013 @ 15:42:48

      Really? They don’t have those? Huh. That’s a weird regional thing. Not like MD is a big hub of Golden Grahams or anything. Weirdness.

      And yes, you may come next time. How do you feel about childcare and cleaning? 😉

      Reply

  16. thesinglecell
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 15:50:52

    I wanna go on YOUR vacation instead of the one I had. :-/ PS – was that a Mr. Boh ‘stache ring?

    Reply

  17. Valentine Logar
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 07:35:47

    I would have never, ever, never left the hotel…bath time with lattes. Sorry, someone would have had to drag me kicking and screaming.

    Reply

  18. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 13:28:16

    I’m glad you didn’t get third degree burns from exploding fried cheesecake!

    Reply

  19. joeinvegas
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 14:45:56

    I noticed you paint your toenails and not your fingernails? What?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Aug 13, 2013 @ 15:46:05

      Ha! Out of that entire post, THAT’S what you took away? Man, you’re observant! 😉

      What a boy. Toes last a long time. Fingers peel and chip after about an hour. Waste of money. And I don’t care what my hands look like. I have kids.

      Reply

  20. JM Randolph
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 21:24:44

    I covet your moustache ring. And your lifeguard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

