Things to See, People to Do . . .

The last week or so has been . . . let’s go with “interesting” . . . in my world.  (Interesting sounds so much better than horrifying, devastating or heartbreaking, yes?).  There have been some major incidents that have had me wanting to crawl into bed and not come out.  I haven’t felt that way for quite a while, so the return of that feeling was not welcome.  But, I rallied and moved past it and am trying to get the hell on with my life.

So, on that note, I want to share some of the fun things that I have seen and heard in the most recent past, to combat that feeling of woe is me, everything is going to hell in a handbasket.  Play along with me, will you?

Picture 10592

This poor little bird was actually in the frozen food aisle of Costco.  I watched him for a while.  He was obsessed with that bag of french fries behind the glass, and kept flying at it and pecking on the glass to try to get it.  It was a little sad, actually.  And yes, this is what passes for entertainment in my world.

Picture 10408

Are these some sort of fashion leggings?  Dear god, what is happening to this world?

Picture 10603

Sadly, my favoritest iPhone case broke this past week.  LIttle pieces have been breaking off here and there for a while now, but this time the entire side was ripped off, leaving the case less than functional, as my phone kept falling out of the side.  I had to find another case, and just happened to have this on hand.  Apropos, no?

Picture 10613

Apparently, there was a butterfly convention in my back yard.  There were about 20 of them flying around this bush.  It’s like it’s some kind of butterfly bush or something.  Oh, wait . . .

Picture 10643

This was a deformed carrot that I found in my lunch pack.  There was no way I was putting this thing in my mouth!

And I will end with a story of something that one of my friends said last week.  We had a cookout last weekend, at which I served Key Lime Pie martinis.  They were a big hit, especially with my one friend.  After dinner, I served dessert, and when I informed everyone that there was pie if anyone was interested, this same friend raised her martini glass and proclaimed:

Misty . . . I’ve been eating your pie all night!

Well, if that was the case, you would think I would have felt a lot more satisfied at the end of the night, wouldn’t you?  Huh.

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa-Jane Chapman
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 08:40:40

    Oh dear, is it wrong that I actually quite like those leggins? Also, I have that same variety of bush in my backyard too, and it always attracts the butterflies, so pretty! I have no comment about the carrot, well nothing that I would want to say on a family-friendly blog…

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Aug 30, 2013 @ 20:33:07

      First, I use the word “fuck” way too much for this to be a family friendly blog, so give me your best shot! 😉

      Second, yes . . . yes it is wrong. I could see maybe under a dress or something, but leggings are NEVER ok as pants. This is gospel.

      Reply

  2. andrea-maybe it's just me
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 08:41:06

    I suppose it doesn’t really matter that I don’t thin that woman’s shoes go with her outfit, aside from her earrings, but there is wayyyy too much happening between those two areas!

    Reply

  3. PinotNinja
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 08:51:14

    Hahaha! That last line is killing me! Can I have your friend in my life please? And you can come too, if you bring those key lime martinis.

    I hope everything in your life starts to pick itself up, dust itself off, and turn things around. At least you aren’t wearing those leggings?

    Reply

  4. Betty Shellhamer
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 09:02:58

    Birds and butterflies are able to make me smile, the leggings, not so much. Phone case power will have to come to the rescue.

    Reply

  5. donofalltrades
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 09:27:41

    Oh my god, all this talk of bushes and pie has me in a dither!!!! Lol. I’m glad you found some humor in your otherwise shitty week, Misty. You should have found some popcorn or something to feed your bird friend. He was clearly jonesin’ for a salty treat.

    Reply

  6. renée a. schuls-jacobson
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 10:04:14

    Omigosh! Love that deformed carrot! How could you NOT put it in your mouth? I mean, it was asking to me devoured. IYKWIM. I’m so glad that you haven’t lost your funny. Good for you, sweetie. 😉

    Reply

  7. Fresh Ginger
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 10:14:11

    Butterflies and key lime pie … those are a few of my favorite things! 🙂 Hope your weekend is great and the rest of the yucky stuff becomes faded memories.

    Reply

  8. bluzdude
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 10:20:34

    If you’re still unsatisfied at the end of the night, there’s always that 2-headed, um, “carrot.”

    Reply

  9. Brown Road Chronicles
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 13:24:13

    Haha! That carrot is awesome! You should put it on eBay!

    Reply

  10. Jennifer June Clark
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 16:15:33

    Love the pic of the butterfly bush and its butterflies!!!

    It’s actually pretty healthy of you to slow down and pay attention to the small things. Mindfulness can get you through some awful times, my friend. I’m convinced that sitting meditation saved me from a nervous breakdown. My mom was ill and the C word was mentioned and then came the headaches and stomach pains and the panic…. Breathing mediation was key.

    Still got those fingers crossed for y’all here in Cali! Hang tough, Misty, and have a martini.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Aug 30, 2013 @ 20:41:56

      Thanks Jen. That really means a lot. I’m trying to take it slow and appreciate the good things around me. Otherwise, I’ll drown in the despair. And I can’t go there. There are too many people depending on me for that.

      Reply

  11. Nelson - One Old Sage
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 22:45:06

    Broke me up. Especially the pie comment.

    Reply

  12. Valentine Logar
    Aug 24, 2013 @ 06:52:37

    If I had that body I would wear those leggings with a pair of really good stilletos (those shoes she has on ruin the look). I however (if i had that body) would be the bomb and would be killer.

    I quite like that carrot, how could you have not put that in your mouth? You could have had great fun.

    Love the butterfly bush.

    Key Lime Martinis? May I have that recipe? I believe I will need that soon … you are right you should have been much happier at the end of the night.

    Reply

  13. brickhousechick
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:17:38

    The carrot has made quite the impression on everyone (me included). Glad you had some funny things among the not so good things.

    Reply

  14. Jess Witkins
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 17:04:44

    Aww, somebody got her funny back! *big hug*

    That carrot is ridiculous. I wouldn’t have eaten it either. Ew. gross.

    But I would partake of your key lime pie martini! YUM!

    Reply

  15. thoughtsappear
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 09:56:16

    I wouldn’t eat that carrot either.

    Reply

  16. pegoleg
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:32:52

    I’m surprised your local city hasn’t banned those frozen french fries for birds – too much cholesterol.

    Hope things start looking up, Misty. Hang in there!

    Reply

  17. Andrea
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 22:16:29

    Key Lime martinis? That sounds better than pie of any kind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

