If I Can Make It There . . .

66827

Saturday is the hubs and my 11th Anniversary.  That means it’s been 11 long blissful years of legally bound matrimony.  It also means that we have yet to murder each other in our sleep.  Now that’s a reason to celebrate!  Woo-hoo.

We’ve actually been together for 17 years in total.  And in the beginning of our relationship (pre-kids) we used to do all sorts of fun stuff.  Like go to movies, dinners, plays and travel all over the place.  However, in all of the time I have been with him, and despite my many hints, requests and pleas, we have never been to New York City together.  I always imagined a trip up there around the holidays, where we could ice skate at Rockefeller Center in front of a huge, gorgeous Xmas tree, see a Broadway play, have a fabulous dinner, and just generally tour and enjoy the city.  Except for 3 days at BlogHer last year, I had never been.

But all that will change after this weekend!  We are going up just for the day to see a play and have dinner, then we will return Sunday morning.  I’m really looking forward to it, as you might imagine.  Because, except for that pesky ice skating thing (still a bit too warm), we will pretty much be doing all the things I imagined us doing.  I’m even hoping for enough time for a quick trip to the top of the Empire State Building.  But, we’ll have to see when our train arrives.

It makes sense, actually, as 11 years is the steel anniversary.  So, the train will be made of steel, the cab in which we will ride to our hotel will be made of steel, all of those very tall buildings in the city are made of steel.  See, it’s perfect!

So, as you can see, this isn’t a real post.  It’s more of a “hey, I have nothing to write about, but I should have something next week because I plan to do some fun and interesting things this weekend” type of post.  You know, one of those.  See y’all next week!

shenanigans

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. flyingplatypi
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 08:47:23

    Would it be awkward if I pretended to be a cab driver and kidnapped you??

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

  2. bluzdude
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 09:30:37

    It’s also the same weekend the Ravens are playing the STEELers.

    You guys hopping in a cab and having the driver look back and it turns out to be Val? Best plot twist of all time, kidnapping or not.

    Reply

  3. thoughtsappear
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 09:54:49

    i hope you have a wonderful time! I can’t wait to hear about the show!

    Reply

  4. icescreammama
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 10:07:48

    happy happy. have so much fun!

    Reply

  5. Aussa Lorens
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 13:19:29

    I LOVE NYC. Enjoy it. I’m not going again until next Spring, can’t wait.

    Reply

  6. Don't Quote Lily
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 13:36:17

    Nice! Enjoy, happy anniversary!

    Reply

  7. Hippie Cahier
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 16:14:31

    Happy Anniversary to you and the hubs.

    Reply

  8. Andrea @ Maybe It's Just Me
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 16:18:03

    Steel yourself for a magical time! Happy Anniversary!

    Reply

  9. Mandi
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 18:11:14

    Congratulations! Our anniversary is on the 23rd and I wish we had some exciting plans!

    Reply

  10. Cheryl S.
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 09:12:23

    Happy anniversary! What play are you seeing?

    Reply

  11. pegoleg
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 11:36:45

    Now I’ve got that song stuck in my head forever. Damn.

    Have a great weekend, Misty! My sister emailed me about a getaway and we decided to meet in SW Michigan for an overnighter, about 3-1/2 hours for each of us. I feel like such a bohemian freespirit!

    Reply

  12. about100percent
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 13:33:03

    Oh, NYC! Have a great time!

    Reply

  13. Valentine Logar
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 19:06:48

    NYC, yeah. Broadway and dinner, very good way to spend an anniversary. Congrats and happy day.

    Reply

  14. Jess Witkins
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 20:54:42

    Misty that’s totally awesome! Congratulations! Enjoy yourselves and happy anniversary! When is your actual anniversary? Joe and I are celebrating 7 years this sunday. I’m glad I’m not the only one out there who’s been with my partner forever and ISN’T married. Nice to see you and your hubby had a longtime relationship before marriage too. I’m perfectly happy.

    Can’t wait to hear all about the trip!

    Reply

  15. PinotNinja
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 08:31:05

    Happy anniversary & I hope the weekend was amazing. Now that you’ve realized just how close and amazing NYC is, you’re going to go there all the time. And, really you have no choice, because now I want to send you to all of my favorite places.

    Reply

  16. joeinvegas
    Oct 22, 2013 @ 12:56:08

    Just a train ride away? You should plan more trips and just take him.

    Reply

  17. Trackback: The Big Apple Bites Back | Misty's Laws

Leave a Reply

