Play Fair

On Labor Day, we took the kids to the Maryland State Fair.  It is fair season again, so this was actually the second fair that we attended this year.  The first was our local county fair, and of no real consequence.  Our third and final of the fair trifecta will be in two weeks.  That is our favorite, so stay tuned for a report on that one.

But, this past holiday we visited the middle child in our fair going family, the state fair.  We started the day early, attempting to beat some of the sweltering and oppressive heat that we had been enjoying for quite some time now.  Sadly, we were not early enough, because the blanket of oven-like temps attacked us within minutes of our entrance into the fairgrounds.  However, we rallied and put the kids on some rides, while we tried desperately to stand in any type of shade available, to avoid spontaneous combustion.  After a few spinning, bouncing, twisting, and flying contraptions entertained my kids, we decided to momentarily escape from the heat.  So we visited the cow palace.

Picture 10778

Tipping prevention technique.

This extremely large building was not air conditioned, but this shelter from the sun dropped the temp a good ten degrees.  What we traded in heat, however, we made up for in aroma, as this was where they housed all things bovine.  We happened upon an area where a cow was being held in a pen, and there were bleachers set up all around.  Curious as to what we would be watching, we grabbed a seat and tried to see what there was to see.

Picture 10789

Ready to pop.

We soon realized that we were on the verge of experiencing the miracle of life . . . live and in high def.  Not sure that our young boys were quite ready to see that (and not sure that we really wanted to experience it, either), we moved along, and instead opted to participate in a different activity involving a cow . . . milking.

Picture 10792 Picture 10796

Once we had our fill of milk cow related activities, we reluctantly went back into the sweltering blast furnace outside of the building.  Yeah, that was fun.  However, as we exited the building, I passed a mecca of wonderment and invention . . . the fried foods booth.

Picture 10785

If you’ve been around a while, you know that it is my goal in life to try a different fried concoction at every fair that I attend.  There have been oreos, twinkies, strawberries, pickles, cheesecake, kool aid and reese’s.  All of it battered and deep fried.  Most topped with powdered sugar.  (Not the pickles, because that would be very very wrong).  So, I perused the numerous offerings of this fried food heaven to see what this year’s lucky item would be.  And although there were many many MANY items to choose from, none of them really screamed out me, me, me, pick me!!  I thought about the fried Pop Tart (in honor of my friend Thoughtsy), but they had a sample of it sitting in the window and it was basically just an entire Pop Tart covered in batter.  It did not look appealing.  I wasn’t up for an entire candy bar (did I mention it was scorching hot?  Yeah, so that meant that I pretty much had no appetite), and the fried grilled cheese or peanut butter & jelly looked pretty gross.  I might have been up for whatever a buckeye was (it helpfully said it was chocolate covered peanut butter), but apparently they were very popular because they were all sold out.  What to do, what to do . . . it was a conundrum.

So, what did I do?  Actually, I walked away.  I know!  I’m not sure what was wrong with me either.  I’m gonna blame it on my brain being boiled by the 128* sun.  Obviously, what I needed was a lemonade to cool me down!  So, I went over to a nearby stand selling freshly made, ice cold lemonade, and as I was standing in line . . . the heavens opened, the angels sang, and I saw this sign:

Picture 10801

This!  This is what I had been waiting for.  It was the perfect treat, as Berger’s cookies are unbelievably delicious, and also the perfect amount, because I only needed to eat one to experience it, and could share the rest.  That way, I didn’t need to feel like a total glutton by devouring the entire thing all by myself!  (Although, I will admit that I totally could have hoovered all three of those bad boys . . . they were smack your momma on the ass GOOD).

Picture 10802Picture 10804

And speaking of Baltimore’s Own, the boy who served us these treats noticed my son’s Ravens hat, and mentioned dejectedly that the next stop for their little rolling cart of fried deliciousness was in Pittsburgh for the Steelers.  I told him that he better not take our Berger’s cookies up there to our rivals!  He said he thinks that they are only offering them locally, so at least there’s that.  He also said that he’s gonna represent Maryland pride by wearing all of his Ravens gear while he’s up there.  Good boy.  Go Ravens!

Next up is the last fair of the season, where I am sure to find something new and creative to wrap up this fried fair food festivus maximus.  Let’s just hope it’s not surface of the sun hot when we go there.  To be continued . . .

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thoughtsappear
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 08:45:15

    Good for you for braving the heat! Kiefer and I went out to breakfast one day, and then I decided I wasn’t going anywhere for the rest of the day.

    Those cookies look good. Is it wrong that I’m tempted by the fried cream cheese?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 11, 2013 @ 14:08:44

      The heat was ungodly. I would not want to be cooking something internally and have to go outside to bake as well.

      I felt like that would be similar to the fried cheesecake I had in OC. But, you are pregnant. Nothing is weird.

      Reply

  2. bluzdude
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 09:43:00

    I think if I HAD to try one of those fried things, I’d probably go for the Snickers.

    Pittsburgh will “see” your Berger Cookies and “raise” you their Smiley-Face Eat’n Park cookies.

    Reply

  3. andrea-maybe it's just me
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 10:10:06

    Oh my gosh I want a buck-eye now! I mean I want a berger cookie too, but don’t really know what I am missing there (until the weather cools and somebody sends me one?!)

    Reply

  4. Melissa
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 10:21:01

    Well great, now I’m craving Berger Cookies! Not really into the deep-fried stuff but if a box of them appeared at my desk right now I’d be one happy lady.

    Reply

  5. brickhousechick
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 11:45:31

    Good thing you skipped the cow giving birth or you may not have been able to eat anything!!! 🙂

    Reply

  6. sarah9188
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 12:56:31

    I can’t believe you skipped out on the cow birth, Misty. True MD charm right there. 😉 I do remember the DE state fairs as a kid, and I am pretty sure I know the smell and heat you’re referring to. Good times. Lol. I make sure to always hit up the funnel cake people. Delicious!

    Reply

  7. about100percent
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 14:50:34

    Cow palace – love it! I would have loved to see a birth. Although it might attract the wrong kind of crowd. Yeah – you did the right thing by moving along.

    And I don’t know what a Berger cookie is… but I think the picture explains it all. Delicious!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 11, 2013 @ 14:16:56

      Damn degenerates and their cow birth watching! Actually, interestingly there were a bunch of amish type people. Who’d have guessed?

      It is divine. The picture doesn’t do it justice.

      Reply

  8. Hippie Cahier
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 18:34:29

    True story: when I started reading this, I had to tell myself to focus and stop wondering if you had fried dough. I kept reading . . .”oh, look, a Manny jersey. . . wonder if there’s fried dough. . .pay attention, Hipster!”

    I never once anticipated fried Berger cookies. Holy milked or unmilked cow!!!!!!!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 11, 2013 @ 14:18:09

      See? I like to throw a twist at you. Anyone can get fried dough at a state fair. Pfft. Pedestrian. Although, I mentioned above that they have red velvet funnel cake there, which I’ve yet to try. Maybe that will be next year.

      Reply

  9. joannerambling
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 21:41:10

    After reading this all I can think of is fried food………………..and I don’t eat fried food as a rule

    Reply

  10. PinotNinja
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 11:31:00

    I need to hear more about those Berger’s cookies immediately, What are they? How do I get my hot little paws on them? And what were you thinking going someplace with contained livestock on a hot day?

    Reply

  11. joeinvegas
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 16:37:13

    But did you get your lemonade?

    Reply

  12. Valerie
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 22:02:36

    For a second I thought you meant deep fried BURGERS. And I almost vomited.

    But we’re all good now.

    Yum?

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 11, 2013 @ 14:21:50

      If deep fried burgers existed (seriously, you know they do), I have no doubt that Rainer would be all over those suckers.

      They are very very yum! When you come down, I’ll let you sample them.

      Reply

  13. pegoleg
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 15:26:58

    Damn, Misty! Give a girl a warning so she can don her drool-bib before you post pictures like those (the fried chocolate thing, not the cows.)

    Love the idea of a “cow palace.”

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 11, 2013 @ 14:23:29

      Sorry, Peg. Hope your keyboard survived the onslaught of drool leaking from your mouth hole.

      It has always been, and will always be known as . . . the cow palace. It’s not even weird or funny to me anymore. It just . . . is.

      Reply

  14. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 18:55:33

    That poor cow. I wonder if her birth was scheduled for showing (I don’t have a lot of knowledge on cow labor inducement) or it was just “hey, she’s giving birth, everybody fill up the bleachers!”

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Sep 11, 2013 @ 14:24:29

      It seemed pretty planned out. They must have some idea of when the cows are about to go, and I’m sure there is some induction involved. But yeah, public birthing is so uncivilized. Poor cow, indeed.

      Reply

Leave a comment