Making Room for #3

I was worried.  So was the hubs.  We had the best possible plans and intentions, but had no idea how it would be perceived.  Still, this was our best option, so we had to go with it, consequences be damned.

We have a four bedroom home.  Right now, all four of those bedrooms are occupied by myself/hubs, my oldest son, my youngest son and the au pair.  So, the question was . . . where does the new baby go?  We could have easily put him in a bassinet in our room, but that would only be a temporary solution and I have always been of the mind set to start them out early in the crib so they get used to it quickly.

Once upon a time, my youngest son’s room was a nursery.  In fact, it’s pretty much the only room in the house that I actually spent time designing and decorating, as he arrived soon after we moved into the house.  It has green/brown/tan painted stripes under a white chair rail with tan paint above and an adorable jungle theme.  The only thing that has changed over the past six years of my son’s life is the bed.  So, we decided . . . his room would once again become the nursery, and we would move him in with his brother.  In order to make this a reality, we needed to get bunk beds for the boys.

They have wanted bunk beds for a while now, ever since we flirted with the idea of getting them a couple of years ago but never pulled the trigger.  So, we were hoping that the excitement of finally getting those much coveted beds would trump the disappointment of them both losing their bedroom autonomy.  We were already creating a middle child by having this baby, but now we were taking away my youngest’s sanctuary and making him bunk with his older brother.  Like I said, we were worried as to how they would react.

Despite our trepidation, I found a perfect bed online and ordered it for delivery in early October.  Being the cowards that we are, we wanted to wait as long as possible before we had to tell the boys that they were going to be sharing a room, and have the beds delivered then.  But finally, we could wait no more, and we had to pull the trigger.

When we broke the news, we were surprised at how excited they were.  They couldn’t have been happier.  And while we were cautiously optimistic about their reaction, we still wanted to see how they would react once the reality of the situation presented itself.  After sharing the news, we took action . . . removing my oldest’s existing bed and moving around some of the furniture in preparation for the upcoming delivery of the new beds.  Then we waited . . .

Oldest son's original room . . .

Oldest son’s original room . . .

Room without bed.

Room without bed.

The bunk beds arrived two days later and were set up and ready to go by the time my kids got home from school.  When I returned from work, I found my boys upstairs, hanging out on their new beds.  And loving them!  They were so excited, it was like Christmas day.  My oldest got the top bunk, which he thought was super cool.  My youngest got the bottom, Full sized bed with a brand new mattress, and he said it was super comfy and soft.  In fact, they loved their new bunks so much, that they without being told, took Clorox wipes to the dusty parts of it (the stairs, inside the cabinets, the top of the ceiling fan that was head height to the top bunk) and cleaned their brand new beds.  Phew!  Sigh of relief.

New bed.

New bed.

My little animals enjoying their new bunks.

My little animals enjoying their new bunks.

Since then, we have managed to somehow get all of my youngest’s clothing into the room, and with the addition of a new bookcase, have been able to organize their books and other items.  So far, they seem to be enjoying the new set up, and I even found them sleeping together on the bottom bed a couple of nights . . . giggling and talking as if they actually like each other!  So, I’m tentatively calling Project Combined Room Bunk Beds a success!

Now, I just need to get the baby’s room organized.  Anyone want to volunteer to help me locate all of the boxes full of baby clothes in my basement storage room?  I’m sure after six years, they will be super easy to find.  Oh, and then there’s the massive amounts of washing to be done once those clothes are found.  Seriously, people . . . I may actually need a village, so get your asses over here!

 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa-Jane Chapman
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 09:24:42

    How great that they’ve taken to this idea so well! Bunk beds are exciting for kids…in fact not just kids, I would be excited to sleep in a bunk bed given half a chance 🙂 Love the yellow walls.

    Do post pictures of the baby’s room once it’s all organised. I would come and help, but you know, England is a long way!

    Reply

  2. Valerie
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 09:32:16

    awwwww!!! You’re nesting!!!!! :0)

    Mad hugs, mama!!

    Valerie

    Reply

  3. donofalltrades
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 10:44:19

    Au pair…lol. God I want to hate you so much, but alas, you’re too sweet. Our little guys would love bunk beds, but I fear the youngest would fight the older one for the top bunk and win. I’m looking forward to this little one’s arrival, so step it up a bit, lady!

    Reply

  4. liveeazy
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 13:26:59

    That’s great! They will make some unforgettable moments.

    Reply

  5. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Oct 22, 2014 @ 14:12:47

    I loved my top bunk when my sister and I shared a room. It’s still a nice little private place to go when you need it.

    Reply

  6. Sam Merel
    Oct 22, 2014 @ 15:47:21

    Those beds are so cool!

    Reply

  7. pegoleg
    Oct 22, 2014 @ 16:32:59

    When you’re young, it’s like having a sleep-over every night. Had they been 13 and 11, I hate to think how much attitude you’d be dealing with.

    Reply

  8. The Cutter
    Oct 23, 2014 @ 10:00:20

    Congrats on them liking the new arrangement! We’re at a shortage of bedrooms ourselves (twins will do that to you), and we’re wondering if bunk beds aren’t in our future too.

    Reply

  9. thoughtsappear
    Oct 24, 2014 @ 14:29:05

    Woohoo! Glad they love it!

    Reply

  10. Don't Quote Lily
    Oct 24, 2014 @ 14:50:12

    Very nice! So glad the bunk beds trumped the whole “losing space and sharing with my brother” aspect. Bunk beds are pretty cool, and that one’s quite nice. Good luck with the nursery!

    Reply

  11. Jess Witkins
    Oct 24, 2014 @ 20:59:27

    I wish I lived closer. I would totally help you do loads of laundry, make you mix tapes of dance music to groove to as you nested the new guy’s room. It’d be awesome. I’m glad the big bros are happy with their new setup and hope it lasts a long time. I’m sure they’ll make some great memories in there. That bed does look pretty sweet. Excellent fortress building material.

    Reply

  12. susielindau
    Dec 02, 2014 @ 18:04:20

    I had no idea you were pregnant! Congratulations!!!!

    Reply

  13. Dana (Wanted Adventure)
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 07:12:29

    Congratulations on the positive reaction!!! Hope it lasts long, long long! Bunk beds are fun — I was an only child but had bunk beds because they were passed down to me from my cousin and I LOVED them 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment