One Year Closer to Death

So, my birthday was last week.  And I survived it.

If you are new here, you might not be aware that I am cursed.  My birthdays typically suck and/or some tragedy occurs on or around it as a result of my bad birthday mojo.  This year, I was going to try to escape the angel of death by being completely and absolutely still, and hoping it would just pass right by me.  I thought I had escaped it unscathed this time.  Until the next day.

(If you’d like a rundown of past birthday suckage, and no, I was not exaggerating about the death part, go here to edumacate yourself).

Actually, this year, the birthday angel lulled me into a false sense of security.  The week preceding my birthday was going swimmingly.  My colleagues took me out to lunch, unprompted, to a very nice restaurant, and actually paid for my lunch.  This is huge, as in preceding years, they have failed to even acknowledge that I had ever been born.  Not just that, but when I arrived at work 2 days before my birthday, I found this waiting for me:

office gifts

It was from my secretary, whom I believe I have previously mentioned as being quite rad.  It contained a bottle of wine, wine glasses, nail polish and plastic utensils.  A bit of an inside joke, there, but basically for my lunches at work.  See?  Rad.

The day prior to my birthday, I actually received a card from everyone at work.  Another rare occurrence that doesn’t happen every year.  In fact, I believe this is the first year that I received it on time, and that I didn’t have to basically give to myself.  That was another fun one.

Then, after work, I ran to the mall to take advantage of a few free birthday treats that I was to receive before the end of the month.  Sephora was giving out a little mini pack of lipstick & mascara, I had a free coupon for a smoothie, and I had received an email for $15 off any purchase at Ann Taylor, so I hit the sale rack and walked away with 2 sweaters for a mere $20.  Once I also completed the few returns I had to make while in the mall, I came out square.  Free mall trip, woo hoo!!

bday mall treats

When I returned home that evening, I found that I had even more birthday treats waiting for me.  There was this huge box that had arrived from my good friend Andrea.  I was doubly impressed that it arrived the day before my birthday, as she is notoriously (and adorably) Post Office averse.  Case in point . . . last year’s birthday package arrived at the end of March.  So, she really got it in gear this year, and made it a day early.  I am very impressed!

bday package

Inside, I found 4 gorgeous martini glasses and some mini bottles of booze.  Hmmm, anyone else sensing a trend here?  What do you think people are trying to say about me with their gift choices?  I cannot figure it out.

After a quick review of the contents of the box, and a quick change out of my work clothes, I then jetted off to have dinner with another good friend and her daughter.  We went to my favorite local sushi place, and she too showered me with presents and bought me dinner.  It was a very good day, to say the least, and it wasn’t even my birthday yet!

On the actual day, I was playing it coy and low key, so I took the day off of work, slept in, and generally relaxed for most of the day.  Granted, there was laundry and packing to do for my upcoming trip, but that wasn’t too much of a chore, considering.  It was a lovely, stress-free day that I quite enjoyed.

Once my kids got home from school, though, the exciting festivities began.  I came downstairs to encounter the kitchen transformed into a tropical paradise.  I was informed that this birthday’s theme would be “warm weather.”  As long as I remained indoors, I could very easily go along with this fantasy.

bday decorations balloon chair bday cake

Then there were the gifts.  For my birthday, I asked the hubs to get 2 things for me . . . a suitcase and new leather gloves.  Since my current pair look like this:

IMG_0127

He came through on both, so he did a great job.  But he didn’t stop there, of course. Because he’s him, and there are always more gifts.  More . . . interesting . . . gifts.  Such as . . .

IMG_0546

Movies?

And then, of course, there was another gift following my own personal birthday theme . . .

IMG_0548

There is gonna be some drinking going on up in he-ah!

And . . .

bday napkins

Classy? Sure, let’s go with that.

Then I opened this one . . . in front of my kids.  Yeah, thanks hubs.

IMG_0544

Front . . .

IMG_0545

Back.

Well, it is the 50th Anniversary edition, so really, it’s a super special gift.  Right?  Uh huh.

The next day I had to go to work.  Which sucked, but I just didn’t have enough leave to take that day off as well since I would be leaving early and getting on a jet plane (don’t know when I’ll be back again) . . . and heading to Key West for 3 days.  Or at least . . . I thought I was.  Until I received the call from school telling me that my youngest son had a temperature and had to go home.  Since the hubs was home that day, he picked him up and took him to the doc’s real quick.  Then I got the text:  Strep.  And then I had to make a decision:  go home to take care of my son or leave for Key West in 4 hours.

At that point, the mama bear gene kicked in big time and I started freaking out.  I didn’t want to go on vacation.  I mean I really wanted to go, but I didn’t want to just leave my sick son with my brother in law while I jetted off to a tropical vacation.  That felt very wrong, somehow, and I also just wanted to go home and hug and care for my baby.  Who, at this point, I wouldn’t see until Monday if we left.  I was so torn.  And I realized . . . the birthday curse had struck again.  Damnit!

Obviously, I came to my senses, after being talked down by pretty much everyone I consulted, including my husband.  My son was on meds and seemed ok, so we decided that we would go.  So, although that damn curse had hit again, this time affecting my poor son, I wasn’t going to let it ruin everything.  The birthday curse would not win this time.  So, we were off to paradise!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Don't Quote Lily
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 09:33:20

    Happy Belated Birthday, and hope Key West was fun! I hope your son is better now, poor little guy.

    Reply

  2. Andrea @ Maybe It's Just Me
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 09:37:10

    I don’t think I went far enough when labeling the box and thereby spoiling a surprise…why didn’t I just write Martini Glasses? I do believe I may have conquered my postalprocrastiphobiversion!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 25, 2014 @ 11:54:00

      I didn’t even see that it said glasses until I posted that pic. Just that it said Fragile, so it was a complete surprise. And yay you for conquering your phobiversion!!

      Reply

  3. Jessica | Defining Wonderland
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 13:32:28

    Happy birthday, Misty! I hope the strep doesn’t last too long, but that the fun Key West memories last a lifetime.

    Reply

  4. joannerambling
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 20:09:43

    I love my birthday, I don’t think of it as getting old or closer to death but one more year I have spent with my family doing things I love to do although at the moment it feels more like one more day of pain, every day I am in so much pain and today is a bad day pain wise.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 25, 2014 @ 11:55:03

      I’m sorry about the pain. And yes, it does seem there is more of that at each increasing interval of years. But you’re right, I’d rather be older than not, I guess.

      Reply

  5. Valentine Logar
    Mar 09, 2014 @ 20:53:10

    I think you Birthday looked pretty dang good. Happy Belated Birthday, never think of it as getting closer to death, think of it as getting closer to the time you can begin to behave badly and blame it on ‘age’.

    Reply

  6. flyingplatypiValerie
    Mar 10, 2014 @ 19:35:32

    Happy happy birthday, my love! I have your gift which I was going to give to you in person. But since our plans got cancelled, I shall mail it…. Or just show up at your house. You know… Whatever.

    Hugs to the power of infinity!

    Valerie

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Happy Birthday!! | JM Randolph, accidentalstepmom
  8. pegoleg
    Mar 11, 2014 @ 14:23:51

    Lordy, woman, I can’t believe how you clean up on the swag for almost every event. Not to sound bitter and jealous, but I didn’t get that much stuff when I got married! OK, I guess I DO sound bitter and jealous after all. Sorry.

    I’m so glad you decided on the trip. You know intellectually that they’re on the mend as soon as they start the meds, but I know what you mean about the mama bear.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 25, 2014 @ 11:57:35

      Jealousy is not a pretty color on you, Peg O’Patty. :p

      Yeah, I knew he was gonna be ok, but I was worried for a while. I couldn’t relax until the next day when I heard he was running around and seemed fine.

      Reply

  9. thoughtsappear
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 13:34:57

    Mmmmm…cake….

    I’m impressed by the work gifts since you’re usually in charge of that.

    Reply

  10. PinotNinja
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 16:33:47

    Happy happy birthday to you!! It’s about damn time every in your life shaped up, and shape up they certainly did. Your birthday fortnight sounds absolutely delightful! And I love the theme your kids did for your birthday — so adorable and so completely necessary given this winter.

    I hope your son is feeling better! I bet a couple of days of watching movies and eating too much ice cream with his uncle fixed him right up.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Mar 25, 2014 @ 11:58:54

      Yes, it was a rare and wonderful thing to be treated so well by everyone. I might start to get used to this!

      He was fine by the next day, really. And obviously, completely spoiled while we were gone!

      Reply

Leave a comment