Walk This Way

I’ve been working on losing weight lately.  And by working on, I mean cutting back on as many carbs as possible, taking a Zumba class once a week, and going for the occasional walk around my neighborhood.  In the past 4 months or so, I have lost 10 pounds.  Nothing drastic, and I still have a good 30-40 to go in order to be a “healthy weight” (i.e. pre-first baby), but it’s better than the direction it had been going previously, which was up.  No bueno.

Last week I had a doctor’s appointment.  A yearly checkup for my girly bits that, honestly, I had not had in over 3 years.  And yes, I know, I know.  But I got busy and it just never seemed that important.  But, finally I bit the bullet and called for an appointment.  Unfortunately, my normal doctor (who I had not seen in years but had gone to every year prior for about 10) would not be available for many months.  Knowing that I needed to get in there, I told them I would take anyone available.  A midwife was available.  They assured me that she could do everything the doctor could do for this type of appointment, so I said fine.

One of my least favorite parts of a physical is all of the preliminary info they need to gather before the doctor sees you.  Blood pressure, height and, most significantly, weight.  I do not like stepping on that scale, and I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in that feeling.  But, it is required, so you do what you must.  Obviously, I had to take off my big clunky shoes before stepping on the scale, as they weigh a good 5 pounds themselves.  The doctor’s office scale showed me to be about 3 pounds more than my home scale.  But then again, I was fully clothed and it was in the afternoon, after I had eaten a small, but still significant, lunch (at least, that’s what I’m telling myself).

Once situated in the exam room, covered by that oh so fancy paper blanket, the midwife entered and introduced herself.  After the preliminary introductions, one of the first things she asked me is what my fitness routine was and whether I ate healthily.  I told her what type of activities I do, and said that I was indeed trying to eat healthily, mostly eating fruits, veggies, salad and fish.  Although, the occasional chicken nugget and tater tot may sneak in when I’m making dinner for the kids.  She then told me that I should really try to keep as active as possible and stay away from the tater tots if possible, because . . .

You want to be careful to avoid diabetes, heart disease and other complications from being overweight.

I was momentarily taken aback.  For a minute, I thought she was punking me.  Either that, or I was on some sort of new Biggest Loser Candid Camera reality show, and that Jillian Michaels was going to jump out from behind the curtain and tell me to give her 20! 

Because, while I am admittedly overweight, I am nowhere near obese.  Those are the words you use for someone who is dangerously close to having health issues because of their weight.  Not to someone who just has some extra pounds to lose, and is actively attempting to do so.  I was shocked.  And then I was angry.

Towards the end of the exam, she once again brought up weight loss, and “helpfully” suggested that I might try weight watchers, as she had “heard that works for a lot of (her) patients.”  This, coming from someone who weighs 98 pounds and who’s waist I could encompass with one hand! 

Yes, oh scrawny one, I am familiar with Weight Watchers.  I lost 30 pounds prior to my wedding on that program.  When I calculate what I’ve eaten in a day, my mind still goes back to the “points” that are contained in the foods I consumed.  You could say that Weight Watchers and I are intimately acquainted, thanks. 

At this point, I informed her that I had lost 10 pounds in the past few months, to which she seemed surprised.  Yes, twiggy, because I’m a big fat ass that is obviously scarfing down Big Macs and fries from Mickey D’s while sitting my massive derriere on a hoveround, tooling through the aisles of Walmart, throwing party sized Funyuns and 2 liter sodas in my cart. 

Fuck you.

Once I had a day or two to let this whole experience settle, and was able to ruminate on this “medical professional’s” advice, I decided that she was right.  Oh no, not about the Diabetes or Heart Disease, because seriously.  But, she was right that I could be doing more to be active and lose the excess weight.

So, I decided to take a page from my friend Andrea’s playbook.  She had recently started wearing a pedometer and walking every single day.  At the end of each day, she would tally her steps and post them on Facebook.  And not only was she walking and counting her steps, she had taken it a step further.  She created an entire walking outfit . . . complete with cape and chest symbol!  She was like a Walking Superman.  A Walkman!!

IMG_1878

Dun-da-da!! Super Andrea!!

Seeing her progress, I decided to become more proactive with my walking as well, and took a very brisk walk around the neighborhood twice last week.  Twice!!  As opposed to the previous week’s tally of . . . zero.  Yeah.

Maybe it will go better if I also get myself a cape.  Not sure I’m ready for the lycra walking suit quite yet, though.

Picture 11339

And we’re walking, we’re walking, we’re walking . . .

66 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PigLove
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 08:45:23

    Snorticles – I love your friend’s cape. I want one! I’ll tell you what. You fix me a cape and I’ll come over and let you ‘walk me’ through the neighborhood. That way it won’t feel like exercise for ‘you’. It’s all for me. What do you say? XOXO – Bacon

    Reply

  2. She's a Maineiac
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 08:46:06

    What. The. Hell. I have never EVER had any doctor, midwife or nurse tell me I was “overweight”. And I have been overweight plenty. (I had over 60 lbs to lose after my first baby and it took me three years)

    I technically am overweight right now, if you believe those stupid height/weight charts. Apparently this midwife of yours thinks because she’s a stick, everyone else should be too. I firmly believe skinny people can get just as sick as so-called “overweight” people.

    OK, rant over.

    Good for you with the walking! I lost 10 pounds myself recently and it is due to two things. I stopped drinking alcohol cold turkey (lots of calories in those bottles of wine) and I walk at least three times a week. I bumped it up to 40 minute walks and lost weight fairly quickly. Which at my age is no small feat. Keep it up, Misty!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:03:18

      The walking has been stalled a bit, hence the weight loss as well. 😦 I’m hoping to get back out there soon!

      Congrats to you on your 10 pounds as well, my dear. I know how hard it is to lose it, so that IS a major feat. Although . . . cold turkey? As in . . . no booze at all? Gulp. Yeah, I can’t even talk about that. Just too scary. 😉

      It was more about how she harped on the weight issue and brought up those types of words without ANY basis whatsoever. “Oh, you are overweight . . . better watch out for DEATH!” Yeah, she drew no blood, therefore had nothing to back up those statements except her desire to scare me into losing weight. Which I’m doing. I just found it irresponsible.

      Reply

  3. thoughtsappear
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 08:54:19

    Freakin’ midwives. That was very similar to my appt on Friday.

    I’m totally jealous of your Zumba class. I really want to try one, but I have to wait a few more months.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:05:06

      Yeah, I’m not going to another one. I’ve never had a good experience with any. I’m not saying they are all bad, but I’ve not met one I liked.

      And yeah, no bouncing and jumping around with a baby in the belly. No bueno. Afterwards, though, you should look into it. Lots of fun!

      Reply

  4. Danielle Geer
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 09:25:42

    Meh. I hate that fat can kill you. Whyyy, Fat? WHYYYY??? I’M SO GOOD TO YOU!!!!!

    Reply

  5. Cheryl S.
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 09:34:59

    First of all, FUCK Twiggy. Maybe if she ate actual food she wouldn’t be so cranky.

    Second, you’re doing more than I am. Although, I may steal your pedometer idea. It would be interesting to see how far I walk everyday. (I have a desk job, so I’m going to guess “not far”)

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:08:39

      She was so fucking skinny! She probably only eats soy and grains and gluten free shit as well. Surprised she didn’t yell at me for eating dairy and meats!

      Well, to be fair, it is my friend’s pedometer. I don’t count the steps. I’m just lucky to get my fat (and probably dying from die-a-bee-tus) ass outside!

      Reply

  6. brickhousechick
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 10:04:35

    Why is it that it’s always a Twiggy who tells us to lose weight? Although, if the doctor was overweight and told me to lose weight I would laugh in her face. My latest appt. revealed a less than healthy cholesterol level and high triglycerides. Those darn trigs! I love food too much. Keep on walking! 🙂

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:11:25

      Totally a double edged sword, right? I thought the same thing . . . if she was fat, would I be upset? And the answer is yes AND I’d think she was a hypocrite! My normal doctor is curvy like me. The way she handles it is asks what my diet is like and what I’m doing to keep active. And then when I tell her, she tells me to keep it up. Just a nice gentle reminder that we should be doing good things for our bodies. Not this woman’s “DEATH, DYING, HEART ATTACK, SUGAR COMA!!!” not so gentle nudge. :-/

      Reply

  7. The Cutter
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 10:23:11

    As an owner of a personalized cape, I can attest that they are AWESOME. And good for you for the walking!

    Reply

  8. donofalltrades
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 10:38:32

    Nice job on the weight loss, Misty. Fuck your skinny midwife. She sounds bitter that she’s not a doctor or something. The BMI says that I am obese. Sunday I ran 12.23 miles at about a 9:40 min/mile pace. While not lightning fast by any stretch, I find it difficult to believe that an obese person can run 12 miles, let alone do it in 2 hours. Whatever medical people! Remember that some of them graduated with C’s so the advice may be iffy…

    Reply

    • Go Jules Go
      Oct 10, 2013 @ 14:31:49

      Ha. I just left almost the exact same comment. Just less funny. Let’s pretend I left this one.

      Reply

      • mistyslaws
        Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:14:39

        Well, Don AND Jules . . . I think you can be in good shape and still not be an “ideal” weight (whatever the hell that is). Every body is different, and some function just fine with extra fat around the edges. And would even be considered “healthy.” Not according to this Skinny McMuffin, but I think she barely eeked by with a D+ probably.

        Reply

  9. bluzdude
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 11:27:34

    Everything is better in a cape. I suggest you start by wearing it to your Zumba class, and see how it goes. But you have to prepare yourself to be impervious to everyone’s jealous stares.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:16:04

      I’ve been in the same class for years, so the teacher already tends to point me out and make fun of me at times (good naturedly, and I can take it). I don’t think I need to draw any more attention to my fat ass shaking it around the dance floor by flaunting a cape. Besides, it’s a SECRET identity. Duh!

      Reply

  10. joeinvegas
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 12:35:56

    What color cape is yours? I hope you do wear it while walking – awesome!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:17:15

      I don’t have one yet! My friend’s cape is black. I would totally wear it while walking, though! My neighbors already think I’m strange. Might as well cement that opinion with real evidence!!

      Reply

  11. Valentine Logar
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 12:36:49

    Good for you, for the weight loss already under your belt and for not snapping Twiggy in half. I am trying to lose weight through more healthy eating and as much exercise as I can get in. My disabilities often set me back, I grow frustrated and then start over. New doctors are frustrating, for not knowing the history. Then I just shrug and start over with them as well.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:18:56

      I showed incredible restraint. She’s just lucky I wasn’t wearing a cape, thus increasing my super powers!

      And that’s exactly it! New doctors (or midwives here) are the problem. They don’t know you and don’t know your history, so have no idea what they are saying usually. Hang in there and just do your best!

      Reply

  12. andrea-maybe it's just me
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 14:40:26

    Hello Walking Woman! Just for the record, I post my steps on facebook on a pedometer group page…not just on some random “I think I am fabulous, see the cape” kind of page. 😉

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:20:04

      I don’t really see any difference! :p

      Especially because you ARE fabulous and should be proud of all those steps. And the cape. Definitely the cape. Nobody else in that group is caping it up. You are just super! 😉

      Reply

  13. Jessica
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 14:44:29

    What medical professionals don’t understand is that bedside manner is a part of their freakin’ job. No one is going to want to return to a doctor that talks down to them about losing weight when they’re already trying to do so. There’s a way to get you message across to your patient without making them feel like a fat ass in the process. Things that make you go grrrrrrrr…

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:21:39

      Exactly!! Exactly, exactly, exactly.

      She didn’t even START by asking what I was doing or if I was trying to lose weight. It was like she was telling me something I wasn’t aware of. “Excuse me, but do you know that you are FAT?” Um, yeah, thanks. And that she kept bringing it up, even after I told her I had lost weight. So much hate . . .

      Reply

  14. Don't Quote Lily
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 15:40:22

    Fuck Twiggy! (I don’t think I’ve seen you curse on your blog before. 😉 )
    I think you’re doing a lot to get healthy, so good for you. It’s a lot more than I’m doing, which is basically grabbing my belly fat and asking, “Why God, why?!”

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:22:57

      Oh, I have cursed on here before. But I use it like chili powder . . . sparingly for maximum effect. This definitely called for a good FUCK.

      Hmmm, I haven’t tried that technique yet. Might be worth a try! 😉

      Reply

  15. red
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 19:57:44

    Hey, I’m impressed that your home-scale only has you 3 pounds lighter than the doctor’s! Even with my boots and bulky winter coat off, I was always 5-7 pounds heavier at the doctors. I must have a kind scale. 🙂

    Healthy is better than skinny. (by healthy I mean, eating balanced meals and walking occasionally!)

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:24:26

      I was impressed as well. It has been a good 5 pounds higher in the past.

      I agree. Skinny isn’t always healthy, and heavy isn’t always DEATH. I’m working on it. I’m trying to eat right and move around this fat ass as much as possible. It’s the effort.

      Reply

      • JudahFirst
        Oct 25, 2013 @ 13:40:47

        Funny you should say that …

        Last Christmas my 30-yr. old, 400-lb (probably more) nephew swept into the room (can obese people ‘sweep’ into rooms??) announcing he had had his physical the week before. He said his doctor told him he was “the healthiest obese man he had ever seen”. Well, my nephew IS a renowned liar…

        Dump the skinny Midwife. She’s as much of an idiot as my nephew (or his doc, depending on which story you believe).

        Reply

  16. PinotNinja
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 20:17:22

    Don’t let the midwife (who — ps — is not an MD) get you down. Congrats on the 10 lbs and the dedication to exercise! You’ve totally got this! One thing that helps me stay motivated is to sign up for a road race (which you can walk — lots of people do). Maybe there’s a fun local 5K in month? It’ll get you out the door to walk more and is an excuse to wear a fun costume. You know you love a good costume…

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:27:28

      She was so weight-centric, I wanted to ask, “don’t you just deal with big fat pregnant woman all day?” WTF?

      I did a 5K walk last year for MS, mostly because of a friend with it, but also as a fun and healthy activity for the whole family! I roped a bunch of people into doing it, raised some money, taught the kids about causes and selflessness, and it was really good, health and cause-wise. I should look into something like that again, you are right. And tis true, I do love me a good costume . . . and the hubs HATES them. So, this could be win/win. 😉

      Reply

  17. ifUseekAmy
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 21:30:33

    What a freakin’ bitch! You showed much restraint by not kicking her in the face while she was down there. You’re doing a wonderful job in losing weight and setting fitness and diet goals – BRAVA! Keep up the awesome work! Now maybe some of your motivation and dedication can rub off on me 🙂

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:28:56

      Meh, it comes and goes. The motivation, that is. Also, the weight, apparently. A weekend in NYC did not help my fat ass, despite LOADS of walking around the city. It offset somewhat, I guess.

      She is so lucky that I was almost too shocked to process the sheer assholery of her comments until AFTER the appointment. Sooooo lucky.

      Reply

  18. Jess Witkins
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 22:51:28

    Ahhh yes, the annual exam of weight scale doom. I recently had the same shudder of dread. Here I thought I’d LOST weight, and no…I had gained 7 pounds. *HeadDesk, HeadDesk, HeadDesk* I’m having difficulty adjusting to this “seemingly sudden” new way my body behaves as it edges closer to 30. So far, it kind of sucks. But the emotional stability is GREAT!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:30:06

      Yeah, the 30s have kicked my ass, weight-wise. The higher into them I get, the more stubborn those pounds are. It’s like they know I want them to die, and have gotten more wiley in their mode of survival over the years. Damn elderly fat cells!!

      Reply

  19. Von
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 01:29:24

    Why all the butthurt? The midwife suggested that you be careful of conditions associated with being overweight. You are the one who used the word obese, Misty, not her. Everyone is so angry because a health professional mentioned your weight. Isn’t that part of their job?

    Reply

    • bschooled
      Oct 09, 2013 @ 12:42:57

      She’s a midwife, not a dietician. It’s one thing to discuss the importance of a healthy diet, but considering she was giving a “pap smear” (not a fitness consultation) to someone who is a) by no means unhealthy, and b) not her patient, her persistent comments were unwarranted. Having worked in the health industry, I can assure you that a health professional’s job isn’t to lecture a patient (particularly if that patient’s BMI is nowhere near a dangerous level). To do so makes them anything but professional.

      Reply

      • mistyslaws
        Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:35:33

        Von – it wasn’t that she brought up weight or even wanted to discuss my losing the weight, as I’ve acknowledged is an issue. It was the persistence and the presumption she had of me as an overweight person heading in the direction of having health problems associated with being SEVERELY overweight. And yes, “obese” is a word I used, not her, but when you start using words like Diabetes and Hearth Disease, that word is not a stranger to those 2 conditions. It is a logical step. I am mad because I was there for an exam by a medical professional, whom I had no prior contact with and did not know me, and left there feeling attacked and belittled.

        B – Exactly. Everything you said. Thank you.

        Reply

  20. Melissa
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 15:47:06

    While she is just doing her job, I don’t think doctors have really figured out the right way to encourage an active lifestyle. She could easily say “walking reduces your risk of heart disease, so I encourage all of my patients to do as much as they can” without being judgmental about weight.

    Anyway, a fun story – I’m pretty tiny, first of. So little ole me goes in for a physical (cause I hadn’t had one in 5 years) and my doctor said something like “Well, obviously you’re on the smaller side but your BMI is just on the border of you being in the overweight category. You may want to keep an eye on that.” So doctors even offend those of us who didn’t think we needed to lose weight.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:37:19

      Yes, it was in the way she presented it. And that she KEPT doing it. If she had just mentioned it, or done it in a medically professional and caring way, I would not have minded at all, and it wouldn’t have been an issue. This was done VERY wrong.

      That is a funny story. So, basically you are saying that there is no hope for ANY of us? 😉

      Reply

  21. pegoleg
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 18:34:17

    Good for you, Misty! I have fallen so far off the fitness wagon, I’m now being dragged behind it. I’m in my workout clothes, trying to psych myself into going to the Y, a place I have come to almost hate. I have walked pretty intensely every night this week, but since these bouts were followed up with Ice Cream Loading Parties, I don’t think it helps.

    Sigh.

    As Melissa said above, there probably isn’t any good way for our doctors to tell us what we already know, that we need to lose weight for our health. The great thing is that you are DOING something about it- you go girl!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:38:44

      Thanks Peg. And if it makes you feel better, I’ve fallen off as well. It rained for a full week and then got cold . . . and those are the excuses I’m using today. 😉 I’m hoping to get back out there tonight. It’s overdue.

      Reply

  22. about100percent
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 19:53:07

    Awesome – way to go! Ten pounds is nothing to sneeze at. I love your friend’s outfit. I’d make one of my own, but I have a walking partner and I’m not sure she’d appreciate it. Or wear one herself.

    Reply

  23. thesinglecell
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 22:12:39

    I can’t type right now. I’m drinking 100 calories with one hand and eating 200 with the other.
    It’s a sucky feeling to hear someone discredit all your hard work with those words. I guess all anybody can do is focus on health. I did have to agree heartily with brickhousechick, though… if an overweight medical professional told me to lose weight, I’d laugh, so I guess they’re hard words to swallow either way. Much harder than this brownie…

    Reply

  24. Jennifer June Clark
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 23:45:17

    I had a scrawny-ass doctor tell me “you’re clearly overweight” some 12 years and 25 pounds ago. I, too, was offended. I’ve had some injuries and chronic pain issues over the past 8 years since I had my twins. Mostly everything is repaired/healed and now its time to quit making excuses and drop some tonnage. I’ve started a fresh, get healthy, program, and am making good progress.

    Its embarrassing to be told what you very clearly already know. Its not like we don’t realize we need to lose weight. We just haven’t found a way that works for us and our busy modern lifestyles. We also, as women, need to make our health a prio poprity. Moms often put everyone else’s need before their own.

    Take care of yourself!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:42:11

      Good for you for getting back on it. Forward ho!

      I agree about the priorities. There is always something else. But we have to try. We have to do it for us, so that we are doing it for them. Or some such mumbo jumbo, we just need to move our fat asses!! 😉

      Reply

  25. Go Jules Go
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 14:30:38

    You DEFINITELY need a cape! That’s awesome – 10 pounds and counting! Gooo Misty!

    Boy have I been there re: the doctor’s visit type experiences, though. Sigh. Just a few weeks ago I was still “obese” according to that confidence-killing BMI chart. I’m in the best shape of my life! I was once at the bottom end of the ‘normal’ weight range for my height.

    When I was 16.

    And anorexic.

    Screw that noise! You rule!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:43:33

      I have never looked on a BMI chart. I don’t care about that crap. I know what my “healthy” weight is, and what will make me feel good about myself. I don’t give a shit about the numbers. I just want to fit into my clothes and not be out of breath if I run up 3 flights of stairs! And I’m gonna get there, damnit.

      Reply

  26. Brett Minor
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 21:18:16

    In health news this week, they have been discussing the new study that shows it is possible to be overweight and still healthy. There’s been a lot of debate about it. Either way, she was way out of line.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:46:39

      I have no idea where this study comes from, or if it’s complete bunk, but I support it 100%!! 😉

      And yes, she was. It was just unacceptable the way she handled it.

      Reply

  27. Aussa Lorens
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 15:21:46

    Maybe that doctor is in bed with an Eating Disorder clinic and is trying to drum up new patients for them by dashing everyone’s self esteems and making them obsessive. What an arse.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:48:40

      Hmmm, that is an interesting theory. I’ve never had an eating disorder, so maybe that’s something new to try! Nah, I like food way too much. Plus, I hate to puke, so that’s out. Oh well.

      Reply

  28. Vesta Vayne
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 18:31:31

    Ten pounds is a big deal. And gradual changes are the way to go in the long run!

    And also? I really need a cape.

    Reply

  29. flyingplatypi
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 19:37:46

    Next time I visit, I’m totally bringing you a cape… That lights up.

    Cuz I’m all about safety!!

    Hugs!!

    Valerie

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 14:50:00

      With a ninja on it??? Oh Val, you are the bestest.

      Just don’t let Jaz near it . . . I don’t want it to end up all cut up. Even if she DIDN’T do it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

