What a Big Pickle You Have

The day after all of this happened, I got to meet up with yet another of my bestest bloggy buddies, Jules.  The last time we saw each other was on a hot and sunny day in New York City for BlogHer about a year and a half ago.  The weather was a bit chillier this time, and the location wasn’t quite as urban, but I wouldn’t have missed the chance to see her again, especially since I was on her home turf!

We planned to meet at a very famous deli, conveniently located right next to my hotel, called Harold’s.

IMG_0035

Now, you might be wondering what is so darn impressive about Harold’s that would cause Jules to suggest this as our lunch spot, except for the convenient location, of course.  Well, Harold’s is famous for 2 things . . . the enormous size of its portions and the World’s Biggest Pickle Bar.

What big cakes you have there.

What big cakes you have there.

This was my first visit to the establishment, so I was a rookie to all things Harold’s.  Val had provided a few tips about the place, having visited a few times prior, and Jules had not been there since her teenaged years, so we settled in and looked over the expansive menu.  It was impressive.  And expensive.  A sandwich would run you about $20.  Some of the menu items were upwards of $50.  It was pretty crazy.  But like I said, the portions were enormous and every order came with unlimited visits to that pickle bar I mentioned earlier.

IMG_0046 IMG_0047

Once we placed our order for a very traditional deli sandwich, corned beef, of course, we had time to peruse the inside of the napkin provided.  It was very educational:

IMG_0041

Yiddish 101

As we were waiting for our meal, the people at the table next to us were served their lunch.  The one item was so impressive, I had to ask if I could take a picture of it.  They very graciously allowed it.

IMG_0043

World’s Largest Blueberry Pancake

When our meal arrived, we finally understood why it was a $20 sandwich.  Big enough to share, we had only ordered the one sandwich, and were not disappointed with the amount of food provided.

IMG_0045

That sucker was big enough for each of us to have a half of the sandwich there, then take home the remaining meat to make more sandwiches later in the week.  I don’t know about Jules, but I got three more sandwiches out of it!  Now that’s a value.  Of course, it was lean and tender and delicious.  And the pickles that accompanied it were also fabulous.

IMG_0049

Jules in action, picking her pickles.

But!  Not only did we have a delicious lunch, yummy pickles and fabulous conversation, but Jules even provided dessert!

IMG_0077

Best. Cookies. EVER.

Yes, that is indeed 2 whole bags of triple chocolate chip cookies, lovingly homemade by Jules and given to yours truly.  Diet?  What diet?  They were probably the best cookies I’ve ever tasted in my life.  No hyperbole.  For real.

Sadly, Jules and I had to say adieu, when she dropped me at the train station to catch my train home.  I held out on eating any of the cookies (I was stuffed full of meat and pickles, so it wasn’t too hard), until after I passed Philly.  Sort of a “I made it through the danger zone” celebratory treat, if you will.  We’re not even gonna talk about the fact that I misread the departure time on my ticket, thus almost missing my train home.  Nope.  Let’s just focus on the cookies.  Delicious, delicious cookies.  Mmmmmm.

Thus ends the tales from my visit to the great state of Jersey.  Good friends, yummy treats and gay bars.  What more could a girl ask for?

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hippie Cahier
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 08:59:09

    Call me a schlemiel, or a nebbish, but I wonder how it is that those two words mean the same thing when they look nothing alike.

    Also, those cakes are meshuggeneh!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Feb 10, 2014 @ 13:20:49

      Maybe it’s like dork and geek? Yeah, I don’t know.

      And seriously, the picture does not do the size justice. Some guy walked through the restaurant carrying one, and I thought he would need back surgery right there on the spot!

      Reply

  2. Go Jules Go
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 09:04:24

    Oy vey! Could I BE a bigger schlemiel?!

    The corned beef was definitely the way to go. I think I WOULD have gotten 3 more sandwiches out of it, if I didn’t just keep standing at the kitchen counter for two days, stuffing my face with the best corned beef I’ve ever tasted.

    I’m SO glad you got that pancake pic! And I’m even more glad I got to spend such a lovely lunch together! And I’m MOST glad that you’re helping spread the word about my mad baking skillz.

    After the Maine debacle, I would have just broken down into a post-pickle MESS if you’d missed your train. It would have been my fault. And then if I drove you home, you know what would have happened. I hit another pot hole yesterday.

    Reply

  3. thoughtsappear
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 10:03:56

    Oh my gosh…look at those cakes!

    Reply

  4. Fresh Ginger
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 10:16:58

    Holy huge pancake, Batman!

    And, I have now added “World’s Largest Pickle Bar” to my list of places I must see before I die. 🙂

    Reply

  5. bluzdude
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 10:18:09

    I MUST try one of those sandwiches… Also, it looks like so much fun to speak Yiddish! So many “schl” words… Next thing you know, you’re going in and ordering a schlamwich.

    Reply

  6. donofalltrades
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 10:52:45

    Look at you having a blast all up and down the eastern seaboard! I’m jealous that you get to hang out with such fun bloggers, especially since you’re a fun blogger yourself. Whatever though.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Feb 10, 2014 @ 13:25:20

      Don’t be jealous . . . be proactive!! Get to planning something around your area and I know a few fun bloggers who would be up for a trip. I mean, as long as Jules isn’t driving and the flight/train doesn’t go through Philly, that is!

      Reply

  7. icescreammama
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 12:37:31

    wow! Harold’s looks amazing!! what a find!!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Feb 10, 2014 @ 13:26:20

      It’s kind of hidden, too. Like in this business district and facing a highway, turned away from the road. You have to know about it. And apparently, a lot of people do. Seriously, they get BUSES of people for lunch!

      Reply

  8. pegoleg
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 13:24:58

    There’s WAY too much fun being had up and down the eastern seaboard by visiting bloggers. And on top of all the fun company you had that sandwich? And those cookies???? too jealous to even stand it.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Feb 10, 2014 @ 13:27:31

      Like I told Don, stop being jealous and start planning, Peg. Let’s make it happen! I’m sure Jules will bring cookies. 😉 (Yes, I did just sign Jules up for baking for the entire midwest . . . I’m sure she won’t mind, right?).

      Reply

  9. Andrea @ Maybe It's Just Me
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 14:24:43

    Focused on cookies, focused on cookies…so much so I almost forgot about the pancake!!!!

    Reply

  10. about100percent
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 14:44:58

    Yay pickle bar!! And big pancakes!! And huge sandwiches!!

    Reply

  11. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 16:01:09

    They were actual full-size flags in that giant sandwich,weren’t they?

    Reply

  12. PinotNinja
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 18:23:47

    I have some technical questions for Harold’s — how do they slice those cakes? Is there some kind of cake machete? Is the piece of cake served on a giant cutting board? Is there a small family residing inside of said cakes? And, most importantly, how do I get one already?

    Also, I will now involuntarily hum the Kenny Loggins classic Danger Zone and think of Maverick and Goose anytime that anyone ever mentions Philly, which will be often since my dear friend — the bachelorette of the bidet story fame — lives there. That makes me love you a lot.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Feb 10, 2014 @ 13:30:12

      Well, apparently they slice the cake (not sure about the machete, but that seems valid), and then slice up the slice, as one slice is enough for the entire seated restaurant, I believe. At least, that’s what I heard and didn’t just make up on the spot.

      Anytime you have a Danger Zone earworm is a good day. And, you’re welcome!

      Reply

  13. rachelocal
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 19:55:45

    Nice pickles.

    Reply

  14. She's a Maineiac
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 20:09:02

    A pickle bar? Why have I never seen such a thing before? I clearly haven’t lived.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Feb 10, 2014 @ 13:31:26

      See? You should have come DOWN to us and experienced this yourself. That way, I could have been part of the festivities. No lobster, but did you SEE all that corned beef? Faggedaboutit.

      Reply

  15. sarah9188
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 21:05:25

    I’m still fascinated by the pickle bar. This must be what Heaven looks like. And those cookies just look like the best cookies ever even for just the reason that they are in a mustache bags.

    Emmess.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Feb 10, 2014 @ 13:32:31

      The cookies were outrageously good. TOO good. I hoovered an entire bag in about 3 days. I had to pace myself for the rest. But the problem with mustache bags is that means they can talk. And they just kept calling to me. True story.

      Reply

  16. Jess Witkins
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 21:35:44

    Well now I’m hungry. *leaves to go raid fridge*

    Reply

Leave a comment