I Feel Pretty, Oh So Pretty!

girl-at-mirror

Well, it’s that time of year again.  That magical time after the holidays are over, when you’ve joyously celebrated with family and friends, drinking and eating your weight in cheese and wine, celebrating a new year.  But now, all of that frivolity and joy has come to an end, and it is time for your yearly trip to . . . depressionville.  I don’t know if it’s the cold, the dark, the after holiday let down, or for me most specifically, the post flu recovery, but there is just something about this time of year that seems to bring people down into the depths of despair.  There is sickness, and moping, and blues.

I am no stranger to these blues, as I currently seem to find myself similarly mired down in a deep state of funk.

But!  I may have found a way to combat this funk, at least momentarily.  I was recently reading some comments on a blog post (and for the love of Zeus, I cannot remember whose blog or who said it, otherwise I would totally credit them!), and a suggestion was given to write down 100 things that you like about yourself.  Which I thought was somewhat brilliant, since I find myself constantly running a mental check list of opposite items.  For example . . . Too fat, too lazy, Unappreciated at work, Not the best mom, Really not the best wife, Flabby arms, Large Ass, Ever widening hips, Crooked teeth, etc.

pic-sanqld-funny195

See how easy it is?  I didn’t even have to think very hard about those things.  They just leapt out of my noggin at warp speed!  Which is pretty pathetic.  I mean, if I am constantly thinking negative things about myself, no wonder I’m walking around all mopey.

So, we are all going to try this exercise, starting with yours truly.  I am going to try to compile a list of 100 things that I actually like about myself.  I’ll start here with however many I can think of, and continue later as more things come to me.  And I challenge you to do the same.  List some things that you like about you.  You will be amazed at how many you can think of and how it will perk you up!

funny-cat-looking-mirror-no-taste-like-you-pics

100 Things I like about ME:

1.  I have adorable feet.
2.  I am a good friend.
3.  I always try to remember everyone’s birthday and always send a funny card to make them smile.
4.  I have freakishly tiny wrists which confounds medical professionals.
5.  I am highly knowledgable and skilled in my current profession.
6.  I am usually very polite.
7.  I kiss and hug my boys goodbye when I leave for work and before bed every single day.
8.  I tell my boys that I love them every single day.
9.  I have good skin.
10.  I have shiny hair.
11.  I make a mean veggie stir fry.
12.  I make world class spaghetti sauce.
13.  I’m not afraid to try new recipes.
14.  I’m a pretty good writer.
15.  I listen when people talk to me.
16.  I love my kids with all my heart.
17.  I love my husband, even if I don’t show it as much as I should.
18.  I buy and send random gifts to people just because they make me think of that person and I think it will make them smile.
19.  I send funny “thinking of you” cards to people when they are dealing with difficult times.
20.  I always try to say something insightful, funny or meaningful when commenting on friends’ blogs.
21.  I always try to comment on friends’ blogs, so they know that their efforts are valued and recognized.
22.  I often buy random things for my boys when I am shopping, just because I know they will like them and it will make them happy, even if there is no occasion.
23.  I treat my secretaries and other support staff with respect, and never demean or demand from them.
24.  I tip well . . . unless there is blatantly horrible service.
25.  I have yet to murder either my mother or my brother.  (Seriously, this one alone might qualify me for sainthood).
26.  I always say please and thank you.
27.  I make sure my kids’ schedules for sports, camps, birthdays, etc. is organized and that everyone knows where they need to be and when they need to be there.
28.  I schlep my kids to and from sports, camps and birthday parties constantly.
29.  I have 2 full time jobs . . . lawyer and mommy, both of which I do diligently and tirelessly (Ok, so maybe not tirelessly, but continuously at least!).
30.  I wash sheets and towels every week.
31.  I make dinner for the kids almost every night and make sure their lunches are packed and ready for the next day.
32.  I am a voracious reader.
33.  I pretty much know a song by heart after hearing it only a couple times, both words and melody.
34.  I have never once in my entire life worn leggings . . . and especially not ever as pants.
35.  I am kind.
36.  I am generous.
37.  I am thoughtful.
38.  I am good enough, smart enough and gosh darn it, people like me!  (Just seeing if you are still paying attention).
39.  If I stop at Dunkin Donuts on my way home (i.e. not on the way to work or somewhere else) I will most always pick up a coffee for the hubs.
40. . . . . . . . .

Phew!  Ok, that’s all I can do for now.  And believe me, I worked on that list for a while, continuously coming back to it when I thought of something else.  It’s hard.  But you know what?  I feel a little bit better about myself.  Once you look at the good things in black and white, it definitely lifts your mood a bit.

funny-girl-looking-mirror

So now it’s your turn.  I want you to list some things you like about yourself.  It doesn’t have to be 100.  And really, this comment section would get ridiculous if everyone did 100, but just do as many as you can.  Or, if you would like to do all 100, maybe make it your own blog post and challenge your own readers to do the same!  Do it.  It really will make you feel so much better.  The gauntlet has been thrown . . . prepare to accept the challenge, my friends!

51 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike C
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 10:27:43

    Hmmmm… impressive list. Can you actually prove that you have adorable feet? Put those babies to work for you!

    Reply

  2. hiddinsight
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 10:28:35

    I have great fingernails. Cheers 🙂

    Reply

  3. Vesta Vayne
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 10:29:37

    Awesome post idea. You’re right, it’s so easy to focus on the negative in anything, especially in our own lives.

    And you do have adorable feet:)

    Reply

  4. rachelocal
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 11:09:12

    That was my blog, Misty! When I wrote my “I’m so depressed I’ve been talking to my cats and wearing leggings as pants” post. And this is the lovely lady who commented the suggestion: http://kissmeoutofdesire.wordpress.com/

    Indeed you are an awesome commenter! I love when you comment on my blog!

    As I read this post, I was thinking that my “depression” wasn’t really related to how I felt about myself, but was more of an external circumstance thing. But then, I got to thinking about the internal dialogue I have with myself all the time–negative dialogue. I’m making a list too! The first thing on it: I inspired (in an inadvertent way) this blog post. 🙂

    Reply

  5. winopants
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 14:19:40

    Yours are so sweet! I’d make a list but I’d hate for everyone to see what a closet narcissist I am, doh

    Reply

  6. Rosie
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 14:55:19

    You’re good enough, you’re smart enough, and dogonne it, people like you!!!

    Reply

  7. Go Jules Go
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 15:01:35

    What a great post to help combat the January blues, Misty! I had to do this not too long ago as part of The Artists’ Way exercises, but it was only 50. I was grasping at straws by the end. (I like my…cuticles! Yes!)

    I’m glad you talked about all of the thoughtful things you do for people / cards you send, etc. I was just thinking about that yesterday. Getting Misty mail is the SHIZ!!!

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:28:43

      Yes, I think that’s one of my better traits. And I’m so glad you like them!

      Ok, you have to give me at least ONE good thing from that list (besides the cuticle thing, because yeah, that’s kinda stretching it). 😉

      Reply

  8. renée a. schuls-jacobson
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 15:33:15

    While i have never seen your freakishly small wrists, I have been on the receiving end of those “thinking of you” cards you were talking about. You’re not kidding. They really do make you smile. I’m going to adopt that as a practice this year. I’m glad you’re feeling better and I hope that you continue to do so.

    I’m tweeting this.

    Reply

  9. Lisha @ The Lucky Mom
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 17:36:17

    I have tiny wrists, too! I buy my bracelets in the children’s jewelry section. My hips, on the other hand, very much adult-sized.

    Reply

  10. Mayor Gia
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 18:18:13

    Aw, good idea! There are lots of good things about you!

    Reply

  11. cestlavie22
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 21:13:59

    I like this idea alot. A friend of mine suggested something similar to this- I might try this out on a blog post soon- giving credit of course 🙂

    Reply

  12. One Old Sage
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 21:20:13

    I loved this post. Great job.

    Reply

  13. mark
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 00:24:54

    I’d like to add to your list, as I noticed a big one missing: you’re very trustworthy, and I value that and many of the other things on your list along with your friendship.

    Reply

  14. pegoleg
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 12:46:58

    What a great idea, Misty! I am a hopelessly jumbled mess of ego-centricity and pathetic self-doubts, with the negative generally outweighing the positive. I think there is something about January that just sets off depression because I’m feeling it to.

    Way to go, Stuart Smally.

    Reply

  15. Seraphinalina
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 12:56:38

    What a great idea. I’m going to pick up the thread on my blog. But like you, I don’t think I can do 100 in one go. It’s a good list to look at on blue days.

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:33:14

      Yeah, I would say 50 is probably doable, even if a bit of a stretch. I just said 100 because that’s what I heard, but if I had to rethink it, I would have cut it down. Good luck!

      Reply

  16. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 18:56:16

    As the recipient of number 18, I can attest that it’s a WONDERFUL thing about you! 🙂

    Reply

  17. Valerie
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 20:28:37

    40. You are awesome at lists!!
    41. I love you!

    I doubt I’d be able to hit 100… But, gosh darn it! It’s worth a shot.

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

    • mistyslaws
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:34:38

      I bet you could do it. You kinda love you. 🙂

      I’ll start you off . . .

      1. Gives great hugs.
      2. Awesomeness personified.
      3. Mad zombie killing skills.

      See? Easy peasy. 🙂

      Reply

  18. dailekelleher
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 00:42:22

    Shucks! My comment on Rachel’s Table’s blog post http://rachels-table.com/2013/01/09/like-new/ inspired this list! It feels kind of awesome!

    I have suffered from depression and I know I can get into a ‘funk’ every now and again so I thought of this as a little boost for me whenever I feel down. Because it’s always easier to remember and obsess over the negative rather than remember the things that YOU like about yourself.

    I think the important word is ‘like’ it’s not as strong as love and it’s easier to be convinced that there are plenty of things to be ‘liked’ about you. It’s also pretty cool when friends or fellow bloggers give you some ideas for your list that you may not have been brave enough to put down yourself.

    It’s funny because a lot of people say to me “100 things you like about yourself? That’s a lot! How are you going to do it?” to this I reply with confidence – “I know I can do it, because I am awesome”

    Good luck! 😀

    Reply

  19. Trackback: Weekly Whacked: Sights & Sounds Around Town « Misty's Laws
  20. Brett Minor (@brettminor)
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 04:49:17

    100 is a lot. I have a more than healthy self esteem, but 100?

    1. I like bacon.
    2. Red loves me.

    Now I’m happy.

    Reply

  21. Trackback: Winter Pick Me Up « Misty's Laws
  22. Trackback: Persuit of Happiness | kissmeoutofdesire
  23. Trackback: Pursuit Of Happiness | kissmeoutofdesire
  24. Trackback: My 100th Post! | Tip of My Tongue

Leave a comment