Shenanigans with Val: Racist Parking Lots, Closed Sidewalks & Ren Fest

This past weekend, I had a visitor.  My good blogging buddy Valerie drove all the way from New Jersey down to MD to hang with me on Saturday.  Her last visit, this past spring, was full of crazy shenanigans, good times and beer.  This visit would be no different in that regard, just a different venue.

I decided to take her to our local Renaissance Festival, as she is a huge fan of such events.  The last time I went to the Ren Fest was 2 years ago with Thoughtsy, and that turned out quite well for blogging purposes, so I figured it would be a good time for all and give us some fodder for our blogs.  Win/win.

In order to spend the entire day with her around the area where the Ren Fest was held, I needed to get a hotel room near there, as it is not especially close to my home.  So, I arrived first at our hotel with Val quickly following.  After some intense hugging (there may have been some humping), we decided to scoot over to the Ren Fest as the skies were starting to get a bit threatening and they were calling for rain later that day.  As the entirety of the Ren Fest is outdoors in the woods, we figured we should get moving before we got rained upon.

So, we hopped in the car and started driving.  Not being entirely familiar with the area, I allowed GPS to lead us to our destination.  And along the road to the Ren Fest, we encountered many locales that would need to be fucked with later on.  But stay tuned for that. 

Arriving at the Ren Fest, we noticed that many people were starting to leave.  Might have been because it had started spitting water from the sky.  But just a bit.  We could definitely work with this.  And it only lasted for a very short time, as by the time we got in, it had stopped. 

The first thing we wanted to do was to rent a costume for Val.  When I told Val we were going to the Ren Fest, she informed me that she looked online and saw they rented costumes.  I informed her that I had no problem with her renting a costume, but that I wasn’t the costume wearing sort.  However, I assured her that I would take pictures and laugh.  Having struck an accord, we headed to the first costume shop we saw . . . and found out that they were completely sold out.  Val was bummed, but not deterred from her goal.  We then stopped into another shop that sold costumes.  However, the going price was around $400, so that was out.  What to do, what to do.  And that is when we happened upon the stand selling jingley gypsy hip scarves.  Those were only $15 to buy, so that seemed like a deal.  In fact, it was such a deal, that I even decided to join in on the fun.  Here we are, modelling our hip scarves:

Picture 11195

Now that we were properly attired for the Ren Fest, we moved on to our second mandatory goal . . . beer.  Once we both had a beverage in our hands, we explored the sites of the Ren Fest.  And let me tell you, there were some sights to behold!  There was so much crazy, wacky stuff to see, that at one point we were basically just turning in circles and pointing.  It was dizzying, and not just because we were spinning around.  However, there is a time and place for such things, and that time and place is Friday for the Whacked.  Stay tuned . . .

Once we consumed our first beer, obviously we had to get a second.  I mean, it wouldn’t be right to only have one.  They get all spoiled and don’t learn to share.  The problem with this second beverage was that it was joining its sibling in otherwise empty stomachs.  That’s right, we are brilliant and had not eaten that day, and it was approaching 4:00 in the afternoon.  So, two people who can otherwise normally hold their liquor, were quite buzzed off of a beer and a half each.  Luckily, the Ren Fest thinks of everything!  Because that is when we came upon a vendor selling “beer sponges.”  How can any sane and almost drunk person pass up that kind of advertising!  Not us, I say.

Picture 11211

No, we did not sample his pickle.

Picture 11212

Mmmmm, spongey!

Even though the beer sponges did their job, it was sadly too late for Val.  The constabulary intervened and she was found guilty of being a drunkard.  I’m sure nobody ever saw that coming!

Picture 11293

And then we came upon the most rarest of species to be found at the Ren Fest, and Val just had to get her picture taken with them.  The Preppius Boatshoesicus.  It was a thrilling find.

Picture 11276

After that, we passed another booth and Val got an idea.  A marvelous idea.  A marvelously diabolical idea!  Ok, not really, but once she saw this, all bets were off.  She was getting Fraggled.

Picture 11214

And then this happened . . .

Mid-Fraggle

Mid-Fraggle

Almost Fraggled

Almost Fraggled

Side fraggle view

Side fraggle view

The Finished Fraggle

The Finished Fraggle

As we exited the covered hair braiding booth, we realized that it had started raining again.  For real.  However, we were not to be deterred.  And why is that?  Well, because along with her Fraggle, Val had decided that she needed some horns.  So we were off to the closest horn seller we could find.  However, after trying a few horned samples, it became apparent that the horns just did not look right with the Fraggle.  She even tried some ears (that also perched atop her head), but had the same problem.  Starting to get discouraged, we were about to leave when I happened to glance up and saw . . . unicorn horns!  Pointing them out to her, we both decided that this would be perfect.

Picture 11253

Is she not the happiest & most adorable thing EVER?

And then this happened . . .

A uni-fraggle gypsy in her natural habitat.

A uni-fraggle gypsy in her natural habitat.

Unfortunately, that is also when something else happened. . . the sky, which had been threatening and drizzling and raining all afternoon, finally decided to just let us have it.  It started pouring.  POURING.  And there we were, mid-Ren Fest, and a far distance from the parking lot and my car.  Realizing that our frolicking was at an end, we headed for the exit . . . and got wetter and wetter and wetter.  By the time we made it all the way to the car, we were both completely drenched.  As in, wet all the way through to our undergarments.  Which let me tell you, felt really lovely.  It looked like we had both stepped out of the shower, fully clothed.  Good times.

As we headed back to the hotel to dry off and change, the rain and soaking would not stop us from further shenanigans!  As I stated previously, we had noticed a few things as we were heading out to the Ren Fest.  And the first was a very odd statue right by the road.  So, on the way back, I pulled right over so Val could get out . . . and go lick it.

Picture 11242

Molesting statues since 2000.

And the next thing we came upon on this very same road was a very disturbing parking lot.  When we first drove by, we were appalled that this kind of thing can still exist in this day and age.  It’s not like we were in the deep south or anything!  It was a racist parking lot.  Every single car on that lot was white!  And being decent people, we just could not stand to allow that to continue unchecked.  So I pulled into the lot and parked myself right amongst all those prejudiced vehicles.  That’ll show them!

Fuck you, car bigotry!

Fuck you, car bigotry!

Travelling farther along this very same road, we encountered another instance of oppression.  Again, we would not let this stand.  So, we went right ahead and stood right there.  On the sidewalk.  Closed, my ass!

Now who's closed, bitches?

Now who’s closed, bitches?

After all of that, we returned to the hotel to rest up a bit after a very long and active (and wet) day.  We intended to go out for crabs a bit later, but first we wanted to dry off.  Unfortunately, Val’s Fraggle did not last the onslaught of water pouring down upon her head.  Poor sad Fraggle.

De-Fraggled.

De-Fragglefied.

And I didn’t fair much better.  This is me, looking like a drowned rat and completely soaked through to the skin.

You didn't REALLY think I was going to show you my face, did you?

You didn’t REALLY think I was going to show you my face, did you?

Once we changed and attempted (though fruitlessly) to do something with our mess of hair, we went out to get some steamed crabs, which is pretty much a necessity in this area.  We had planned to go out to a bar after dinner and were trying to return to the hotel so we could grab a cab (since we planned to continue our boozing ways, but are responsible bitches), but my car apparently had other plans for us.  See, apparently my car is evil (or a hex was placed on it in that racist parking lot), and kept trying to kill us.  The rain was coming down pretty hard at that point, it was dark, and I had no idea where we were.  We depended on my car’s GPS, but that only got us trying to turn down a one way road, entering a road that said Wrong Way, and the best one, having us turn into a shopping center that ended in a dark alley behind a DSW, filled with dumpsters.  That’s right, apparently my car was setting us up to be murdered by a serial killer.  So, after all of this heart pounding drama, once we returned to the hotel, we really didn’t feel like going back out in the rain.  We just needed a drink!  So, a drink (or 5) is what we had.

Picture 11262

Val’s birthday present . . . which she kindly shared.

The best part of the entire day was pretty much in that room.  I love just talking to Val, as she is hysterical and interesting, and catching up with her is always a good time.  Well, that and the snuggling.  She is the best big spoon ever!!

And thus ends this edition of Val & Misty’s Excellent Adventures.  Until we meet agian.  Huzzah!!

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. donofalltrades
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 16:31:56

    Terrific!

    Val is one of my most favorite sots! Too bad I can’t follow her blog for some reason.

    She reminds me of having my children in tow. “I need that! I want that! Let’s do that!” Good Lord, woman!!! Lol.

    I’m glad y’all had fun, or a merry ole time or whatever.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 03, 2013 @ 09:41:54

      She is one of my favorites as well!! If you follow her on FB, you will see when she posts. Try that.

      And yes, she is like a big toddler. Exhausting but adorable and worth every minute!! See, I’m not really all that adventurous or exciting, so we are a good pair, because she makes me get into shenanigans that I wouldn’t otherwise do. She’s the ying to my yang, the Abbot to my Costello, the barley to my hops, the Old Bay to my crabs . . .

      Reply

  2. andrea-maybe it's just me
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 16:32:35

    I hope you get to have another adventure soon! I was a hige fan of Red Fraggle back in the day, btw (of course I was)

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 03, 2013 @ 09:42:46

      Who wasn’t?? I can still sing the theme song! We will have to start planning again soon. We have way too much fun to stay apart for too long! 😉

      Reply

  3. flyingplatypi
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 17:49:05

    I can barely wait til next time!!!! Let’s start planning… NOW!!!!!!!!

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 03, 2013 @ 09:43:52

      YES!!!! When you return from Germany, we will set our next day of shenanigans. Maybe its’ time for a trip to Joy-zee? Or . . . you know Xmas Eve is always an option. 😉

      Hugs back!!

      Reply

  4. joannerambling
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 21:18:02

    Wow, what a fun filled day there are times I wish I drank beer because often at events like this the only grog they have is beer……………………..which sucks……

    Reply

  5. thoughtsappear
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 08:13:20

    Oh man, I’m sorry it rained on you guys. Mmmm…crabs….

    Reply

  6. Go Jules Go
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 08:46:55

    This is awesome – a Ren Fest is on my bucket list fo’ sho’. Val looks like a blast in a glass. How long did the Fraggle ‘do take??

    The white/black car picture caption killed me!

    Reply

  7. JM Randolph
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 11:17:07

    I would love to see someone try to Fraggle my hair.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 03, 2013 @ 09:47:18

      Oh my god, THAT would be something to see!! I’m not sure your hair would cooperate with ANY of those braiding styles. But, when you Fair it up with Jules, you should try it anyway. I dare you!

      Reply

  8. joeinvegas
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 17:49:55

    You two sound perfect for shenanigans. fun!

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Weekly Whacked: Mead & Masks | Misty's Laws
  10. Jess Witkins
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 20:19:24

    My overall emotion after reading your post is this: envy. I’m totally envious that you got to wear jingle skirts, get fraggle-ized, and prance like unicorns. Mostly about the fraggle hair. That’s freaking awesome!

    Do yourself a favor and check this out! http://rebeccaenzor.com/2013/09/15/announcing-ponyfest13/

    Reply

  11. PinotNinja
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 11:19:23

    You can fraggle your hair?!?! How had I never thought about that before??

    Red (the Fraggle) was my everything when I was a kid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

