The Big Apple Bites Back

As I mentioned last week, the hubs and I took a little trip to New York City this past weekend for our anniversary.  The original plan was to just go up Saturday afternoon and return Sunday morning, but he figured out a way to cut his trip to Brazil short, thus enabling us to get up there Friday night.  This allowed us to do a few extra things, such as have sushi that night at a really great place I had eaten at 2 years prior, sleep in on Saturday, and have all day to explore the city.  All good things.

Once we dragged our tired asses out of bed Saturday morning (the first number on the clock may have been a double digit), the hubs ran across the street to one of about 4 Starbucks on that block, and returned with a much needed latte . . . and a few other things:

Picture 11409

He may have felt a little bad about not really getting me a present (I told him no gifts), since I got him a car and all, so he picked up some chocolates, a tiny cab and a card to go with the latte.  I assured him that we were fine since he was basically giving me NYC for my anniversary, and that was enough, but he’s a gifter.  He can’t help it.

The day was off to an auspicious start as we headed out from the hotel towards 30 Rock to go to the Top of the Rock.  I had never really done the touristy thing in NYC, since the one and only time I was there, 2 years ago at BlogHer, my time was filled with conferencing and some brief walking around (I did get to experience Times Square, which was enough for a lifetime!).  So, this time, I wanted to do as many touristy things as time allowed.  First stop was the closest super tall building we could find, so I could get a view of the whole city.

Picture 11435 Picture 11426

See?  Proof that I was there!  You even get to see the view from up top!  What?  Ok, fine . . . here’s the real thing:

Picture 11591

View of Empire State building and Lower Manhattan

Picture 11595

View of Central Park and Upper Manhattan

And speaking of Central Park . . . that was to be our next destination.  That was the one place that I regret not having the chance to visit the last time I was in NYC, because it was a mere 3 blocks away.  I just never had the time or opportunity.  So, we descended from the 60-something stories of 30 Rock, and landed in the bowels of the building, only to come out on top of the ice skating rink!  It wasn’t quite open yet, but they were preparing it, so it was close.  But I was happy to at least get to see it, even if I didn’t get to skate.  It will happen, damnit!  Someday . . .

Picture 11457

How much did I want to leap onto that Zamboni and ride around the rink? Yeah, that would be A LOT.

On our way to Central Park, we stopped at a Jamba Juice and picked up some smoothies and sandwiches, so we could cop a squat in Central Park and eat a late lunch.  Our dinner reservations weren’t until 11:00 that night (after the show), so we figured we’d eat something and hoped it would do us until dinner (it didn’t).  We opted not to take a horse drawn carriage ride, and instead just hoofed it into the park ourselves, where we parked our derrieres on a grassy knoll and ate our little lunch.  It was pretty bizarre being surrounded by trees and grass and huge rocks and streams, then looking up behind us and seeing massive buildings towering over our heads.  Surreal.  As we walked further in to the Park (which is massive by the way), we began to see some very Central Parky type things.  Basically, if you’ve seen a TV show or movie shot in NYC, you’ve probably seen these things at some point.  This is a very famous walk:

Picture 11485

And this next picture just screams Central Park to me.  As in, this is exactly what I envision when someone says “Central Park,” even though I have never previously been:

Picture 11492

At this point, we realized that we needed to start heading back to the hotel so we would have enough time to get ready for the show.  We only made it about a quarter of the way into the Park , so I definitely want to return and get to experience the rest at some point.  Did I mention that it’s huge?  Yeah.

When we got back to our hotel room, this was waiting for us:

Picture 11527

Very beautiful, and from my husband.  Gorgeous roses, a bottle of really good champagne (we’ll get to that), and my favorite . . . chocolate covered strawberries.

Now, I’m not usually a big champagne drinker, but I figured I’d open it and we could have a glass while getting ready for the show.  But let’s go back and review, shall we?  Because this is where it starts to get interesting . . .

– A latte for breakfast
– Smallish sandwich and smoothie for lunch
– Lots and lots of walking around the streets of New York City

Add all of those together, and you will get two pretty hungry people with empty stomachs.  Even though we had not planned it, we decided to order some room service, since we didn’t think we’d make it until 11:00 without some food.  Well, that was a debacle, as they forgot one of the two things we ordered, so we ended up having to split an ahi tuna wrap.  Which was fine, because that, along with a few strawberries, basically tided us over.  Oh yeah, and we also drank the entire bottle of champagne.  It was just really really good, so I kept pouring more glasses.  We split the bottle, but honestly I probably had 4 glasses to his 3.

Picture 11528

Sooooo good.

Once we were all clean and dressed purdy, we decided to take a cab to the theater.  Now, we definitely could have walked, as it was really only about 6 blocks away (big NYC blocks, but still), but I was wearing some super high heels and didn’t want to take the chance of killing myself trying to hurry in those things, or killing my feet by walking too much.  So, cab it was.  Although, we ended up having to walk about 3 blocks anyway, because the cab driver had no idea where he was going, so at one point we just got out and walked it.  We made it with just enough time to get to the bar, get a “double” glass of wine in a sippy cup, and settle into our 12 inch wide seats for the show (seriously, I got real cozy with the stranger to my left.  In some cultures, we are now betrothed).

Picture 11534

Well, the wine was delicious (and gone by the intermission) and the show was hysterical.  I would highly recommend it, unless you are easily offended, especially by any religious satire, because holy hell, they really go far out there with it.  I loved it.  The hubs . . . not so much.

Once the show was over, we really needed to book it to the restaurant.  In fact, we were so worried about making it on time, and trying to find a cab to get us there, we had to turn down the very generous offer of a backstage tour after the show from a friend’s husband who works sound for the show.  I was so sad, but the hubs was really nervous, so I deferred to his OCDness and we just left right after the end of the show.  We did, in fact, have some trouble finding a cab, so we started walking a bit, hoping we could get one once away from the theater and everyone else who was trying to get one.  However, once we started walking, we realized that we were not that far away, and that we had enough time . . . so we foregoed the cab and just kept walking, which was not the original plan.

So, of course . . . I twisted my ankle and fell onto the sidewalk.  Because, of course.  But, I soldiered on, and we eventually made it to the restaurant.  Where I ran to the bathroom to check the carnage, and saw this:

Picture 11556

So sexy.  And yes, the stockings came right off and were placed into the trash right there at the restaurant.  Because I’m classy like that.

When I returned to our table in the restaurant, the hubs had ordered us a celebratory glass of champagne.  Which was not quite as delicious as the one in the hotel, but was still quite tasty.  Especially after all that walking (and falling).  Then, we ordered a 3 course prix fixe with a wine pairing for each course.  The dishes were delicious and the wines matched perfectly.  However, by the time I got to my third course, I began to realize something . . . I was drunk.  Seriously, it just sort of hit me like . . .  whoa!  Looking back, it was not that surprising, as I had consumed about 3 bottles of wine so far that night, with very little to eat at that point.  The hubs was quite surprised, though, saying “but you train for this!”  But I had to remind him that one glass of wine 3-4 nights a week does not constitute “training” for that level of drinking.  It’s like someone merely training for double A college sports and then told they will be going to the Olympics!  As you might imagine, we cabbed it back to the restaurant and I fell asleep soon after.

But that is not the end of the story!  Oh no . . . because when I woke up the next morning, I discovered this on my upper left arm:

Picture 11600

A HUGE complete and total mystery bruise!  I have no idea where it came from, the hubs had no clue, and I never blacked out or anything the night before, nor do I remember even bumping into anything at all.  When I fell, it was straight to my knee (as you can see above), and I didn’t hit my arm in the slightest.  I have no idea what this is or where it came from!  It is truly bizarre.

So, all in all I would say it was a pleasant trip to NYC.  Despite the falling and the drunkenness and the mystery bruising (!), it was otherwise a fun and enjoyable trip.  I can’t wait to return to do the dozens of other touristy things there are to do there!  What a great city.  I just hope next time, I leave with less blood loss.

45 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Go Jules Go
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 09:19:20

    Ah, champagne and mysterious bruises – welcome to my world!!

    Man, you guys had an amazing anniversary! I’ve been dying to see Book of Mormon for AGES!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 05, 2013 @ 10:47:37

      Hee. I kind of like your world. 😉

      I can’t believe you haven’t seen it! You are so close and go into the city for shows all the time. Put it on your list!

      Reply

  2. JudahFirst
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 09:24:52

    Misty, you are hilarious! I have to admit, though, that when I saw the picture of the bottle of champagne, I wondered if your husband ever tires of you snapping photos of everything for your blog. Probably not. 😉

    Anyway, your trip to NYC sounds infinitely more bettah than my last excursion there, which lives in my nightmares 5+ years later. Glad you had fun!

    P.S. I laughed out loud at this (simply because I can relate): “But I had to remind him that one glass of wine 3-4 nights a week does not constitute “training” for that level of drinking. It’s like someone merely training for double A college sports and then told they will be going to the Olympics!”

    Indeed.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 05, 2013 @ 10:51:38

      Thanks! And yes, I am sure he tires of it. But he’s too smart to tell me that. 😉 And actually, he is not immune to the frenzy of it . . . he has pointed out things for me to take pics of before, and was even snapping with his own camera once I arranged the flowers/booze/strawberries all purdy-like. 🙂

      And yes! I think my hubs thinks I am much more of an alcoholic than I really am. I am so glad you feel me on this. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Anna Lea West
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 09:35:44

    I really, REALLY need to know how you got that arm bruise! Please report back! 😉

    Reply

  4. bluzdude
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 09:36:15

    Late-night arm hickey. Word.

    Reply

  5. joeinvegas
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 10:48:29

    Hmm, yes, you passed out but did he?

    Reply

  6. ifUseekAmy
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 11:08:47

    So glad you had a great time celebrating your anniversary in NYC!!! Your next trip up, we definitely need to meet up. Falling down, scraping knees, and soldiering on is a right of passage here. At least that’s what I keep telling myself with every wipe out 🙂 Mystery arm bruises? Could be from throwing elbows in crowds. I’m very impressed you drank that much…whoa…I’d be on the floor, in a corner, passed out.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 05, 2013 @ 10:56:36

      I thought about you on the train ride up, and was actually this close to texting you to ask the name of that sushi restaurant, but then I figured it out on my own (and didn’t want to bother you). But yes, definitely a meet up next time. That’s the one thing I wish I had time for, to meet with all the peeps I know in and around the city!

      And basically you are saying that it’s not me that’s a clutz, but the city that does it to everyone? Great, thanks for that. 😉

      Reply

      • ifUseekAmy
        Nov 06, 2013 @ 20:38:11

        Next time! I just noticed that I said “right of passage” instead of “rite”…GAH! And it’s totally the city’s fault if you fall/trip/slip. I mean, come on, just look at the conditions of most of the streets and sidewalks. It’s a wonder I don’t fall every single day 🙂

        Reply

  7. The Byronic Man
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 12:10:13

    I keep waiting for NY to stop getting better and better and better, but it just keeps going. It’s weird.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 05, 2013 @ 10:57:41

      For the longest time, I had this irrational hatred of New York City. As if it was just trying TOO HARD to be awesome and was too big and full of itself. And then I went, and totally fell in love with all of it. Damnit.

      Reply

  8. Aussa Lorens
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 12:25:41

    Aw, wonderful post! I would be consumed with jealousy (I love NYC) but have thankfully planned a bday trip for April. Your guy sounds great 🙂
    Also: You are now a member of a very special club. The club of women who have trashed stockings in a public toilet. Welcome.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 05, 2013 @ 10:58:43

      Oh yay, birthday trip in the Spring!! Should be awesome. And yes, he’s a good egg, that one.

      I hardly ever wear them, so I feel honored to be in such fine company. 🙂

      Reply

  9. sarah9188
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 13:12:35

    Sushi!! Sorry, I’m a bit obsessed with that and momentarily got distracted. Especially since I usually sport at least one unexplainable bruise every day of my life, so that didn’t faze me at all. I want to go to NYC so badly; it’s been way too long.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 05, 2013 @ 11:00:45

      I’ve been a bit obsessed with sushi lately myself. Any opportunity, I take it. And it was SO GOOD.

      And yes, I get mystery bruises all the time as well, but they are usually on my legs or hip or something, and that can easily be explained away by me bumping into something and not really feeling it and bruising way too easily. But this one was in a bizarre place and was very big and angry. Like something I would have remembered happening. Weirdness.

      Reply

      • sarah9188
        Nov 05, 2013 @ 20:50:24

        This is true. That is bizarrely bad bruise. One of the world’s unsolved mysteries. 🙂

        My area is obsessed with sushi. Every corner seems to have a sushi bar, buffet, or something of the sort. We do our research, and we’ve found several amazing places. I love it.

        Reply

  10. flyingplatypi
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 13:51:30

    Oddly enough, I’ve never been to Central Park. I always expect that I will find a body there. Then I’ll have to explain it. Then they’ll mysteriously find my prints on it and some semen. And who needs to answer those questions.

    Hugs!

    VALERIE

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 05, 2013 @ 11:02:07

      You do realize that this statement does not fall under the attorney client privilege because it’s on a public blog, right?

      So, you meant “allegedly” right? RIGHT?? :p

      Ooooh, we need to plan a trip up to NYC together! I can only imagine the sorts of shenanigans we can get into in THAT city.

      Reply

  11. Vanessa-Jane Chapman
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 15:59:34

    Wow what a trip! After that much wine, mystery bruises are only to be expected. I drink pretty regularly, but like you, only small amounts each time, like one glass of wine, or one bottled beer, and I really can’t handle a lot. I’d have been out of it after that first lot of champagne in the room!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 05, 2013 @ 11:03:19

      I’m surprised I wasn’t, actually. I don’t drink champagne normally, because it goes right to my head. Just like too much red wine gives me a massive headache. I am like you . . . one glass of wine, one beer and I’m good. Anything more, and I’m falling down. Apparently.

      Reply

  12. brickhousechick
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 17:25:53

    Sounds like a great anniversary celebration! My mother who is very religious absolutely LOVED The Book of Mormons! I was surprised at how much she loved it. I have yet to see it but will definitely make plans for the near future. My husband would have loved me getting drunk…he is always scheming and trying to get me in that state, but I end up falling asleep too. 🙂

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 05, 2013 @ 11:04:48

      I am so glad your mom loved it! I really thought the hubs would have no problem with it at all, so was sort of surprised at his reaction.

      The hubs has given up on getting me drunk because he knows that I’m usually either fine and completely able to withstand any attacks, or asleep. 😉

      Reply

  13. Valentine Logar
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 19:42:37

    What a trip! Fabulous way to spend an anniversary. Mystery bruise? I wear them like badges of honor.

    Loved the pictures. I am envious of the show, I don’t think it will ever come to Dallas, I guess I will need to take another trip to NYC.

    Have you ever seen HONY (Humans of New York)? Great Facebook page, Tumbler and now a book. I think you would like it.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 05, 2013 @ 11:05:59

      Well, the show just came to Baltimore (or will in the winter), so I’m sure it will make it to Dallas! Go if you get the chance.

      I’ve never heard of HONY, but thanks for the recommendation. I will have to check it out.

      Reply

  14. Dimple Sharma
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 22:59:46

    Reblogged this on World Remix Blogs and commented:
    Great post

    Reply

  15. thoughtsappear
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 10:46:47

    Ow! Flippin’ stockings. Mine end up like that even when I don’t fall. I use that as an excuse to hardly ever wear them.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Nov 05, 2013 @ 11:06:54

      I NEVER wear those evil things. But I was wearing a dress and it was chilly and NYC and fancy, so I figured it was warranted. I was much happier once they were in the trash!

      Reply

  16. Nicole
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 17:45:59

    No worries. I am just as talented when it comes to walkimg in heels. Sounds like you have a wonderful husband.

    Reply

  17. Jess Witkins
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 22:57:40

    Your trip to NY sounds amazing! I love your photos of Central Park and the skyline. I’m sorry you fell though. 😦 On the bright side, you didn’t shit your pants and have to leave your underwear in a public restroom! THAT would be embarrassing. Wait…

    Reply

  18. PinotNinja
    Oct 29, 2013 @ 14:52:16

    It’s not a good night until you have a mystery bruise.

    Reply

  19. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 11:57:20

    Sounds like a nice trip! I suspect the close sitting quarters at the play for the bruise.

    Reply

  20. Karen
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 16:11:50

    I’m jealous (except for the part about the injury and blood loss). It sounds like you had a great trip. Happy Anniversary!

    Reply

  21. mamarific
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 16:40:02

    Now that is one wild trip to the Big Apple! Happy Anniversary & many more!

    Reply

  22. Andrea @ Maybe It's Just Me
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 16:49:56

    You really ought to try to let go, relax and have fun some time! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

