Just Another Day in Paradise

So, as you can see, I’ve returned from my trip to paradise, aka Key West.  While the Northeast was getting hit by another winter weather event, do you know what we were being hit with in Key West?  Gentle sea breezes blowing in off of the water, as we sat on our veranda, drinking tropical beverages and warming ourselves in the 79* heat, under a brilliantly sunny blue sky.

It was torture.

Snow?  What's that?

Snow? What’s that?

But I missed home.  I mean really, who needs to wake up at 9:00 am and take your key lime colored coffee mug out to your hotel room’s balcony and watch the ships as they sail by, and the busy goings on down on the street below?  Not me, that’s for sure.  I’d much prefer bitter cold temps with wind chills below zero and lots of snow to shovel.  Good exercise is what that is.  None of this lazy, lounging around for me any more!

Key west toes

And spa treatments?  Pfft, what am I, a Real Housewife?  You mean lounge around all day getting a massage and facial while drinking the most delicious (and why didn’t I think of that) strawberry infused water, while being completely pampered and spoiled by the spa staff?  No thank you, I’d prefer to just go to work and get yelled at all day.  Much more rewarding.

Key west spa

And speaking of drinking, I definitely don’t miss the Key Lime Pie Martini, served to me as we dined on a private island just off of Key West, while experiencing one of the most delicious meals I have ever tasted, sitting al fresco and gazing at the gently lapping waters on the beach just beyond the restaurant’s patio.  Nope, that’s crazy talk.  Who would miss that?  Back to just plain old water and sensible meals now that I’m home.  That’s so much better.

Key west martini

And whimsy?  Who needs whimsy?  Key West was lousy with it, I tell you.  From glowing menus, to flashing mugs filled with daiquiris, to viewing a sunset on an island where wild deer roam the beach.  It’s all just a bunch of poppycock!  Good riddance, I say.

Key west menus Key west fat tues Key west deer beach Key west deer

Not to mention all of the celebration!  A person could get a swelled head with all that attention.  Apparently, the hubs called ahead to the island, because it seemed as if everywhere we went, someone was wishing me a Happy Birthday and bringing me treats.  Sparkling Key Lime pie, mid-afternoon room service of champagne and strawberries, mid-afternoon room service of margaritas, with chips & salsa, Happy Birthday spelled out on a dessert, a special birthday menu delivered to me rolled up like a scroll . . . all way over the top and way too much celebratory nonsense for this unassuming, level-headed girl.  I mean really, it wasn’t even my birthday anymore!  For shame, Key West.  For shame.

Key west pie Key west strawberries Key west dessert Key West bday menu

Oh, and don’t get me started on the gorgeous sunsets and outdoor scenery.  It’s enough to make you sick!  Much better to be surrounded by the brown and white that is presently plaguing us at home.  That way, we get to be the ones to shine in our brightly colored snowpants and fuzzy hats!  Who would even notice us in our shorts and sandals, surrounded by all that beauty in Key West?  Nobody.  Nobody would ever see us.  Or find us . . . hmmmm.

Key west sunset 2 Key west island sunset Key West tree Key west blue heaven

So, like I said, it is really great to be home.  In fact, we returned just in time to experience a fresh coating of snow, and it looks like despite a brief respite that is reminiscent of the Key West weather, we will soon return to those winter-like weather conditions.  Who needs Key West?  Not this girl.  Nope.  I’m definitely not dreaming of the day when I can finally retire from my hateful job and move to a bungalow on the island, while the hubs goes out fishing every day and I lay in the sun, relaxing and writing, resting up for my job as a bartender at night in one of the “locals” bars.  Yeah, that’s absolutely ridiculous, and I’m frankly offended that you would even suggest it.  I mean, who am I . . . Hemingway?  Sheesh!

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. flyingplatypi
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 08:49:23

    Holy fuckballs. Jealousy isn’t even the word. And IS THAT A GOD DAMNED REINDEER?!?! Son of a hooker.

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

  2. rachelocal
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 08:59:06

    Glad you enjoyed it! It IS paradise and the perfect place to spend a birthday!

    Reply

  3. bluzdude
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 09:16:51

    I’m just surprised you came home.

    Reply

  4. icescreammama
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 10:06:35

    yeah. sounds awful.

    Reply

  5. Sam Merel
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 10:57:46

    Seriously jealous of these incredible pictures. I am now counting the minutes until my own warm-weather vacation next month.

    Reply

  6. agirlwhogames
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 12:11:49

    Love the inverted writing style of this post. And the photos are beautiful – glad you had a relaxing and lovely time away!

    Reply

  7. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 12:19:31

    I’m so sorry you had such a terrible time. I really wish all menus glowed because I can’t see them in the dim light without my glasses.

    Reply

  8. Jennie Saia
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 12:39:35

    I love it when my food congratulates me on life events!

    Reply

  9. brickhousechick
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 14:23:36

    Oh man. You poor thing. Looks torturous! I would be happy to go on your behalf next time you are forced to endure such travesty. I’ll take one for the team. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Julie
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 20:52:41

    The Keys is my favorite place on earth. Thank you for the pictures!! I see it’s still holding up, waiting for my return. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Don't Quote Lily
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 10:04:09

    Yikes, sounds truly painful. Not jealous at all! …
    Glad you had a good time!

    Reply

  12. thoughtsappear
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 13:36:25

    I would like this for my next birthday. Please tell the Hubs to pass along everything that he did to Kiefer.

    Reply

  13. PinotNinja
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 18:05:27

    Perfect. Perfect. PERFECT.

    I’m so glad you had the amazing trip that you deserved and that Key West charmed your pants off (hopefully literally).

    And Little Palm Island?! DAMN GIRL!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 25, 2014 @ 12:06:50

      It was SO perfect! And yes, pants fully off. I was wearing capris, damnit!

      I had never even heard of it until the hubs said we were going there. I had no idea just how fou fou it was! Then again, I’m worth it! 🙂

      Reply

  14. Andrea @ Maybe It's Just Me
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 21:20:14

    Welcome back to life here with the commoners. We aint much, but we got heart…freezing cold icicle laden hearts!

    Reply

  15. pegoleg
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 16:25:10

    You poor baby! Is that some Misty-Relief-Fund I can donate to?

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 25, 2014 @ 12:08:23

      Why yes, and thank you for inquiring Peg. You always were my favorite. So kind and giving. You can just send a check directly to me. It will go to a very good cause . . . my next trip to the Keys! Um, I mean therapy. LOTS of therapy. Cough cough.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

